We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay at a comfortable property”
Review of Elephant Butte Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elephant Butte Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elephant Butte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Had reservations to take my son to the SpacePort the next day so on a recommendation we stayed at the Elephant Butte Inn. From the moment we approached the reception desk to our check out we were treated warmly and professionally. The lakeview room we had was newly furnished and was quite comfortable with two queen beds. Dinner in the Ivory Tusk Tavern was delicious (have the enchilada plate with both red and green chilies).

I highly recommend staying at his friendly, clean and comfortable property.

Room Tip: Lakeview rooms are newly renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DRAncient
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

Clean and convenient. Great place to stay with friends and family. Restaurant service is slow and they need to staff up on holiday weekends, but other then that, everything else is enjoyable. Very convenient to lake and activities.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dsalazar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivory Tusk R, Owner at Elephant Butte Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

Thank you for the kind review. We strive to offer the best accommodations and services but this holiday was far busier than previous years and our staff seated and served guests as quickly. Thank you for choosing Elephant Butte Inn & Spa and for your comments...most appreciated. We look forward to your next visit to the Elephant Butte Inn & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We were adversely impacted by a fire during our stay but this Parton NM is just plain hot and barren. But I guess if you can be by water, the lake being formed by a damn on the Rio Grande river, then this is the place to be. AC units are awfully noisy and you cannot survive without them. They are the kind that get the room cold so you grab a sheet then they shut off and you get boiling hot. So we did not sleep well. This hotel in NOT ready for ADA accessibility. No elevator to floor 2 and stairs to get to lobby and restaurant - you are not in California! Continental breakfast disappoints and is a ploy to get you to order food. It comes with only sweet pastries but if you would like toast or English muffin you have to pay. Had to hunt for Cheerios in the bowl of sugary cereal. Spa is one person only so don't plan on couples or simultaneous treatments. But the staff are wonderful, the rooms are clean and pleasant. If you have (or want) to be in this part of the world, this is a good spot to stay.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank Wildwingln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivory Tusk R, Spa Manager at Elephant Butte Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear Wildwinglin, Thank you for your kind comments about our staff and the cleanliness of our rooms. We are so sorry that you didn't get a chance to enjoy the Ivory Spa during your stay. At the time you were here, we had two massage therapists, a reflexologist and an esthetician on call. We surely could have created a couples package for you; we truly apologize for any miscommunications you received. The ivory Spa takes pride in providing a very individualized experience in an intimate setting and perhaps next time we can respond to your needs. In the event you are in our area again in the future, our handicapped rooms are on the lower floor and are the last rooms to be rented in the event a handicapped individual is in need of the rooms. There is also wheelchair accessibility on the east entrance of the restaurant. Again, thank you for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We stayed for almost two weeks at the RV (sister) park. Everything was perfect. We could use the pool at the inn and did that almost every day and loved it, even got a pooltowel everytime we checked in, clean and beautiful views at the mountains and lake. Very friendly staff and helpfull. The Inn looked clean and well kept but we didn't stayed over there. We sure will come back at the RV park, nice level sites, WiFi (soso), Cable and good waterpressure.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveldreamers11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

35 years ago my wife and I stayed in this motel on our honeymoon when we were just starting out and had a very small budget. At the time it was a bit campy and sort of run down. Returning this year it has been updated, cleaned up and the grounds well kept. The bar and resturant are clean and the food very good for a motel. Having traveled for 3 years on business before retiring I found one thing that really stood out; in the bar they have beer and wine you can buy to take back to your room at very reasonable prices. With DWI or DUI enforcement it is a nice touch to keep safe and off the road.

Room Tip: It is worth the little extra to get a room with a view overlooking the lake and gardens. Be advised...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TimWW_ELP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

we stayed here during our r.v. dreams conference, and the place was really nice. the view was really very pretty from the 'lake side' of the hotel. the other side was a view of the parking lot. the rooms were Very nice, I liked the way they were laid out. The conference rooms were also good. They have a bar and dining on site, both were good too.

Overall, really a good clean place with the right kind of amenities. I really didn't get time to check out Truth or Consequences, but we did golf nearby the hotel. Good course, bartender too smug for Elephant Butte.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivory Tusk R, Public Relations Manager at Elephant Butte Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

We were very happy to host this spring RV Rally along with our sister property, Elephant Butte Lake RV Resort. It was a great rally. Thank you for the kind words...I hope you found our bartender hospitable! We look forward to another RV Rally with RV Dreams!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We were attending the RV-Dreams rally in Elephant Butte and our RV died about 20 miles from the hotel and RV park. Last minute hotel reservations for almost a week with our 3 dogs went off without a hitch.

The room was clean and had a microwave and a fridge. The beds were comfortable. There were plenty of dog walking areas nearby. The food from the restaurant was very good and there is also a small bar.

My only small complaint is that the wi-fi was very inconsistent, but I don't think that anything could be done to make it better since Elephant Butte is pretty much in the middle of nowhere.

There was a blonde female housekeeper that went above and beyond to take care of us and make up our room around our dog walking schedule. She was very friendly and pleasant to deal with, always greeted us, and always had a smile. The front desk staff could learn a thing or two from her..

We would likely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moviejunki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivory Tusk R, Public Relations Manager at Elephant Butte Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

We were very happy to host this spring RV Rally in conjunction with our sister property, Elephant Butte Lake RV Resort. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Our #1 priority is guest services! We are a little concerned about the comment about the front desk ... it would be wonderful if you could email me, liz@elephantbutteinn.com, for more information so we may have a little more information to improve our guest services. Thank you again for staying with us!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elephant Butte
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Truth or Consequences
Comfort Inn & Suites Truth or Co...
#5 of 14 in Truth or Consequences
187 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa
Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa
#2 of 14 in Truth or Consequences
849 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Truth or Consequences
Holiday Inn Express Truth or Con...
#8 of 14 in Truth or Consequences
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Truth or Consequences
Travelodge Truth or Consequences
#7 of 14 in Truth or Consequences
81 reviews
4 mi away
Rocket Inn
Rocket Inn
#3 of 14 in Truth or Consequences
147 reviews
4.5 mi away
Pelican Spa
Pelican Spa
#3 of 6 in Truth or Consequences
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Butte Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Butte Inn

Address: 401 Hwy 195, PO Box 996, Elephant Butte, NM 87935 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Region: United States > New Mexico > Sierra County > Elephant Butte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elephant Butte
Price Range: £71 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elephant Butte Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Butte Inn and Spa has an ideal location with ever-changing views of the lake and surrounding desert. Our exotically designed lobby and common areas are reflected in each stylish and comfortable guest room. We offer AAA, AARP, and have government, military and corporate rates. After a busy day, relax in our outdoor heated swimming pool (seasonal). You can hike to nearby Elephant Butte Lake--the largest lake in New Mexico--enjoying nature trails leading to the State Park. Elephant Butte Inn is the perfect choice for group events. Experience authentic New Mexico cuisine, steak and seafood in our Ivory Tusk Tavern and Restaurant. Take time for yourself at the Ivory Spa and Salon. Indulge in a variety of treatments from our spa, including massages, body polishes, skin treatments, and pedicures. The Salon specializes in haircuts, styling, and hair color treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Elephant Butte Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Butte Hotel Elephant Butte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing