We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay”
Review of Elephant Butte Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elephant Butte Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elephant Butte
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“excellent stay”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We stayed for 5 nights over the Thanksgiving holidays and found the entire resort to be excellent. The front desk lady was very pleasant and gave us an extra towel. The bed was very nice, the room extremely clean and everything worked. We ate 2 meals in the restaurant and except for the strange potato salad, everyone was quite pleased with their choices. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend staying here when visiting the area. The Spaceport tour was the cherry of the trip.

Room Tip: lakeside rooms have morning sun in the winter and an excellent lake view, but there's nothing wr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    38
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
26
46
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

As repeat visitors we knew pretty much what to expect but this was our first trip with our recent shelter adoptee. The website said to call to get the pet rate but it was $10 more than the prices on their website - so they gave us the internet price (and there is a one-time $20 pet fee). Thanks! Greeted with doggy biscuits and guidelines (keep 'em on leash, where to walk, etc.) and two poopy pick up bags (more available upon request), we headed to the room. The pet-friendly rooms are only the dbl queen rooms but that's okay. The new bathroom remodels make these rooms so much better than before. The two best things for doggies are: the walking trail all the way to the lake (where we saw coyote, quail, jackrabbits, squirrels and bunny rabbits as well as other birds) and the dog wash across the street at the RV park they also own. Coming back from swimming in the lake and rolling in the sand, ugh, we headed to the self-serve dog wash. Phenomenal (for me, she hated it)! $7 for 12 minutes includes all shampoos, conditioner, rinsing and drying. Jack in the bar was wonderful and attentive as always. Great wine list for the area. All staff was courteous and helpful and beyond pleasant.

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms give you views of a nice grassy area and great sunrises. Mountain side rooms have gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eatinggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Everything was fine overall. Staff very friendly and tavern served good food and drink.
The outdoor seating with table was nice and useful. Plenty of hot water for the shower and beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tularosa, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Booking was smooth, the room on the small side but very clean. Beds comfortable and the lakeside room made for a beautiful sunrise! The Sunday breakfast/ brunch was not of the quality as on previous visits. And noisy late nite revelers did mess with the peaceful evening and sleep.

Do like the Inn and expect to stay again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I was dreading my company's 3-day meeting at Elephant Butte Inn, especially learning it was an older hotel recently renovated. But I was pleasantly surprised from the get-go. The staff at the front desk were polite, knowledgeable, and fast. My room, while nothing fancy, was clean, comfortable, and had all the amenities I needed—TV, wi-fi, fridge, coffee pot, and hair dryer. Additionally, it was soundproof enough that I heard none of the revelry going on around the hotel, and slept well. The bar was fun—great staff there as well—and the restaurant served some excellent food, far superior to any other I had in town. ALL continually remarked on the landscaping around the hotel, how pretty the flowers and grounds were, and the big bonus was the “gazebo” we discovered at the edge of the property, facing the desert and beyond that, the lake—there, in the evenings, I was entertained by rabbits, quail, and verbose coyotes. Great stay and I'd certainly return.

Room Tip: While rooms by the pool are probably a little nicer, the ones by the parking lot are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivory Tusk R, General Manager at Elephant Butte Inn, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Vicki, Thank you for your kind comments. It was our pleasure to have your company here with us. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatcher, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed at the Inn for one night. First let me say that the room was beautiful as were the grounds. We had a "lake view" room. This was a push to say it was lake view and it was more expensive than the road side rooms. My problem was with the insects. When we entered the room there was a dead roach on the tile inside the room. There were also one or two dead flies. That isn't the worst of it. I have a travel toothbrush with a cap that covers the toothbrush head. When I showered and cleaned up in the morning I went to brush my teeth and a roach was caught in the small space between the handle and the cover. It was still wiggling!!!! I mentioned the problem when we checked out and was told about the "beetles" being bad this time of year. I stated that my father was an exterminator and I know the difference between a roach and a beetle. I was given a refund of $15.00 on a $115.00 room. This was our first stop on a New Mexico and thank heaven the rest of the trip was much better. Would never stay there again.

Room Tip: Though you really cannot see the lake the lakeside rooms are better. There is a large expanse of gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivory Tusk R, General Manager at Elephant Butte Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you for your kind comment about our beautiful room and grounds; we work diligently to provide the best accommodations for our guests. This summer has been a very uncommon summer in our area. We have had more rain than usual which is a great thing for an area suffering almost four years of drought. However, it has created an issue with an onset of insects. We have always had regular exterminator services for our rooms and grounds but this has been an extraordinary situation. Please read the rest of the Trip Advisor comments; you will see this is not a normal issue for our property. Thank you for your patronage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The Elephant Butte Inn is a wonderful place to have a wedding. The rooms, staff, and grounds were fantastic. Our wedding turned out better than I ever expected. The staff was very accommodating and they got all the details exactly right. The entire event was classy and we had the best service. Our wedding day was truly fantastic and I could not have done it without the help from everyone at the Elephant Butte Inn. The food at our reception was sensational! I was very impressed with our experience and highly recommend for a wedding/reception or just a nice place to stay. Family oriented, extremely helpful and just an overall top notch place! I can not say enough about how impressed we were with everything. Thanks for making our wedding a very special day, one we will cherish forever. Truly an awesome place!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivory Tusk R, Public Relations Manager at Elephant Butte Inn, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
We were thrilled to host your wedding....it was a beautiful event! The work that you put into this special day was phenominal. Thank you for your kind words and best of luck for a beautiful future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elephant Butte
4.5 mi away
Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa
Sierra Grande Lodge & Spa
#2 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
819 reviews
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Truth or Consequences
Comfort Inn & Suites Truth or Co...
#5 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
183 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Truth or Consequences
Holiday Inn Express Truth or Con...
#7 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Truth or Consequences
Travelodge Truth or Consequences
#8 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
62 reviews
4.5 mi away
Pelican Spa
Pelican Spa
#3 of 6 in Truth or Consequences
151 reviews
3.7 mi away
Desert View Inn
Desert View Inn
#6 of 15 in Truth or Consequences
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Butte Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Butte Inn

Property: Elephant Butte Inn
Address: 401 Hwy 195, PO Box 996, Elephant Butte, NM 87935 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Region: United States > New Mexico > Sierra County > Elephant Butte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elephant Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elephant Butte Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Butte Inn and Spa has an ideal location with ever-changing views of the lake and surrounding desert. Our exotically designed lobby and common areas are reflected in each stylish and comfortable guest room. We offer AAA, AARP, and have government, military and corporate rates. After a busy day, relax in our outdoor heated swimming pool (seasonal). You can hike to nearby Elephant Butte Lake--the largest lake in New Mexico--enjoying nature trails leading to the State Park. Elephant Butte Inn is the perfect choice for group events. Experience authentic New Mexico cuisine, steak and seafood in our Ivory Tusk Tavern and Restaurant. Take time for yourself at the Ivory Spa and Salon. Indulge in a variety of treatments from our spa, including massages, body polishes, skin treatments, and pedicures. The Salon specializes in haircuts, styling, and hair color treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Elephant Butte Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Butte Hotel Elephant Butte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing