We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Taco

Casa Taco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

I'm from deep south Texas and I've had a taco or two in my day. I didn't expect much from this place but man! They were jammed packed and only two people working the kitchen but the food still came out fast and delicious. The brisket tacos are a must but everything coming out of the kitchen looked delicious! To bad I won't be able to visit again soon.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    19
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elephant Butte, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Monday night taco special is da bomb!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

So we hadn't been in a while and went on Memorial day. You could tell (just a little) that the place had been slammed from the lake visitors over the weekend but the crew got our order out fast and it was delicious!!! The only thing that was different was the churro my daughter ordered... Should have listened to mom and had the chaco taco they are yummy!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin12192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“What could be so great about a taco???”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

After a couple hours out on the lake, my boyfriend and I decided to check out the #1 restaurant in Elephant Butte. "What could be so great about a taco?" we kept saying, continuously, even as we drove up to the unassuming roadside stand.

This is an order and pay, then sit down sort of place. The young woman who took our order was very friendly, asking if we had ever been there, then touting the restaurant's food, saying almost everything was made 100% from scratch.

We ordered all together: brisket taco, shrimp taco, carne asada taco, and grilled fish taco, and hot churros with vanilla ice cream for dessert.

We were blown away. I will dream about these tacos, really. You could just taste the handmade, hand crafted quality. The smoky brisket, the slaw of the grilled fish taco. It was just...YUM! There is a reason this place is number 1!

Also the churros were a nice surprise, as they were filled with something. Custard? Not sure but it was great.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VahnCairbourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everywhere USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved this place! Yummo! Best chips and salsa ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stopped here for lunch while camping in the area! Great food ...great service... and best chips and salsa to date!! I highly recommend stopping here if your in the area! You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gratitude B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed great Mexican food and friendly service at Casa Taco. The shrimp tacos were delicious as was the chicken adobo burrito. We received perfect menu recommendations from the owner.

Helpful?
Thank ardra345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Taco also viewed

Elephant Butte, Sierra County
Truth or Consequences, Sierra County
 
Elephant Butte, Sierra County
Truth or Consequences, Sierra County
 
Truth or Consequences, Sierra County
Elephant Butte, Sierra County
 

Been to Casa Taco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing