We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So Yummy!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Parasol

El Parasol
Ranked #3 of 48 Restaurants in Espanola
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
362 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“So Yummy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

I ate here with a guest from out of town and we both loved our meals. She got the Khalsa Special with no cheese or sour cream and loved it. I got my usual bean burrito with green chiles. It was delicious, as always. I think the prices are reasonable and the food super yummy! I recommend this place, as must the locals who are always in line to order and pick up their food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Blaize S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    34
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dahab, Egypt
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Small mediocre tasting portions at a high cost!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Very disappointed, having tried many places so far in the states this is the smallest burrito at a relatively high price. The meat was dry, the burrito thin, and they wanted to charge for a couple of teaspoons of salsa. Avoid! Go to any other random shack and you'll be more satisfied.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nickk434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Vegetarian selection is great.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

I get a guacamole & green burrito bean burrito. The best around. Khalsa special is good too. A must try

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LauraCrizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espanola, New Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
“The taco stand rocks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

The taco stand directly alongside of this restaurant is easy to find given there is always a line, and for good reason...awesome food. Be careful with what they call "salsa" it is the hottest hot sauce I've ever had and it comes with every order. Well worth the trip and wait. They have picnic benches. Note to owner: with all your business, you should invest in a more attractive picnic area (maybe a deck with flowers and more tables)...this is the only thing missing.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Outstanding green chile cheeseburger”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I was kind of surprised to see a green chile cheeseburger cost $6.00, but it was worth every penny. Everything on the burger was fresh and tasted wonderful. The French fries were pretty good. Fast service. It is a food stand but they have several picnic tables under lots of pretty shade trees. A must if you are in Espanola.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LOLeishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to El Parasol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing