We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brand New Local Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Santa Claran Hotel Casino
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Espanola
Baton Rouge, LA
Level Contributor
258 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Brand New Local Hotel”
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We just returned from a visit to Espanola where we stayed in the Santa Claran Hotel. My wife and I were pleasaantly surprised at the spacious accommodations provided by this hotel. Owned and operated by the local pueblo tribe, the Santa Clarans, the rooms are plainly but nicely appointed with modern accoutrements including flat screen TVs and a tiled coffee station in the room. The hotel adjoins the Native American owned and operated casino. Located in the heart of Espanola it is a good starting point for any day trips to Santa Fe, Los Alamos, or Taos. The cost value is outstanding for the average traveler.

Room Tip: I would recommend requestinbg a suite with a balcony. The price is very reasonable and the extra sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    46
    18
    7
    8
See reviews for
40
71
8
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rio Rancho
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I had taken my Husband and some friends for the weekend of March 3rd for his 50th Birthday. We had been here before and we fell in love with the place. We had excelliant service and all the employees were very friendly. We ate at the cafe and the Black Mesa and both were GREAT!!!!!!! We and our friends are planning our next trip up there soon. I tell everybody to go up there and have a Great time, we did.

Room Tip: We had a great room, both times we've been there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Hotel Casino - that should have given us a clue about the type of neighboring room occupants we were going to have at 2, 3 and 4 in the morning. A sleepless night forced us to sleep in. I now understand the 12:00 check out time, it is needed to catch up on the sleep lost due to rowdy, violent and disruptive neighbor occupants. If I learned anything it is to investigate the room availability before allowing them to select for me. If the room would have been on a quieter floor, perhaps the stay would have been tolerable but loss of sleep makes all the good qualities unimportant. Expensive lesson -learned.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2012

This is my second time visiting the Santa Claran Hotel and by far exceeded my expectations. Great staff, clean and comfortable rooms and great service. Thanks again, I will return...

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

This is a lovely, clean property. Staff was very friendly. The hotel is attached to a casino so one would expect a very smoky smelling hotel. This was not at all the case. There are a handful of restaurants to choose from right on the property including a nice steak house called Black Mesa.

The only complaints that I have are 1.) the beds are fairly hard. 2.) not enough mirrors in the room. Makes it challenging for rooms with more than one woman to be able to get ready in the morning. 3) rooms are a little dark. More lights/lamps would be great.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChantalABQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomasville, Georgia
Level Contributor
197 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

I am staying here for a business trip. I was not sure what to expect since the reviews of the area are confusing. I will be staying here for a very long time so where I stay is important to me.

Well let me tell you, this is in the top 10 of hotels I have stayed in (so far). The check in process was as polite and professional as you could ask for and they were very helpful with local information.

The room was great. I haven't got into bed yet, but from here it looks comfy.

The casino is smoky, but way away from the hotel.

The Hotel decor however, is impressive. Well decorated and I really do like it.

Thank you...

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Isn't it great when you stumble onto a pleasant surprise? I have had the opportunity to spend a few nights in the Santa Claran recently. Great rate and the service was spectacular.
Upon my second visit the staff knew my name and type of room that i preferred. The suite was spacious and perfect to conduct my small business meeting. Twenty minutes from Santa Fe but a world apart in terms of service

Room Tip: The Suites are worth the extra money ask for a mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Espanola
7.9 mi away
Cities of Gold Casino Hotel
Cities of Gold Casino Hotel
#53 of 60 in Santa Fe
90 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder
10.4 mi away
Homewood Suites Santa Fe
Homewood Suites Santa Fe
#9 of 60 in Santa Fe
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Los Alamos Entrada Park
14.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Los Alamos
21.6 mi away
The Lodge at Santa Fe
The Lodge at Santa Fe
#35 of 60 in Santa Fe
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Claran Hotel Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Claran Hotel Casino

Property: Santa Claran Hotel Casino
Address: 464 N Riverside Dr, connected to Santa Claran Casino, Espanola, NM 87532-2515
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Espanola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Espanola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Claran Hotel Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Santa Claran Hotel is conveniently located North of Santa Fe and South of Toas in the heart of Northern New Mexico. The blend of Native American, Spanish and Mexican influences are featured in this newest hotel in the North of New Mexico. With its finely appointed atmosphere, quiet surroundings, majestic views and noted hospitality and service, the Santa Claran is the best value, within minutes of the historic, natural and spiritual attractions of the Santa Clara Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Santa Claran Hotel Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing