We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Santa Claran Hotel Casino
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Espanola
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed at the hotel during the Women's State bowling tournament and were very impressed with the architecture, the decor, and the spacious rooms and bathrooms at this hotel. The beds were very comfortable and the staff was extremely helpful. It was very convenient to stay here, bowl, and do a little gambling. Highly recommend

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abqdiesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Carlos U, General Manager at Santa Claran Hotel Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Ms. Abqdiesel

Thank you for your recent review of our property! I am so happy to learn that you had time to enjoy yout time while visiting and that you enjoy the decoration, the Casino and most important, the service! We take a lot of pride in the level of service we provide here at the Santa Claran.

Please let us know when you are in town and please come visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed Saturday night through Tuesday night. The hotel and room were very clean. We had a room on the 5th floor with a nice view of the snow capped mountains. It was quiet, comfortable and spacious. There was no bathtub but a large shower in which a 6' tall person can actually use without hitting your head or bending over to get wet.
The casino is in another wing of the building and does not share the hotel entrance. We did eat breakfast in the casino cafe one morning, it was good at a reasonable price and service was excellent. There are also other fast food or local restaurants nearby. We also noticed that security routinely patrolled the parking lot.
You can tell that management has put an emphasis on cleanliness and service, both greatly appreciated by this traveler, and I will return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Carlos U, General Manager at Santa Claran Hotel Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear DanTrips

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Santa Claran Hotel Casino. I was so happy to read this on a Monday, you made my day! Thank you for your compliments to our accommodations. In fact our main focus is to provide the best possible service in a clean environment. We take a lot of pride in the level of service that we provide and in fact has been the factor that differentiate us from our competitors.

I hope I get to know you in person on your next trip to beautiful Española. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Great place to stay. The price was excellent! Below $90 dollars for (2) queen size beds. Nicely styled. Exhilarating shower experience. Friendly, cheerful informative staff! Great nights sleep! Even won some money off of the $15.00 upfront players club credit. Ended up taking home $35 dollars, so no complaint's, family took home some money too! Had breakfast at the Hotel restaurant and the New Mexican red chili sauce served with my eggs was divine! A must order and try! Had no problem surfing the net with the complimentary Ethernet cable! Sorry for the late review. Have been busy taking care of ill family member with little or no time to log on.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Culturalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Carlos U, General Manager at Santa Claran Hotel Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Culturalist

No need for apologies. We thank you for taking the time for giving us the present of your review. We are honored and faltered by it. I am Glad you like the Red Chili we offer at the restaurant but most happy to learn you experienced the Casino and were able to take home some money!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Everything about this hotel was awesome. It was a great stay, comfortable stay. The room was clean & private. Couldn't hear the neighbors and our smoke free from was truly smoke free. Very enjoyable & restful.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Carlos U, General Manager at Santa Claran Hotel Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Cynthia

Thank you for taking the time to write a review here. We do appreciate your comments and I am glad to learn the you were able to enjoy and rest during your stay. Here at the Santa Claran Hotel we are very proud of the level of service we provide and the level of comfort we do offer to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your second home here in Española in the near future.

Regards,

JCU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed at the Santa Claran in early January 2014 and found the staff and facilities to be very good. The staff was quite welcoming and helpful even though things were quite busy at the time. We found the room to be well kept and very clean. Lack of wireless internet in the room was a bit of a problem since we had to use a network cable and had three folks with computers in our room. The hotel was very quiet during the night even though it is connected to a casino. Very good value for the money.

Room Tip: Upper floors seem to be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Carlos U, General Manager at Santa Claran Hotel Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Chris

Thank you for you review on the Santa Claran Hotel. I am glad you found the hotel quite charming and comfortable. We take a lot of pride on the level of service we provide to our guests, I am so happy to lean that we were able to achieve that with you. We are working with options to fix that WiFi situation and provide the service to the hotel rooms as well. Stay tune!!!

Once again, thank you for your feedback. We will be looking forward to see you soon.

Regards
JCU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I stayed here while working in the Espanola area. The room was decorated nicely and the bed and shower were very good. The room, though, needs wireless internet and a work desk. I could not use my tablet or smartphone because there was no wireless (ethernet cables are available from the front desk).

The room needs a good work desk. There is a small table but it is not adequate for setting up a laptop and materials. I realize that many people do not stay at the Santa Claran on business, but I still recommend that the hotel develop some "executive" rooms designed for the business traveler.

Room Tip: Perhaps rooms close to the lobby pick up on the lobby wireless service?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bullwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Carlos U, General Manager at Santa Claran Hotel Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Bullwalk

Thank you for your review. I really appreciate your honest opinion and suggestions. We do take pride in hearing what guest are saying, for that reason I have to let you know that we are already working in developing an even more upscale floor for guest like you. We will have it ready most likely mid year so please give us the opportunity to impress you during your next visit to beautiful Española.

Feel free to contact me directly during your next visit, I would like to personally walk you through our demo room that will be ready mid March.

Regards,

JCU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed here last summer and gave a good review. This time however was not so overly great. The lighting in the room was so dim you couldn't read or see to comb your hair. No wi-Fi in the room for tablet or cell phone use. You can however, use a lap top but you have to get connectors at the front desk. Be sure to bring your own laundry bag as one is not provided for guests. Only one bag of coffee instead of 2 for 2 guests. We were on the 6th floor and a continuous rumbling noise could be Heard through all the walls . We did not experience it the last time we were there but, we were not on the 6th floor either. The room appeared to be clean but was difficult to inspect due to the lighting. I should add, that the front desk personnel were very friendly and most helpful.

Room Tip: I down graded the sleep quality because of the rumble.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Carlos U, General Manager at Santa Claran Hotel Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Jim,
I want to sincerely apologize for your disappointing experience with our hotel on your last stay with us. It is our expectation that we provide consistent service and accommodations for our guests and want to inform you that with your feedback, we are going to incorporated a few changes in the near future. It is with our guest’s feedback that we are able to stay on top of our game and hope that you continue to stay with us. Please know that if at any time during your next stay you need assistance, please contact me directly or one of our great staff and allow us to help contribute to creating a more enjoyable experience.
See you soon…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Espanola
10.1 mi away
Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder
7.9 mi away
Cities of Gold Casino Hotel
Cities of Gold Casino Hotel
#52 of 61 in Santa Fe
97 reviews
21.5 mi away
The Lodge at Santa Fe
The Lodge at Santa Fe
#34 of 61 in Santa Fe
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Homewood Suites Santa Fe
13.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Los Alamos Entrada Park
15.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Los Alamos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Claran Hotel Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Claran Hotel Casino

Address: 460 N Riverside Dr, connected to Santa Claran Casino, Espanola, NM 87532-2535
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Espanola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Espanola
Price Range: £67 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Claran Hotel Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Santa Claran Hotel is conveniently located North of Santa Fe and South of Toas in the heart of Northern New Mexico. The blend of Native American, Spanish and Mexican influences are featured in this newest hotel in the North of New Mexico. With its finely appointed atmosphere, quiet surroundings, majestic views and noted hospitality and service, the Santa Claran is the best value, within minutes of the historic, natural and spiritual attractions of the Santa Clara Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Santa Claran Hotel Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing