We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive for what you get”
Review of El Paragua

El Paragua
Ranked #1 of 48 Restaurants in Espanola
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$15
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Espanola, New Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
“Too expensive for what you get”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The waitress was very nice, we got chicken covered with cheap cream of mushroom soup (the menu made this sound like chicken and mushrooms; no mention of the soup). We paid close to $40 for this, a small cheaply made salad and a sopapilla each.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    93
    40
    15
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Espanola, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb Food and Wonderful Atmosphere”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Where else in this world can you go to a restaurant and see pictures on the wall painted by famous WWII cartoonist Bill Mauldin? He just drew them right on the wall. The building itself has a Northern New Mexico charm of its own. Yes it is old but it is beautiful. I have lived in the area for almost 50 years and have always had good meals whenever I ate at El Paragua,

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
220 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“Tom O”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

After an spending all day fly fishing on the Rio Grande in New Mexico, we decided to stop in Espanola, New Mexico and have an early dinner at a restaurant we have passed by on our many travels through New Mexico. It's in a rustic stone built two story structure located on a main road leading out of Espanola towards Chimayo.
Inside it's a warm cozy restaurant with one of the friendliest staff we have ever encountered. They were constantly filling our water glasses, taking away dirty dishes and just being warm and friendly.

For dinner, we decided to eat light and share an entree plus have a drink. We split a frozen Sangria margarita which was plentiful and delicious. They also served fresh chips and a great mildly hot salsa. We selected the Pollo Mexicana which is one half a chicken served with outstanding beans, fresh warm tortillas and a de pico sauce. Because we were splitting dinner, it was an extra $4.50 which included a 2nd salad and a 2nd sopapilla. Why have desert when you can have a deliciously cooked sopapilla with fresh honey. Yummm.
There was nothing we could find wrong with our meal and even took home part of our chicken there was so much food. We even ordered a soft drink with the meal and the total price came to only $42.00 which included a 20% tip. Would we go here again? Without hesitation. I'm glad we found a new restaurant that is so good and only 20 minutes from Santa Fe.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hernandez
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best Northern New Mexican cuisine in the state.”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

You can't go wrong with any of the dishes here. The Enchilada Atencio is one of my personal favs.
In readng other reviews of this place, I disagree with the statements of overpricing. I think it is middle of the road. I prefer to sit and relax here with a margarita, rather then go to a taco stand type place where there is no atmosphere. Granted the place could use a little spiffing-up, but that is some of the charm. Try the steaks, superb.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank equine-escapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food but pricey”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We were expecting to sample some true northern NM food, but the food was a little bland and the chile was not hot. The service was so-so. There were 8 in our party and we all felt the food was just ok and a little expensive.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Abqdiesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Paragua also viewed

 

Been to El Paragua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing