We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit of an experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Espanola
Gunnison, Colorado
Level Contributor
142 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A bit of an experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

The front desk people were surly for sure - I enjoyed the challenge. In contrast, the hallway and rooms were pretty nice. The room had all the amenities: fridge, microwave, TV, wireless internet. It was quiet. We slept well. There was a variety of options for breakfast - your average or above average continental breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnlyHighways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    19
    19
    24
    18
See reviews for
20
29
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, WY
Level Contributor
87 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We were driving from Kasha-Katuwe Tent Rocks National Monument (near Cochiti Pueblo) to the Valles (or Jemez) Caldera near Los Alamos. Our 2011 ( ! ) guidebook gave little hope of us finding overnight accomodations in Los Alamos. (We found out the next day that the guidebook was totally wrong. Los Alamos has plenty of modern accomodations.) So we detoured to Espanola for lodging. This Comfort Inn will shock any travellers familiar with the brand. The parking lot had a warning sign, the entrance was stark, a hallway electrical outlet had no cover, the key lock to the back door was broken, Room 116 had a balky door lock, yadda, yadda, yadda. Maybe part of the exterior problem is that adobe construction shows its age more quickly? The interior of the room, however, was better - closer to a normal Comfort Inn. For 2 adults, we paid $55.91, including tax and breakfast. My impression of the staff is that they kept the seat warm, but weren't aware that they are in the hospitality business...

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teton-view
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Espanola hotels

Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Check-In was slow, but I changed my rate request and it caused for a delay. They also couldn't find my reservation, so it was off to the car to get the confirmation number. We got our room, and it was average. The bathroom needed repainting as it had visible marks and non-removable dirt/scuff marks on the walls, but the beds were awesome, the TV was great, the Wi-Fi worked fine, the room was clean, and we were very comfortable, it's quiet, and we slept just fine. The breakfast wasn't bad, your typical continental, but they said they had sausage and there was none upon our arrival to eat. They replenished the sausage after we had already eaten, better late than never, but we didn't bother having any. Espanola doesn't offer much as far as quality hotels outside of the casino establishments, and some of the reviews of this type establishment in Espanola would sway anyone from staying at a few available at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NMRawker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

Ok, this is not a WOW hotel. But for the price (that I paid), and considering its location and other accommodation options, I felt it was a good deal, and a pretty comfortable room. Easy parking, nice front desk service. A perfect place to crash for a night or two.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank euroUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belen, New Mexico
Level Contributor
172 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

The room was average for the price. Nothing fancy - but clean. (That's important, right?)

But the best part was that when I called for information about the pool (allergy issues) was that Claudine went out of her way to get me the information I needed.

They do need more room for breakfast - we had to share a table (not a big deal for us)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thequeenmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford Ct
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

This property was run down, shabby, in an undesirable neighborhood, the light on the sign in front was burned out, the back door would not lock. The rooms smelled like smoke, there were unsavory characters hanging around outside, I could go on in fact I should have gone one and never stopped here.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vista, California
Level Contributor
119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

I ususally find a Comfort Inn to be better than this. If you don't like the smell of cigarette smoke, don't stay here as it was overpowering in the lobby and hallways. Thankfully it was not that evident in the room so we did get a good nights sleep. At checkin I had the impression the desk person would rather be taking a nap than welcoming a customer. While I will be in this area again I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Espanola
7.1 mi away
Cities of Gold Casino Hotel
Cities of Gold Casino Hotel
#51 of 60 in Santa Fe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder
13.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Los Alamos Entrada Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Homewood Suites Santa Fe
Homewood Suites Santa Fe
#10 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
15.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Los Alamos
3.4 mi away
Ohkay Casino Resort Hotel
Ohkay Casino Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ohkay Owingeh (San Juan Pueblo)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 604 S Riverside Dr Ste B, Espanola, NM 87532-3474 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Espanola
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Espanola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Espanola
Espanola Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing