We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Satisfied with our Stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Espanola
new mexico
Level Contributor
478 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Satisfied with our Stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

My husband I needed a place to stay to shorten our drive to a hiking spot near Abiquiu, so Espanola met our needs. There's not many motels to chose from and I did read reviews before staying at the Comfort Inn. Our experience was more positive than some. Our king room needed new paint badly but the furniture was fine, the carpet looked new, we had a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, the bathroom fixtures looked "newer" and the sink was in the main room which we like. Everything was clean. However, we were only given one washcloth and were told that there was a shortage and that's all anyone got. We did not use the pool. Breakfast was more than we expected with those microwave omelets that have gotten popular, waffles, cereal, muffins, bagels etc.
Service was so-so. We certainly weren't greeted with open arms, but neither were we made to feel like an inconvenience.
The property is set back off the main road so we didn't hear any traffic. The surroundings are a bit dowdy, and the exterior needs paint and some TLC. It was annoying having to walk through the smokers congregating at the entrance.
So, with limited choices and a price of $50 for a king room, we were satisfied.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mwcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    19
    19
    24
    18
See reviews for
20
29
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Elbert, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

You are greated in the parking lot by signs stating that they are not responsible for breakins or damage to your car. A quick look at the "bombed out" surroundings makes you want to go elsewhere if you had an immediate choice. We had reserved a non-smoking room. The burned out desk clerk gave us a smoking room. When I came back down and showed her my reservation, she tried to insist that I would just have to stay in the smoking room until the next day. After I insisted that she either had to honor the original reservation, or refund my money, she somehow "managed" to find a non-smoking room. I thanked her and upon entering that room we had to deal with the distinctive scent of moth balls, and a toilet that would never quite quit running. When you walk out the front door, you have to walk through a cloud of smokers, as that seems to be the only area they have where the employees or customers can puff away. I would advise anyone to look elsewhere, and you can be certain that we will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Espanola hotels

Alamosa, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

My stay was terrible. They had teenagers working at the desk. I never once saw a manager. My internet went out and the front desk did not offer any solutions. The location and building looks like a run down bar in the ghetto. The rooms are the same. Cigarette burns and holes in the bed spread. At night they lock the front door and you have to ring a bell for them to let you in. The card reader was broken on the back door so you had to walk all the way around to the front. I told them I was a choice privaleges member and that I needed a late check out. I had to talk to three different people before I could get a late check out approved. Never go to this place. And mind you this is a franchise Comfort Inn hotel by Choice Hotels. Choice Hotels needs to look at this immediately. A motel 6 would have been better.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

I debated about the rating between average and very good. Since it had all the elements we were looking for - good location, good price, clean rooms, and ample parking for a trailer, I went with a "very good" rating. The service was actually pretty good - the front desk staff was attentive and efficient and was eager to recommend restaurants and motorcycle roads suggestions. The hot breakfast was included and was pretty decent. The hotel is fairly old but kept up pretty well. We did not use the pool, although it was also fairly decent. It was quiet and we ended up staying 2 nights because of its centralized location for the sights we wanted to see.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Japanesejockgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
104 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

The outside of the building was newly painted and the blacktop had just been sealed that day. The swimming pool was in the process of repair and refilling, so we didn't get to use it, but it wasn't a bathtub like the last two hotels we stay at. The inside decor had NOT been updated, but it was clean and quiet and we slept well. The breakfast selection was good, but when we were out of something we had to go around behind the front desk to the open door of the hotel laundermat and say "hello?", eventually a young lady came and took care of stuff (front desk, fold laundry and do breakfast duty??). Water pressure for the shower was lacking and people kept propping the back door open because the card reader was broke.

Room Tip: Chinese restaurant on site was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunnison, Colorado
Level Contributor
142 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

The front desk people were surly for sure - I enjoyed the challenge. In contrast, the hallway and rooms were pretty nice. The room had all the amenities: fridge, microwave, TV, wireless internet. It was quiet. We slept well. There was a variety of options for breakfast - your average or above average continental breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnlyHighways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, WY
Level Contributor
85 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We were driving from Kasha-Katuwe Tent Rocks National Monument (near Cochiti Pueblo) to the Valles (or Jemez) Caldera near Los Alamos. Our 2011 ( ! ) guidebook gave little hope of us finding overnight accomodations in Los Alamos. (We found out the next day that the guidebook was totally wrong. Los Alamos has plenty of modern accomodations.) So we detoured to Espanola for lodging. This Comfort Inn will shock any travellers familiar with the brand. The parking lot had a warning sign, the entrance was stark, a hallway electrical outlet had no cover, the key lock to the back door was broken, Room 116 had a balky door lock, yadda, yadda, yadda. Maybe part of the exterior problem is that adobe construction shows its age more quickly? The interior of the room, however, was better - closer to a normal Comfort Inn. For 2 adults, we paid $55.91, including tax and breakfast. My impression of the staff is that they kept the seat warm, but weren't aware that they are in the hospitality business...

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teton-view
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Espanola
Cities of Gold Casino Hotel
#51 of 60 in Santa Fe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Homewood Suites Santa Fe
#10 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
Ohkay Casino Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ohkay Owingeh (San Juan Pueblo)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 604 S Riverside Dr Ste B, Espanola, NM 87532-3474 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Espanola
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Espanola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Espanola
Espanola Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing