We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Uniquely Brazilian Experience”
Review of Hotel Buhler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Buhler
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This is not a place that many non-Brazilians visit. In fact, I wouldn't have gone there had it not been that we were traveling with some Brazilian friends. This gem of a pousada is high in the Mantiqueria mountain range in the tiny town of Visconde de Maua. It has been a popular place to escape the summer heat since it's inception in 1939. The ride up there is spectacular and eventually paved roads turn to dirt roads. The hotel has beautiful grounds that are meticulously maintained with beautiful gardens and tropical flowers. The chalets are incredibly charming. Ours featured a bedroom with a queen-sized bed and a fireplace, a living room with 2 day beds, a huge bathroom with a nice hot shower and a "garden" room with a glass ceiling and a hot tub. One thing I didn't like so much, was that you are instructed to not throw any, I mean any, paper into the toilet due to inadequate plumbing. That takes some getting used to. The room rate included a huge breakfast and an equally huge lunch. both were delicious. Be aware that Brazilians tend to eat late. Breakfast ran from about 9 to noon, Lunch didn't start until 2:00 PM and ran until about 4:00. The hotel had a very large outdoor pool and another indoor pool. They had tennis courts and a "movie Theater" for kids to watch videos in. There are many cozy public spaces including a wonderful little pub with couches, over stuffed chairs and a fireplace. There is a really cute little village within walking distance of the pousada with lots of gift shops and some very good restaurants. Most of the senior staff spoke some English and some were quite fluent. Although this is bit out of the way, I'd highly recommend it, especially if you are visiting Brazil from another country and want a very Brazilian (non-touristy) experience.

Room Tip: We had 3 chalets and all were very nice. I don't think they have a bad chalet in the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank avodoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: São 21 Chalés,amplos e confortáveis, à escolha dos Hóspedes pretendentes ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ArnaldoManso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Rcorbal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Todos os chalés ficam bem posicionados. Os mais à direita(distantes das áreas sociais) me parecem ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank alexandre_mss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Qualquer quarto é maravilhoso!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Glaucio e R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, Gerente de relações públicas at Hotel Buhler, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, Gerente de relações públicas at Hotel Buhler, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Felipe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, Gerente de relações públicas at Hotel Buhler, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Visconde de Maua hotels
0.1 mi away
Pousada Recanto da Serra
0.3 mi away
Pousada Montserrat
Pousada Montserrat
#9 of 59 in Visconde de Maua
267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pousada Vale das Hortensias
Pousada Vale das Hortensias
#14 of 59 in Visconde de Maua
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pousada Chales do Lago
Pousada Chales do Lago
#17 of 59 in Visconde de Maua
181 reviews
9.5 mi away
Pousada Terras Altas
Pousada Terras Altas
#11 of 59 in Visconde de Maua
86 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pousada Tijupa
Pousada Tijupa
#8 of 59 in Visconde de Maua
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Buhler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buhler

Address: Praca Maringa, Visconde de Maua, State of Rio de Janeiro 27580-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Visconde de Maua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Visconde de Maua
Price Range: £86 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Buhler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing