We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sad, tasteless, and dry ribs” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Serious Texas Bar-B-Q

Serious Texas Bar-B-Q
Ranked #20 of 126 Restaurants in Farmington
Price range: US$6 - US$22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Sad, tasteless, and dry ribs”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Ordered 1/2 rack ribs, they were tough, dry almost unchewable, stringy, and a disappointment after such a high recommendation from family. The cole slaw was different than I'd ever had, sweet and a funky under taste. The BBQ beans were pintos with what tasted like the cheap McCormick kitchen chili powder in it. Nasty tasting stuff, lots of meat but not a hint of onion or anything other than that rank chili taste. The tea was relish. I'll try a sandwich again before writing them off completely.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Harold W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    19
    11
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pretty Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Usually perfect but sometimes the pulled pork is a bit dry however add the sauce and it becomes delicious anyway. It is not the best BBQ I have ever tasted but by no means the worst. I'd recommend the Texas Taco and a zuberfizz root beer but my husband is a ribs sort of man. Also don't be surprised this is a low key 'man's hang out' and you get all sorts of cowboys and oil field workers.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Here4theF00D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“You Want Amazing BBQ? Come Here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Disclaimer: I'm not a BBQ expert. But I've had my fair share and I know what tastes good to me.
My first experience here was in the morning. Passing by, my colleague and I noted they had an open sign on and had signs announcing they were open for breakfast. We wondered what a BBQ place could have for breakfast and checked it out.
There is really only one item on the breakfast menu. You get a tortilla, choose your meat (brisket, tenderloin, sausage), and they load it with egg, cheesy potatos, jalapenos, and onions. This item is seriously delicious and is a hearty breakfast; I recommend the brisket.
On the next visit I got essentially a meat sampler tray of tenderloin, brisket, and ribs. All were delicious, and if you can handle some heat, I suggest their spicy BBQ sauce.
A great establishment I'll be going back to.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank potatohamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Over priced small servings”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend know I like bar-b-q so she took me out for my birthday . The food for the most part was good except for the cole slaw . Who ever decided to put chipotle on cole slaw should tied behind a horse and dragged across a Cactus patch . What she spent for 2 sandwiches a small cup of beans and crap for slaw . We could of had a top of the line stake dinner and had change left over . Save you money and pass it by

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lonewolfxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“appropriately named.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

They are serious about Bar B Que. Great food and service. Great smoked flavor and fall off the bone tender. Will return when in the area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gwinginit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Serious Texas Bar-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Serious Texas Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing