We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An hour outside of Farmington's downtown” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bisti/De-Na-Zin Wilderness

Bisti/De-Na-Zin Wilderness
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Farmington
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe,NM
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“An hour outside of Farmington's downtown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

But well worth the trip. You need a good sense of direction since there are no paths, trails anything other then a desire to explore and leave it as you found it. It is fragile and oh so out of this world. You will feel as though you are on another planet. Bring water since there are no facilities best time is early morning or late afternoon for photos and weather...can get very hot or very cold depending on time of the year.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Carolyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    50
    11
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
140 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Spacious”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Our tour bus made it in to the trailhead here, and we got out to look at the amazing scenery, but we did no hiking. Hikers we met said the hoodoos in the interior were amazing. We were disappointed that there were no brochures or paper guides @ the entrance. Bring lots of water - it's hot, and there's no shade.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank BobandJan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Amazing Landscape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Fantastic geologic formations, a bit out of the way but oh so special. Best to go in fall or spring, before the heat of summer. Have food and water in your backpack and take a GPS with you if you can. We had put waypoints for some of the most notable attractions, and it was fun to locate them. There are no trails or marked paths, just follow the information you find online before you go.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Plannersis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A superb landscape of New Mexico, hidden in plain view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Amazing formations. No real worry about getting lost. We entered the BLM land off of 391 about one hour south of Farmington.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelTipLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
138 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Bring the SUV”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

While I fully intended to visit this attraction because the photos from others looked so inviting, I never made it to either the Bisti entrance or the De-Na-Zin Wilderness because I would not subject my car(a Ford Mustang) to the rough roads leading off highway 371. I tried at both turnoffs(roughly 35 and 42 miles, respectively, south of Farmington, but turned back after just a few hundred feet. The roads are advertised as gravel but I would call them small sharp stones and it makes for a very unpleasant ride in a tightly-sprung car like a Mustang. For a SUV with good off road tires, this would pose no problems.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Walter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bisti/De-Na-Zin Wilderness also viewed

 

Been to Bisti/De-Na-Zin Wilderness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing