We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find”
Review of Royal Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Inn
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Farmington
Alta Loma, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Find”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

If you are looking for a quiet,clean,reasonably priced stay then this is the place. The motel is older with few amenities but does have a microwave and a small fridge. We stayed four nights in June 2013 and this would be our first choice when we return to Farmington.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mehoe29084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    11
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
11
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

we arrived at 9pm and the main office was closed. We were greeted by staff outside the office who took our information and gave us our key. They informed us we could pay in the morning. After we had gone to sleep for the night, we heard a frightful banging on our door with a woman yelling something unintelligible outside our door, Naturally we were reluctant to open the door and they went away. After we went back to sleep, The phone rang with the manager demanding payment. I told him I would be happy to pay in the morning as agreed. Finally we got to sleep but not without nightmares of someone trying to break into our room. Otherwise, the room was clean and the location easy to find.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cupcake13_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

The staff was very helpful and friendly. Beds were a little hard but room was very clean. Separate tub and shower. Older place but loved the color schemes. No coffee in the room. Quiet place right next to a mountain. Not the best part of town but we felt safe.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coolerweather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Questa, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We loved family owned and operated businesses!

If you're traveling with a bunch of kids, this is the hotel for you. The rooms are huge and the bathrooms are gigantic. The bathroom will blow your mind - colored tiles half way up the walls and up to and even on the ceiling in the shower, matching colored toilet and sink, separate shower and bath - it's like going to grandma's house! There is plenty of space in the dressing room, bathroom, and bed room for stir crazy to kids to stretch their legs.

It's an old hotel for sure and hasn't been renovated to highlight the 50's formica countertop or colored tiles, which is really too bad because it could be really cool. Instead, it's a trippy blast to the past with mismatched curtains, carpets, walls, and furniture which is incredibly entertaining.

Hotel is located off main road = quiet. So quiet. It was wonderful.

Microwave and small refrigerator in room. No coffee pot or blow dryer. Plenty of soap is available but bring your toiletries.

The heater in the room stopped working around 9pm. The owner checked it out and moved us to a different room in short order. He was very kind, considerate and accommodating.

The Royal Inn does not appear to have a website. You'll have to call. The 505 area code doesn't match the region, but it works.

Rooms are priced cheaply but the stay was priceless. We'll stay again!

Room Tip: Hotel is shaped in "L". #1 is on far right by entrance road and #40 (or so) on far left an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca_ABQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

I travel a lot for work and decided to stay at the Royal Inn based on it's good reviews. I was there for 9 days. In my experience I've never stayed at a hotel as nice for the low price. The couple who run the place are good people and very nice. The rooms are very large, the decor is unique, and it's peaceful and quiet. I'm a small female traveling alone and I felt safe and comfortable during my entire stay. Oh yeah! The room also had a microwave and mini-fridge (which the La Quinta for three times the price doesn't even offer...) I highly recommend this hotel if your looking for something low budget it can't be beat.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StarSolaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Don't care for older motels? This one will change your mind. Family operated (of course) and oh so accommodating. I forgot the time zone change and called for coffee in the wee hours. The owner dutifully made coffee for me, even though I tried to insist he not do that.

The rooms are neat and clean. The king bed was most comfortable. And where else do you find your choice of shower or bath at $40/night? Large bathroom, extra dressing room and spacious main room with cable and Wi-Fi.

And best? It is a couple of blocks off the main road, so it is QUIET. No trucks or trains = good location.

Room Tip: The motel is shaped in an L. The rooms on the L nearest the office are the most quiet, as they back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoOSUCowboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
txkipps
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Like the previous reviews stated. It's basic, clean and cheap. The hotel is old and a little shabby (not shabby chic, either). But, it's clean and only $45 a night with free wi-fi (be sure to ask for the code when you check in). The air conditioner is a window unit and is a little loud. It does an adequate job, but it's a dry 75 degrees outside. Not sure how it would hold up in the summer heat. There is no light in the enclosed shower stall so when you close the curtain it's dark. Not a lot of electrical outlets so if you travel with a ton of electronics it might be a problem. No continental breakfast, coffee only. Sign in the lobby says no pets. We're just passing through Farmington, checked in just for the night and you can't beat the price.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank txkipps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Farmington hotels
1.6 mi away
Brentwood Inn & Garden
Brentwood Inn & Garden
#12 of 23 in Farmington
138 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Region Inn
The Region Inn
#11 of 23 in Farmington
126 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 23 in Farmington
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 23 in Farmington
202 reviews
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn - Farmington
Quality Inn - Farmington
#14 of 23 in Farmington
103 reviews
1.8 mi away
Courtyard Farmington
Courtyard Farmington
#7 of 23 in Farmington
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Inn

Property: Royal Inn
Address: 701 Airport Drive, Hwy 550 & Apache, Farmington, NM 87401 (Formerly Knights Inn Farmington)
Region: United States > New Mexico > Farmington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Farmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Farmington
Farmington Knights Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing