We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place, good price”
Review of Royal Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Inn
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Farmington
San Rafael, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Decent place, good price”
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

We were passing through town on our way to Utah and just needed a place to stop for the evening. This place was a good value. The owners keep the place up well and it was very clean. Some minor things kept it from a very good review. The ice machine was broken (I survived). In the middle of the night our heating unit started squealing like a pig and we had to shut it off. Still, I would stay again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    11
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
11
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The Royal Inn is set apart from the street with walls, giving it a quiet atmosphere and sense of seclusion. The room was large and well furnished and very clean. When I couldn't operate the remote for the TV (which had a complicated set up) and the manager couldn't get the problem solved on the phone, he came right over and got everything in working order--even though it was dinnertime. The Royal Inn was priced below even the cost of most Motel6's. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vcv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cruz Bay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a place to lay our heads for the night and what we discovered was a wonderful step back in time. Arrived very late with no reservations and were greeted with a warm welcome. Opened the door to the room and found a room that has been meticulously maintained from the 60's. Separate shower and bath, Large spacious room and a very comfortable bed. All for $50!!!!! Warm friendly staff and a really neat vibe

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank CaneelFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We travel to farmington often to visit family for years and I wish I had known about this place sooner. I Couldn't agree more with positive reviews below, although it is not out of town as one reviewer stated, but it does have that feeling. This hotel is the best kept secret in town; we'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Pros:
- super clean
- comfortable mattress
- shower and bath in restroom, hot water
- quiet
- friendly staff
- located opposite a dental office, seems a safe neighborhood

Cons (minor nitpicks) :
- shower head low (I am 5'6" and had to crouch slightly)
- room took an hour to cool down once the air conditioning was turned on

Overall impression:
- we have paid three times the price to be less comfortable. The owners are obviously super efficient managers to maintain a profit at the room rates they are charging; do they care to run our economy too?

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank schyupsboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alta Loma, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

If you are looking for a quiet,clean,reasonably priced stay then this is the place. The motel is older with few amenities but does have a microwave and a small fridge. We stayed four nights in June 2013 and this would be our first choice when we return to Farmington.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mehoe29084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

we arrived at 9pm and the main office was closed. We were greeted by staff outside the office who took our information and gave us our key. They informed us we could pay in the morning. After we had gone to sleep for the night, we heard a frightful banging on our door with a woman yelling something unintelligible outside our door, Naturally we were reluctant to open the door and they went away. After we went back to sleep, The phone rang with the manager demanding payment. I told him I would be happy to pay in the morning as agreed. Finally we got to sleep but not without nightmares of someone trying to break into our room. Otherwise, the room was clean and the location easy to find.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cupcake13_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Farmington hotels
1.6 mi away
Brentwood Inn & Garden
Brentwood Inn & Garden
#12 of 23 in Farmington
140 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Region Inn
The Region Inn
#11 of 23 in Farmington
127 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 23 in Farmington
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 23 in Farmington
145 reviews
1.8 mi away
Courtyard Farmington
Courtyard Farmington
#7 of 23 in Farmington
219 reviews
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn - Farmington
Quality Inn - Farmington
#14 of 23 in Farmington
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Inn

Property: Royal Inn
Address: 701 Airport Drive, Hwy 550 & Apache, Farmington, NM 87401 (Formerly Knights Inn Farmington)
Region: United States > New Mexico > Farmington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Farmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Farmington
Farmington Knights Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing