We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Step Back in Time and Mingle with Celebrity!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Rancho Hotel & Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Rancho Hotel & Motel
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Gallup
Chatham, Illinois
Level Contributor
169 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Step Back in Time and Mingle with Celebrity!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

My husband and I love vintage, bygone eras and Americana. This venue has it all! We were captivated by the vintage signage, the amazing lobby, and the unique "Katherine Hepburn" room where we spent the night. It's just down the hall from the "James Cagney" room and across from the "Errol Flynn." We were told the names reflect the stars that actually stayed there. Our room was small, but comfortable and charming. You can even choose the "Presidential Suite" where Ronnie Reagan stayed before he was an elected official.
We chose to eat at the hotel's restaurant and it was very nice. Not five star, but definitely a good experience.
When you stay here be sure to check out all the movie memorabilia. What fun!!
In the giftshop we found a friendly young lady who helped my husband pick out a wonderful squash blossom necklace and earring set. A little shy at first, but then she opened up to us and gave us an amazing history lesson about her culture.
If you are a person who appreciates the past and wants to experience what is left of the cowboy cinema west, this is one place that you will remember forever.

Room Tip: You may want to pick your "celebrity." My husband said if we were assigned the "Jane...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    227
    113
    66
    44
See reviews for
110
265
41
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

Me and a dear girlfriend were on a two week Route 66 trip and we loved our night at the El Rancho. The hotel lobby is breathtaking -- you feel as if you're stepping back in time. But remember, this is yesteryear luxury not 21st century luxury! While the lobby is stunning and the staircase is breathtaking, the rooms are simple (but large) and comfortable. And air conditioning is hit and miss -- so you may want to schedule a spring or fall trip. The lack of ac didn't bother us.
Loved the elevator that requires an operator -- fun!!
Loved the old cigarette machine -- don't see those any more.
Loved the hundreds & hundreds of wonderful photos of the stars of days gone by.
Spend a night or two at El Rancho -- it's a stop worth making and hotel with so much charm and character!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

We stayed in Room 118, the one bedroom suite, for $128. Two large rooms, both with flat screen TVs. One king bed and sitting area and one with two queen beds.

The restaurant was perfect family food for $40 for 4 of us, yet a large party from France had the more expensive faire and bottles of wine and clearly enjoyed themselves.

The atmosphere is fun, fun, fun. The employees state it is an honor to work there and act like it.

We planned on one night. It was so comfortable, charming and affordable we re-arranged our plans and stayed 3 days.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melvin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

This hotel has been used by many a movie star when doing filming in and around Gallup. This is Indian Reservation territory so much of the hotel has an Indian theme to it. First thing that hits you is the magnificent reception area with an open mezzanine going to the 2nd floor. Spectacular is an understatement and up on the mezzanine are autographed photos of the stars that have stayed in them. Each room is also named after one of the stars (mine was the Rosalind Russell room).

Saturday and Sunday around 5pm they also have a local Indian tribe doing some dance displays.

There is free quality wifi in the ample and luxurious seating are in reception. The rooms whilst old as could be expected are large and comfortable and a very comfortable bed.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiPatC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver City, NM
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

You will be awestruck when you walk in the door and view the lobby, unfortunately the rooms are small and outdated. Thank God the air conditioning was working as the staff had neglected to turn it on prior to our checking in, and we had made reservations. It was 87 degrees this day. Typical friendly, laid back New Mexico service. Room was spotless and we had instant hot water in the shower. We went to the lounge which has been rated as on of the best in the USA, I can't say I agree, but I wasn't disappointed either. It was just kind of regular and must really depend on the crowd which when we were there was dominated by Brits who where traveling Rt 66. The restaurant was good for breakfast with outstanding waitstaff. The food was good and the fruit was exceptionally fresh. All in all a good experience and one can say they stayed in one of New Mexico's icons

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T-birdRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Central Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

I'd read about this hotel and wanted to check it out. Located on historic Route 66 in Gallup, it's a charming place. Got to stay in the "Fred MacMurray" room... a large double room with two double beds, small kitchenette that was comfortable. Lots of autographed pics of famous folks throughout the hotel. Player piano in the lobby and plenty of room to hang out there. Internet only available in lobby; on Sundays their lobby lounge is closed but they do have a restaurant open 7 days.

The location was centrally located and minutes from downtown and Jerry's Cafe where you can have an authentic Mexican meal for a good price with friendly staff.

Also checkout Johnny C's for dinner... it was great... sports bar/oldies cafe w/sports/oldies theme where the staff was so warm and welcoming; Starbucks attached. We loved Gallup and sought out the Perry Null Trading Post with lots of wonderful art, craft and jewelry for sale... their staff was also very helpful and we scored some wonderful items at great prices.

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs; no elevator but easy access through the central staircases in the lobby. Shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveTravelinFLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dickson, Tennessee
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

We were excited about staying in such a nostalgic hotel until we arrived.We understand they want to keep the ambiance of the old west but this hotel offers no ameneties.. When we checked in our first room was the size of a closet so they upgraded us to the Presidential suite..It was nice but very dated.
The train came by every 10 min. 24/7 so not much sleep.. The steak house was excellent.. We had the prime rib which was perfect.. The next time we are in town we stay in another hotel.. The El Rancho is nice to go through the lobby and see the memorbilia... but would not stay again..

Room Tip: Check your room before commiting!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gallup hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gallup hotels
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gallup Inn & Suites
3.5 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#8 of 34 in Gallup
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
5.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Gallup
Red Roof Inn Gallup
#13 of 34 in Gallup
3.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Gallup
Comfort Suites Gallup
#6 of 34 in Gallup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gallup
2.6 mi away
Royal Holiday Motel
Royal Holiday Motel
#17 of 34 in Gallup
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rancho Hotel & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rancho Hotel & Motel

Property: El Rancho Hotel & Motel
Address: 1000 E Historic Highway 66, Gallup, NM 87301-5559
Region: United States > New Mexico > Gallup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Gallup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — El Rancho Hotel & Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Also Known As:
El Rancho Hotel And Motel
El Rancho Hotel Gallup
El Rancho Gallup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing