We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must visit”

Richardsons Trading Company
Ranked #1 of 11 Shopping in Gallup
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Gallup, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Must visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Richardsons has a large variety of Native American made jewelry and other items. The also have the largest selection of Navajo rugs in town and maybe in the state.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    23
    16
    4
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Vast collection, but overpriced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We were very impressed with the quantity and quality of the Navajo rugs at Richardson's. The historic trading post was definitely worth stopping in to see, but we were disappointed at how overpriced their rugs were. Even with their 2/3 off "sale", their prices were much higher for similar quality and sized rugs that we have bought other places. This was a turn-off. Also, the saleslady who we talked with was not as knowledgable about the area and culture as others we have talked with elsewhere.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank iu92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Truly Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Visiting Richardson's was like a personal interactive museum tour. Our "sales assoc", actually more like a docent, took us through all the rooms and thoroughly explained the role of trading posts, active pawn, and various intricacies of Navajo weaving. It was a delightful experience and extremely educational. We purchased a Katchina doll. Highly recommend!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“overpriced tourist trap”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Richardson's - pretty much like all the other tourist traps in Gallup, N.M. The only real deals in this "give us your money town" is Earl's on East Highway 66. If you know a little about the item or items you are interested in, you can ask intelligent questions of the artist. But stay clear of this overpriced tourist shop! It makes the stores in Santa Fe.....look cheap in price!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Cisco1WestVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Impolite on phone”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

I called the store to ask questions about any discounts and the person who answered was not helpful. He hung up while I was still talking. He sounded hurried and impatient. I had to call back a second time and this person with an accent was not very nice over the phone.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jjb60971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Richardsons Trading Company also viewed

 

Been to Richardsons Trading Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing