We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very depressing”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of El Capitan Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Capitan Motel
Ranked #30 of 34 Hotels in Gallup
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very depressing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

During our coast to coast roadtrip this motel was the WORST stay. That Indian woman in pyjamas whom we woke up in 2 am checked us in. She was rude and unprofessional (sorry we disturbed her. if she wouldn't wake up after our buzzing - we could have stay somewhere else).
The room was dirty - the blankets, carpet and bathroom. Towels smelled like they were washed but looked opposite. The soap/shampoo dispensers didn't confuse me, just put the decent soap in them. The poor water pressure with bad shower head made taking shower nearly impossible. We had to unplug the fridge - it was noisy. The bedding didn't look bad but who could guarantee...
We didn't mind outdated motels on our way but this was way too bad. No coffee machine. There are a TV, a fridge and a hairdryer but I really didn't want to touch anything. In the early morning we could hear somebody dug in the trash bin in front of our room.
We packed and left without saying a word to each other. This motel is very depressing and not good even for a one night stay.

Room Tip: Please stay somewhere else. There is absolutely nothing good in this motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redclous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    9
    13
    5
    11
See reviews for
6
17
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Citrus Heights, California
Level Contributor
125 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

This place may have been decent back when Route 66 was well-traveled, but that has been a long time ago. It was just so-so in quality of furnishings and cleanliness. When my wife pulled a towel from the wall-mounted towel rack, the entire rack fell down. It had been mounted with the kind of wall anchors you might use for a picture. They should have used molly bolts! They added a $20 charge to our credit card, which we are protesting. I would not stop there again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GLADSENIOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gallup hotels

the world!
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

During our trip we stayed mostly in motels in the $50-70 bracket and the El Capitan was one of the better ones. Very typical road-side motel, basic rooms, clean and large. It was pleasantly quiet and we had a good nights sleep.
We arrived on a Sunday night and all the restaurants were closed, but a Pizza Hut is in walking distance did the job. One option would have been the restaurants in the 'El Rancho' (famous and mentioned in the guide books) which we thought was overpriced.
There are also a couple of places (again walking distance) to have breakfast in the morning.
It kind of fit our stereotype image of a Route 66 motel and we enjoyed our short stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank top_mango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

As other reviewers have said, this is a simple motel, no frills and a little dated, but for an overnight stay on the way to somewhere else it is perfectly acceptable. The staff were friendly and welcoming, it is close to local restaurants...some of which are closed on a Sunday so be prepared to go a little further afield if you happen to be there on a Sunday. The room was clean, the a/c unit was relatively modern so not too noisy and in comparison to other motels in Gallup El Capitan looks to be a really good choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrEsther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

Clean rooms and a very good mattress. This motel is a bit dated but it is exactly what we expected (hoped?) to find on this historic byway. At $40 per night it is a great value. Remember, Route 66 and the railroad are parallel so there is steady but muffled train noise.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amarie757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

It was clean, good value for money. Nice big room with several amenities, and a desk table and tv. We had a comfortable, quiet sleep and would return again. It's not far from the interstate so fairly easily accessible.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jadyjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

I was in Gallup for work. I made a reservation and was given a weekly price of $220 for a 6 week stay.Every week I was charged a higher amount until it was $350 a week and i moved out. The room was old,dirty and i never could get housekeeping. I went to walmart and got towels & sheets because the ones in the room were stained and awful.The room had unknown bugs and lots of flies.The Mattress was stained and very uncomfortable. I used a whole can of lysol just so i could stay because there was not a room in town. The owner and his wife were very very rude!!! After moving out the owner (Jay Patel) charged my credit card numerous times and when i call to complained he cursed at me. I had to call my credit card company to dispute the unauthorized charges. It is not a place you want to stay !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank STACEY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gallup hotels
2.9 mi away
Royal Holiday Motel
Royal Holiday Motel
#16 of 34 in Gallup
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
2.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gallup
SpringHill Suites Gallup
#11 of 34 in Gallup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gallup Inn & Suites
2.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gallup
6.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gallup
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Capitan Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Capitan Motel

Property: El Capitan Motel
Address: 1300 E Historic Highway 66, Gallup, NM 87301-4994
Region: United States > New Mexico > Gallup
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 34 Hotels in Gallup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — El Capitan Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your El Capitan Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing