We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bill Malone Trading Company

Bill Malone Trading Company
Ranked #2 of 12 things to do in Gallup
Attraction details
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
231 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Bill is knowledgeable and very honest. His prices are fair and every case is full of beautiful peices. The rugs are amazing. If you come through Gallup it would be a shame to miss this store. If you are looking for authenticity then Bills is the place for you.

Helpful?
3 Thank mattaprylhaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    5
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
607 reviews
193 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“Fair and honest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Interesting selection of Indian art, especially woven goods, also some very nice Kachina dolls. I purchase a beautiful carved walking stick that the Trading Company mailed to Atlanta since it was too big to fly with us on the plane. They know their business and will work with you any way that they can.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ballhawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“An education in Navajo weaving”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We visited the Bill Malone's store based on a recommendation from a gallery owner in Santa Fe. It involved a detour, but was worth it! We met Mr. Malone and two of his daughters. Mr. Malone is a local and has lived in the region and knows Navajo craft...I mean, KNOWS!

He gave us an education in the styles of Navajor weaving, showing us representative samples of several styles - Ganado, Klagatoh, Two Grey Hills, eye-dazzler, Burntwater, Chinle. By the time we left, we too felt like experts! We bought a gorgeous Ganado storm-pattern rug, at an extraordinarily fair price, and complete with information on the weaver. Mr. Malone may not have the inventory of some other stores in Gallup, but we found the quality of his goods to be impeccable. Also, there was no pressure to make a purchase. Several of his family who were in the store, took the time to indulge our (sometimes dumb) questions. They topped it off with a great restaurant recommendation too!

There is clear passion for the art that they deal in. If you have time, Mr. Malone may share some his storied from his decades working with the Navajo. A previous review is titled "honest and well-priced Navajo art". It couldnt have been worded better.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank ivv_vin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalispell, Montana
Level Contributor
522 reviews
202 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 770 helpful votes
“Honest and Well Priced Navajo Art In A Busy Tourist Hub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Bill Malone, himself will help you with anything sold in his Gallup Trading Post. His experience with Navajo weavings and their history is unparalleled. This is not a place to buy inexpensive souvenirs and t-shirts but to acquire Navajo art at extremely fair prices…both for you and the Navajos who created the art. Equity for the Navajo artist, honesty and the humbleness of Mr. Malone are reasons why making a stop at Malone's will be an educational experience. Bill's shop is not ritzy and sometimes the stock is limited…but what is there at any one time is really good. By the way there are some small, inexpensive items too, they are simply not from China like so many other shops.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank MaryEllenM27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Quality rugs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We visited Mr. Malone's store this week. He is a very nice, gentle, knowledgeable man. His rug prices were very reasonable compared to other stores in the area. The rug we bought is beautiful and of high quality. We were honored to meet Mr. Malone, a legend in Native American trading. If you are in the area, a visit to this store is a must!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank iu92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bill Malone Trading Company also viewed

 

Been to Bill Malone Trading Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing