We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a happy camper”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Gallup
Ranked #26 of 35 Hotels in Gallup
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I selected the hotel, since the hotel was the host hotel for Gallup Pride, which I was more than happy to give business to. Once I checked in, everything seemed fine, until I was ready to go to bed aroudn 1am, after the after hours festiviteis from Gallup Pride. To my surprise, there was a bug strolling on my pillow --- ewww and disgusting, which literally turned me off about the place. I pulled the bed away from the wall and noticed the carpet has never been cleaned or vaccuumed, which was another turn off. I called the front desk to report the problem and the lady was polite, but it was also her first night working alone, which was very interesting. I changed rooms, but dreamt about bed bugs all night long and literally slept with one eye open. While eating breakfast, I overheard one of the other guest say, "The meal is cold, but the juices are warm - what's wrong with this picture?" Upon check out, I was refunded half of my money and demanded to speak with the manager, but was informed not until Monday. The young lady was rude and very unpleasant with poor customer service. I informed Gallup Pride Board members of this incident and plan to stay far away from this hotel, on my next visit to Gallup.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trudie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan H, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

I am so sorry that you experienced problems at the hotel. Everyone with the Gay Pride was extremely happy. I did not hear anything regarding any problems until I read you review. However, we did have the room checked and there was no signs of any insects in the room. The exterminator found no indication of the room ever having any type of insects in it.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Katherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Joan H, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 July 2012

The beds were clean but the room is in need of repairs. A bottle of Old English would go a long way to at least improving the first appearance. No hot water for the shower or in the sinks that didn't drain. Non- smoking room but the mattress smelled of smoke. Red Lion is not for me.

Room Tip: rooms on higher floor may not have such a strong smell of chlorine from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lois B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan H, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Thank you for your review. I have spoken with our maintenance staff regarding the pool smell, this was investigated and the pool had been shocked that day, this is the only reason we can think of that the smell was so strong.

Thank you for you for letting us know about any problem you experienced. This is one way we can find out about any problem.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

After hearing about the freight trains in Gallup, I decided to book a room that faced the atrium-indoor pool in hope of a good night sleep. It was very quiet. I didn't notice any noise coming from the corridor, but the hotel was not very full. The room was very large and clean, the beds were very comfortable, and the a/c was quiet. The front desk and housekeeping staff were very friendly. The free breakfast is limited, but does offer more hot items than comparably priced motels. The main drawback is that it is located on the edge of town and not close to many restaurants. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ni4detail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan H, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Thank you so much for your review. We hope to see you next time you are in Gallup.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I should have realized something when I checked in. To begin with the lobby smelled horrible because of the indoor pool in the adjacent room. The door were propped open for the pool room, but should have been closed. The doors were also open during our entire stay.

The front desk staff were discourteous.

The room was really worn. Everything, the carpet, the really soft beds, the curtains, the towels (so small and really worn and thin).

The hotel is across the street from one of the major railway lines in the west.

Stay somewhere else

The breakfast was in the attached restaurant - really meager and not very good.

Room Tip: One of the worst hotels I have stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan H, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

I have read your comments and I am apologize for the problems you experienced. We usually get good reviews for our breakfast, however, I have shown the review to my kitchen staff and advised them to be more diligent with the food and be sure the burners are working.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

The only upsides of this hotel is that our room was clean and the beds were comfortable. Also the indoor pool is heated which was nice. I am confident I could have stayed somewhere less expensive and gotten a much better night's sleep.I experienced my worst night's sleep at a hotel at Red Lion Inn. I don't wake easily, but this hotel was so incredibly noisy (courtesy of the 1" gap beneath the hotel room door) that I continuously woke up throughout the night. I could hear other doors open and shut, and conversations taking place throughout the night (the most memorable being an long discussion in the hallway at 430am). I stayed on a Monday night in July, and the hotel wasn't exceptionally crowded-- just nonexistent soundproof around the hotel doors caused excessive outside noise levels inside the rooms.

When I was checking out I mentioned to the receptionist how the noise had prevented me from getting much sleep. The woman behind me in line chimed in agreement that she hardly slept too because it had been so noisy all night. They offered to give her some of her money back, but they told me they wouldn't do anything for me because I'd booked with Expedia.

An additional downfall was that my iPhone would not connect to the Internet (there was a signal, but the Internet is password protected and despite calling the front desk-- I still couldn't get access).

The shower in our room only output warm water at the hottest temperature setting. So if you like to take long hot showers, you'll likely be disappointed.

Breakfast is served from 6-9am. It was nothing special without much variety. The entire buffet menu consisted of: Scrambled eggs, bacon, grits, gravy and sausage, Danishes, toast, baby banana nut muffins, and a few types of cold cereal. There was no waffle maker, French toast, or pancakes

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Entlebuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

The web site makes this place look amazing, and the lobby is really nice. There is a smell when you first walk in that I couldn't figure out, I thought maybe it was a cleaning fluid. It is the pool. There is an inside pool just past the lobby and the smell must be the chlorine.

Driving up, the hotel looked older, not like the new shiny web site. It was disappointing. The rooms are older, but maintained pretty well. The restaurant was decent for dinner but the breakfast buffet was just awful.

Room Tip: Park outside your hotel room window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeggyfromChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gallup hotels
0.4 mi away
Knights Inn & Suites Gallup
3.0 mi away
No photo provided
Knights Inn Gallup East
#22 of 35 in Gallup
3 reviews
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gallup
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Royal Holiday Motel
Royal Holiday Motel
#16 of 35 in Gallup
100 reviews
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Gallup
Comfort Inn Gallup
#4 of 35 in Gallup
491 reviews
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn And Suites Gallup
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Gallup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Gallup

Address: 3009 W Historic Highway 66, Gallup, NM 87301-6813 (Formerly Gallup Inn & Suites)
Region: United States > New Mexico > Gallup
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 35 Hotels in Gallup
Price Range: £35 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Gallup 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Gallup is located in Gallup NM which is in the middle of the Navajo Nation, directly on Historic Route 66. Just moments away you will find the Red Rock State Park and Museums as well as Gallup Cultural Center. The property is located on the west side of Gallup off Exit 16: proceed then to Historic 66 eastbound for .25 Miles. The Red Lion Hotel Gallup features 126 guest rooms and suites featuring Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop bedding, premier bath amenities, complimentary wi-fi, in-room coffee, hair dryer, microwave, refrigerator, executive desk and chairs. Our beautiful full service hotel features New Mexico Steakhouse for delicious onsite dining. The Red Lion Hotel Gallup surrounds a beautiful garden atrium. The hotel features 9,000 square feet of meeting space that can accommodate up to 400 people. We also offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Gallup reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Gallup
Gallup Best Western
Best Western Gallup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing