We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“given the keys to an already occupied room!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Gallup
Ranked #26 of 35 Hotels in Gallup
Reviewed 8 September 2012

what an embarrassment, bursting in on 2 unsuspecting young women, both for them and us, lead me to believe the security was massively lacking, i returned to reception to get a new room and the staff didn't seem bothered, just handing me new keys. although the room was clean there is a bad smell around the hotel, and didn't get much sleep due to a lot of noise in the corridors all night long. now for the breakfast warm orange juice and cheap luke-warm and dried out buffet with very little selection, so much for the "Signature Roaring Start Breakfast" i would recommend staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rvr4lf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan H, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

The guest did the review prior to speaking with the management. The hotel was sold out, this is not a reason for what happened. However, when they did speak with me I gave a full refund for the night a sincerely apologized for what happened.

The guest left happy because they told me that in England the management did not care about hearing anything negative and would not do anything for a unhappy guest. I laughed and told them we always try to make our guests happy and remedy our mistakes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
There are newer reviews for Red Lion Hotel Gallup
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2012

The hotel its self was very nice. The rooms were clean, and the staff was friendly. There are some other reviews that say otherwise, but I did not see any such things on my trip. The only thing I have to say about the hotel that is negative, it the restaurant. I can't speak for everything on the menu, but the nachos and the enchiladas were horrible. Didn't even finish them horrible. No seasoning what so ever on the ground beef with the nachos and the chips were even unsalted. The enchiladas were the same. No flavor what so ever. I am not sure how much control the hotel has over the restaurant but all I can say is stay away from it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lansing_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan H, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Thank you for your response to our hotel. We welcome both kind comments and constructive comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We booked through priceline, which meant that we had no say in a smoking/nonsmoking room, but the hotel was able to accommodate our request for a non-smoking room upon check-in. That's about the only good thing about this stay.

When we got to the room, it reeked of cigarette smoke. We always travel with room spray, so we gave the room a heavy dose, turned on the AC to help circulate the air, and hoped that we'd sleep through it. We had to place a blanket at the bottom of the door to help muffle the sound of doors slamming and to block the light.

Amazingly, we slept well.

In the morning, as I was making sure that we had packed everything, I found staples in our sheets. Staples! (see attached pictures) On my way down to breakfast I stopped by the front desk to let someone know that there were staples in the bedding. The worker simply said that she'd tell the manager on Monday. She never asked me my name or what room I was in. When I offered her this info, she jotted it down on a piece of paper and said she'd pass it along.

Breakfast was okay. Nothing great, but not the worst I've ever eaten.

Upon checking out, I brought up the staples again, gave my phone number, and was assured that the manager would get the message on Monday.

Two weeks later, I still hadn't heard from anyone so I sent an email. The response I received was condescending and basically accused me of making up my complaint in order to get a free night's stay, but they would give me one anyway.

Even for free, I will not be staying here again, nor should anyone else.

I did reply to their response (twice, because they claimed to not have received the first one), explaining exactly where the staples were and what they were in, so hopefully no one else will have the same experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan H, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

The pictures taken is not our hotel. We have no linen that has any type of blue line on it. We have checked out entire housekeeping department and spoke with each housekeeper. I do not know where these staples came from, however, they did not come from The Red Lion Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We arrived before check in time but front desk would not assign the room even when we explained to her we would come in very late at night after the night performances of the Gallup Intertribal Ceremonies. She would not even look at you when spoken to. The night front desk was not very nice either. The side parking lot is poorly lit. There is a very strong humid smell throughout the hotel because of the indoor pool but it is also noticeable inside the room. The two electrical outlets I tried to use to charge my cell phone did not work. The bathroom sinks are extremely low (only good for small children). Only nice thing I can say about this hotel is the breakfast. Price is too high for what you get.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALICENW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We were delightfully pleased at our stay. The room was clean, large enough, really enjoyed having two sinks--one outside the bathroom area. The free breakfast each morning was hot and delicious, buffet style. The indoor pool area was beautiful with the live trees. We had guests to join us for a swim and they were treated graciously. Really appreciated the warmth and assistance from Adriana and Joan. They were ready and available for our every need greeting us as if we were special. Really enjoyed the stay and plan to stay at this Red Lion every time we go to Gallup.

Room Tip: We had a room near the front desk and that had advantages of being close to the restaurant. Next ti...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SharonJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan H, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We have put a lot of time and training into our front desk and I am happy this training is apparent.

We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I selected the hotel, since the hotel was the host hotel for Gallup Pride, which I was more than happy to give business to. Once I checked in, everything seemed fine, until I was ready to go to bed aroudn 1am, after the after hours festiviteis from Gallup Pride. To my surprise, there was a bug strolling on my pillow --- ewww and disgusting, which literally turned me off about the place. I pulled the bed away from the wall and noticed the carpet has never been cleaned or vaccuumed, which was another turn off. I called the front desk to report the problem and the lady was polite, but it was also her first night working alone, which was very interesting. I changed rooms, but dreamt about bed bugs all night long and literally slept with one eye open. While eating breakfast, I overheard one of the other guest say, "The meal is cold, but the juices are warm - what's wrong with this picture?" Upon check out, I was refunded half of my money and demanded to speak with the manager, but was informed not until Monday. The young lady was rude and very unpleasant with poor customer service. I informed Gallup Pride Board members of this incident and plan to stay far away from this hotel, on my next visit to Gallup.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trudie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan H, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

I am so sorry that you experienced problems at the hotel. Everyone with the Gay Pride was extremely happy. I did not hear anything regarding any problems until I read you review. However, we did have the room checked and there was no signs of any insects in the room. The exterminator found no indication of the room ever having any type of insects in it.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Katherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Joan H, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gallup hotels
3.0 mi away
No photo provided
Knights Inn Gallup East
#22 of 35 in Gallup
2 reviews
0.4 mi away
Knights Inn & Suites Gallup
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gallup
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Royal Holiday Motel
Royal Holiday Motel
#16 of 35 in Gallup
97 reviews
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gallup
0.3 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#1 of 2 in Gallup
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Gallup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Gallup

Address: 3009 W Historic Highway 66, Gallup, NM 87301-6813 (Formerly Gallup Inn & Suites)
Region: United States > New Mexico > Gallup
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 35 Hotels in Gallup
Price Range: £34 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Gallup 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Gallup is located in Gallup NM which is in the middle of the Navajo Nation, directly on Historic Route 66. Just moments away you will find the Red Rock State Park and Museums as well as Gallup Cultural Center. The property is located on the west side of Gallup off Exit 16: proceed then to Historic 66 eastbound for .25 Miles. The Red Lion Hotel Gallup features 126 guest rooms and suites featuring Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop bedding, premier bath amenities, complimentary wi-fi, in-room coffee, hair dryer, microwave, refrigerator, executive desk and chairs. Our beautiful full service hotel features New Mexico Steakhouse for delicious onsite dining. The Red Lion Hotel Gallup surrounds a beautiful garden atrium. The hotel features 9,000 square feet of meeting space that can accommodate up to 400 people. We also offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Gallup reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Gallup
Gallup Best Western
Best Western Gallup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing