We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Gallup
Ranked #26 of 35 Hotels in Gallup
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We booked this hotel for a six night stay during the Natl Jr High Rodeo Finals ... We initially had several people tell us not to stay on this side of town, but due to expenses we decided to try it. The girl in reception, I think her name was Ashley, was very friendly and helpful the several times I talked to her. We found no problem on the west side of town, and just being four girls we felt safe and enjoyed our stay. No train noise and a convenient location. The hotel is certainly older, but our room was clean, roomy, and comfortable. There is no elevator, but only two floors, and stairs were not a problem. The hot breakfast that was included was good I thought, we never tried the restaurant though so can't say about that. The indoor pool was not the best, our teenage girls said it was pretty slick on the bottom and water was cloudy, but I think indoor pools are iffy anyway. The maid staff was very friendly and helpful. If you are expecting a 5 star hotel for this price then you will be disappointed, but if you just need moderate but clean accommodations I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jilld776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuck E, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Thank you so much for your time and compliments. We are happy your stay was positive. We look forward to you and your family returning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013

This was pre booked for us as part of travelling along route 66. Had we known the hotel prior to coming here I would have stayed elsewhere.
The hotel itself is located on the main road which isn't a problem as there is hardly any traffic and Gallup is so quiet. The receptionist upon arrival was polite and we chose a ground floor room. The interior decor badly needs updating but the air con in the room was very quiet. We chose not to swim in the pool as there was a sign mentioning previous users had experienced rashes so decided against that. There is Mexican restaurant on site but we chose to eat elsewhere.

Breakfast was mediocre and the bacon was not properly cooked. This hotel needs some money spent on the decor and some sort of entertainment as there is very little to do in Gallup.

This hotel is fine if it's a last resort and you just need some sleep

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room and it was big enough but outdated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iliketurkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuck E, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Thank you for your comments. I am glad you got a good night's rest. I did show the comments to both of my breakfast cooks and they were instructed on how to be sure the bacon was cooked properly in the future. Again, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We are only staying the night. Rooms were available and there is a good reason why. The lady at the front desk seemed very disinterested in a customers need of a bath plug while checking us in. We got a nonsmoking room and the first thing we found was a dead cricket in the bathtub. The sinks and drains are starting to rust and you can smell it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuck E, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

I am so sorry about the cricket you found. Due to the weather conditions in Gallup, being dry there is always a chance that grasshoppers and crickets will get in. We immeidately evict them to the outside, but sometime they are just not happy out in the heat. I thank you for your time on giving us your thoughts about the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Found this recommended on Expedia and booked a queen room with full breakfast included. On arrival, the 2 reception staff were very disinterested and advised they were short staffed so rooms were not all ready. They offered an upstairs room or a 1-2 hour wait, so we accepted the "ready" room, which was a smoking room. Everything rather tired and dated and the previous guest had left tissue paper in the door jam to stop it knocking in the wind. The pool was ok but not very clean, same said for the surrounding areas, one in particular littered with empty cups? Laundry facility wasn't working so we had to use one over the road. When we went to reception early evening to ask about the nearby rodeo, a new staff member was on duty who was far more enthusiastic and helpful. Included full breakfast was ok, but the adjacent washroom was one of the worst encountered on this current trip.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaunalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuck E, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

I am sorry you found our laundry room was not working. Gallup is not well known for being able to purchase items to make repairs on appliances. We have to order the part and wait for the delivery. We had the part on order and the repair was made immediately. Thank you for your time and comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We stayed here on our 1st night of a 13 day vacation and the last night. This hotel has an indoor pool (great idea) except the noise level is unbearable. Pool hours are until 10:00 PM, children playing in the pool screaming, yelling etc. makes sleeping or resting almost impossible. On our last morning there we went @ 8:00 AM to enjoy the hot complimentary breakfast and there was no hot food available. We were told by an employee that he had been off work and he guessed no one order any food. We wrote to the hotel manager and she explained that she is responsible for ordering the food and the delivery truck was 5 hours late. Well, that didn't feed us or the other dozen or more people who had expected to have a hot complimentary breakfast. Can't believe that they don't have a standing order with a local company for their food supplies or at least more than 1 day supply, we're not talking 7 course meal. Overheard the front desk clerk mention they were expecting a tour group the next day, heaven help them. Basically she blew us off, also explained she saw no problem in the pool hours and that children should be allowed to use the pool till 10:00PM. Front desk employees need more training & attitude adjustment advised, but after the response we received back from the local manager that may explain a lot.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuck E, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

I am very sorry for your problems at the hotel. I can promise you the experience you had is not the usual for breakfast. We do have a standing order for food, which is every 3 days, however, we have no control on the delivery time.
I understand your complaint about children in the pool until 10 P.M., however these are families that are traveing and the children really enjoy swimming, we have made our pool hours according to most guests requests.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Stayed for three days. It was nice. Hotel staff was friendly. Hotel housekeeping never seemed to have enough towels. The hot tub did not work properly. Breakfast was fine & started at 6am. The adjoining restaurant was actually quite good. And the price was competitive.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marutiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuck E, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Thank you so much for your positive comments. My staff and I appreciate our guest letting us know when we have exceeding their expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I had made our reservation through an online booking company and realized as I checked in that I had mistakenly made the reservation for the day before! The desk clerk was very helpful in negotiating with the online company to reinstate my reservation for that night without an extra charge. Thank you.

We had eaten a very late lunch in Winslow AZ and were not hungry enough to order dinner at the hotel and didn't want to go out. So we had a generous glass of wine in the bar and ordered a "snack" which turned out to be a mountain of chips and salsa with sour cream and guacamole. Perfect.

We topped off the night by relaxing in the hot tub and wandering off to our quiet, spacious room for a good night's sleep in a comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoadrunnersNewMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuck E, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

I don't believe in "mistakes", I think our hotel was the best for you and therefore, "your mistake" guided you. So I am very happy your stay was more than you expected.

Thank you so much from my staff and I, you made our day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gallup hotels
0.4 mi away
Knights Inn & Suites Gallup
3.0 mi away
No photo provided
Knights Inn Gallup East
#22 of 35 in Gallup
3 reviews
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gallup
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Royal Holiday Motel
Royal Holiday Motel
#16 of 35 in Gallup
100 reviews
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Gallup
Comfort Inn Gallup
#4 of 35 in Gallup
491 reviews
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn And Suites Gallup
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Gallup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Gallup

Address: 3009 W Historic Highway 66, Gallup, NM 87301-6813 (Formerly Gallup Inn & Suites)
Region: United States > New Mexico > Gallup
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 35 Hotels in Gallup
Price Range: £35 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Gallup 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Gallup is located in Gallup NM which is in the middle of the Navajo Nation, directly on Historic Route 66. Just moments away you will find the Red Rock State Park and Museums as well as Gallup Cultural Center. The property is located on the west side of Gallup off Exit 16: proceed then to Historic 66 eastbound for .25 Miles. The Red Lion Hotel Gallup features 126 guest rooms and suites featuring Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop bedding, premier bath amenities, complimentary wi-fi, in-room coffee, hair dryer, microwave, refrigerator, executive desk and chairs. Our beautiful full service hotel features New Mexico Steakhouse for delicious onsite dining. The Red Lion Hotel Gallup surrounds a beautiful garden atrium. The hotel features 9,000 square feet of meeting space that can accommodate up to 400 people. We also offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Gallup reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Gallup
Gallup Best Western
Best Western Gallup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing