We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh dear!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Gallup
Ranked #24 of 35 Hotels in Gallup
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Oh dear!”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We were booked into this hotel as part of a group so had no option but to stay here. We changed rooms twice due to the stench of cigarettes in the rooms, foul!
The hotel is tired looking and really in need of a complete refurb or just bulldozing.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dionna D, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this review, 27 October 2014
thank you for your comments. i apologize that you were issued a smoking room. we do our best to accomodate our guests. Our groups are suppose to be issued non smoking rooms. i will take your comments back to our group sales rep and insure that in the future all groups are issued non smoking rooms. we are doing our best to refurbish our hotel and ammenities. however, this will take some time to accomplish. thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    42
    45
    35
    43
See reviews for
50
48
10
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Pathetic attempt to be a decent hotel. Rooms have paper walls, front desk puts people beside you to make noise at 10 pm when the parking lot is nearly empty. Treadmill from 1990s doesnt work. Its a cheapy hotel with a nice new sign.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeeklyTraveler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gallup hotels

Thatcher, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed for one night at the Red Lion and it was not a pleasant experience. We went to our suite and turned on the air conditioning (it was 82 degrees when we entered). Within 15 minutes it was 85 degrees!!!! My traveling went to the front desk and told them the problem and they said maintenance would be called. After about 10 minutes I went to the front desk, no maintenance had arrived and it was getting hotter. The girl at the front desk was helpful and contacted maintenance immediately. We waited in the lobby. After speaking with maintenance she said that we could change rooms and were given a choice of three. Since we would have to move our luggage we chose the closer two doors down. We had driven from Taos and were hot and tired. The air conditioning worked in the new suite but there were large stains on the carpet and a large stain on the sofa. There was no refund for the inconvenience though the girl at the desk was very nice. Would never stay here again!!!!

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here in the summer ask if they could turn on the air conditioning before yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuck E, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let me know the problem you had at our hotel last night. I had the situation checked out this morning, I am sorry that you had to change rooms. We are in the process of cleaning all of our furniture,
Again, thank you for bringing this to my attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2013

But if money is not an issue, go elsewhere. The rooms smell of mildew and don't walk in your white socks in the rooms for they will turn gray. The hot tub does not have a switch for the jets. The pool was great though. The breakfast was your usual hotel breakfast. The staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdmjunkee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
272 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Having read the reviews we were apprehensive about our one night stay here. However, we had a really positive experience. The room was very spacious. Everything was spotlessly clean including the carpet, bed linens and towels. The breakfast was excellent with a great choice of both hot and cold options. All staff were helpful and polite.

Room Tip: Always choose a top floor and one with an outside view in preference to one overlooking the indoor p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoJoTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuck E, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you so much for time in rating us on Trip Advisor. We are always happy to "surprise" our guest in a good way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KENNEWICK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I had read the previous reviews, which were all pretty bad, but decided the stay could not be as bad as the previous reviewers had said. I was wrong. Please read the reviews and realize that the people writing them are just like you and me. They have nothing to gain by what they write, but are merely trying to share their experience.
My experience was not that great. One of the previous reviewers titled the Red Lion, Gallup as lonely. After staying there I would have to agree, but I think my word would be Unloved.
This is a great piece of real estate. The floor plans and the layout are amazing, but the upkeep and care are missing. I felt like I had walked into a very unloved world.
When we entered our room we realized that the air conditioner had not been turned on. The thermostat registered 90 degrees. We turned on the air and went to dinner. By 10 pm it had improved significantly, but it was still at 76 degrees which made it difficult to sleep.
We were not able to get Internet connection in our room. I called the Front Desk and the Receptionist, nicely, explained that our lack of connection was due to the concrete walls. She offered to reboot the modem, but we saw no difference.
I didn't experience any excessive filth, but the legs from the couch were missing. Not a big thing, but just one of those little things that annoyed me. It showed that the rooms were just left to be treated badly by the next guest and that no one really cared.
I would not stay at this hotel if I visited Gallup again, but then again there are not a lot of hotels in Gallup. We are smokers and this decreases our chance of getting a nice hotel. If I visit Gallup again, though, I will take my chances and hope to find a happier and better loved facility.

Room Tip: Stay as close to the Front Desk and Lobby area as possible if you need Internet access during your s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denmother4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuck E, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
I am very sorry that we did not perform the we should have. I took your comments very seriously and I am taking steps to be sure future stays are up to your standards, as well as all of our other guests.

Thank you for taking the time to respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peachtree Corners, GA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Our travel agent made a mistake so when we got to our destination there was no room available. Thankfully Red Lion had a room and as it turned out was much nicer than the motel we were supposed to be booked in. Great breakfast with eggs, sausage, waffles, cereals, etc. quiet large rooms with plenty of space. A nice restaurant and bar on site. Would definitely recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Better not to get a room adjoining the pool because some swimmers can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank santafake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuck E, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you so much. I am sorry your travel agent messed up, but I am so happy we were able make you feel welcome and comfortable. Please stay with us on your next trip through Gallup.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gallup hotels
0.4 mi away
Knights Inn & Suites Gallup
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gallup
2.5 mi away
Royal Holiday Motel
Royal Holiday Motel
#16 of 35 in Gallup
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Gallup
Red Roof Inn Gallup
#13 of 35 in Gallup
438 reviews
7.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Red Rock-Gallup
3.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gallup
SpringHill Suites Gallup
#11 of 35 in Gallup
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Gallup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Gallup

Property: Red Lion Hotel Gallup
Address: 3009 W Historic Highway 66, Gallup, NM 87301-6813 (Formerly Gallup Inn & Suites)
Region: United States > New Mexico > Gallup
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 35 Hotels in Gallup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Gallup 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Gallup is located in Gallup NM which is in the middle of the Navajo Nation, directly on Historic Route 66. Just moments away you will find the Red Rock State Park and Museums as well as Gallup Cultural Center. The property is located on the west side of Gallup off Exit 16: proceed then to Historic 66 eastbound for .25 Miles. The Red Lion Hotel Gallup features 126 guest rooms and suites featuring Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop bedding, premier bath amenities, complimentary wi-fi, in-room coffee, hair dryer, microwave, refrigerator, executive desk and chairs. Our beautiful full service hotel features New Mexico Steakhouse for delicious onsite dining. The Red Lion Hotel Gallup surrounds a beautiful garden atrium. The hotel features 9,000 square feet of meeting space that can accommodate up to 400 people. We also offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Gallup reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Gallup
Gallup Best Western
Best Western Gallup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing