We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hotel in 35 years!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Gallup
Ranked #25 of 35 Hotels in Gallup
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Too many to count... the internet did not work!!! It was imperative I had internet as I was dealing with VERY difficult issues in China. I was told after paying 70 a night for a room to come work in the lobby!!! ? If thats the case why have a room?

The heater never got the room up to a reasonable temperature! It was 27 outside and probably 55 in the room!

I told the front desk 3 times about the internet. They looked at their cell phones and said "it's working", and went back about their business. The 4th time I told them about the internt they told me the hotel is made of concrete DUH!! and that the internet does not work well in the room! Then why doesnt management fix it, when shold tht be my problem? I could go to McDonalds and use WI-FI! I have been to much larger hotels and I found this to be a totally unacceptable answer.

I was working with China until 4:30 AM I had the "do not disturb" sign on the door. At 8:30 in the morning I get a call on my room phone telling me I had to leave the hotel by 1 pm! No reason WHY! I was originally planing to stay 3 days. Others in my party were given referals to a hotel next door, that was even more sub par than the Red Lion.

I was planning to leave anyway due to the completely unacceptable service of thie hotel.. no resturant open, the bar was closed, we had snacks from the vending machines.

Upon checkout, I was given my room charges for over 70 dollars, I told them are you serious no heat , no internet, and you have the nerve to charge me for the full cost of the room? The staff did not call the manager out... she asked for my email address and said they would review my bill. Needless to say by the tone of this survey in 35 years of travel, have I ever been to such a below standard hotel. I spend over 150 days a year on the road. One would expect with a Red Lion name on the building that a level of expectation should come with this. They really let me down on this one!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

wow I'm so sorry to here that your stay here was that bad sir well are place is running amazing right now that I'm the new GM here and things here have been really good and improved on. so please come back and see us and I'll make sure your stay is great.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

The room was very clean and well stocked. All the amenities worked well.The hotel is dated, the upgrades were sloppy, I thought I was going to fall through the bathtub. Our remote didnt work and was told to wait for maintenance in the morning. For a nonsmoking building, many smoked at the doorways or in the corridors, smelling up the room most of the night (we were midway on the second floor). I give this stay a 6/10.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Geraldine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan H, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Thank you for the review. We do appreciate all guest feed back. I am very sorry for the problems you experienced at our hotel. I did inform both front desk and maintenance about this review and we have discussed the problem. I sure hope you give us a second chance if you ever stop in Gallup in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

I thought this hotel would be improved once Red Lion bought it but I guess not! Internet connection is always bad! The hallways smell funny and the restaurant is slow and always play that horrible rock music.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilsonwilliams31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan H, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank you for the feedback. Our guest feedback is very important to us. I am sorry for the problems you experienced at the hotel. I have had a discussion with the restaurant staff about this matter. I really hope you give us another chance in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We first booked through Hotels .com and when we arrived to the hotel, our reservation wasn't in the system. Hotels .com had told us our room was the last one left (not true) and that the price we were getting through them was 20% lower than the walk-up price. Upon our arrival, after the desk clerk said we did not have a reservation, we booked directly through the hotel -- at a lower rate. Later, when we learned we did indeed have two reservations, the desk clerk took care of everything, making sure we did not charged twice. And, we did get the lower rate! Wonderful. It was a little wierd -- she kept calling us "Dear" and "Doll", but for what she saved us in time and money by getting our reservation straightened out, I can live with that!

The rooms are updated and the bed and bedding look new and lovely. The hotel layout is very spacious -- it resembles the old Holidome style, with the pool and recreation area in the center of the hotel. Because there is no family-oriented recreation besides the pool and hot tub in the courtyard area (it has been re-imagined with seating areas and many trees) it is very quiet (unlike the old Holidomes). My 18 year old son was disappointed the hotel did not have ping-pong or foosball tables like the old Holidomes once did.

The hotel smells clean and fresh, the decor is updated/upscale, and the carpet looks clean. I never smelled any evidence of pets (and I am very picky about that). The only thing I didn't like about this hotel is the food in the "steak house" restaurant on the property. I ordered a Ceasar salad to go that was so mushy (as if it had sat in salad dressing for 15 hours, which it might have), it almost looked like saag paneer. I threw it out, because the restaurant was closed five minutes after I picked it up, and I couldn't get my money back. How can someone screw up Ceasar salad?

The building was a little on the cold side for me, but I can only imagine how expensive it must be to heat a converted Holidome! Plus, I get cold easier than most.

The location is pretty dull. There are other 2 and 3 star hotels in the immediate area, and the city is known for its refineries. Enough said on that.

All in all, a great value for what we paid. I'd recommend it to business travelers on a budget, families, and groups of friends. If you want romance, there are fancier places than this (but you'd pay a lot more, too).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njcronk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan H, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you for the nice compliments. We always want to see our guests "stay happy".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Gallup is the "half way" point of a two day semi annual trip. We have stayed at the Red Lion in Gallup. It is clean, spacious, affordable, pet friendly and has a hot multi item breakfast. The Red Lion in Gallup is a former "dome" motel with an enclosed swimming pool. I suppose it was built in the 80"s when that was the rage. But present owners have taken very good care of it.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank chasmolicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan H, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you for your time. We appreciate knowing we are keeping our guests happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We got in the "hot tub" which was warm.Having a hot tub for 30yrs I can tell with in 1 degree the temperature and it was 98, maybe 99. We went back to the room and my wife sat down on a bed ( two queen room) and it gave way. She is not heavy. The maintenance man came and couldn't fix it so we were moved to another room which was closer to the lobby. We could not get Wi-fi in the our room or in the restraunt which is 75 feet from the router. In leaving I left my shaving kit and called back on Thurs. afternoon and was told it was there but would have to call back Friday and talk to someone else. I called Friday and gave the information to them and they would turn it over to UPS and they would call and confirm. Monday afternoon Oct 7, the UPS store in Gallup finally called and I am waiting for my package. The service in the restraunt was also bad, but I don't think they are part of the hotel.

Room Tip: Don't stop here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan H, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

I am sorry you had problems during your stay. Our staff reads the reviews daily and check on the items that are mentioned. I hope you will give us another chance next time you come through Gallup. Our hope is to make each guest a happy and returning guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Pros: Convenient to the highway, decently appointed clean room, large indoor "courtyard" with swimming pool. Quiet area of town and quiet room. Free breakfast. Pets allowed. Great value, and met the star rating.

Cons: The only food vending machine I could find is by the front desk. It's about 1/4 mile walk through the hallways from where my room was. Also, there are entrances on the back sides of the building that are not locked, and no security cameras. This was a security concern.

Overall: I have stayed in the Red Lion in both Gallup and Grants multiple times and always return when traveling between New Mexico and Arizona on I40. The two locations are very similar. The price is excellent for the star rating and they are solid. Not perfect, occasionally some issues, but a good value for the money, especially when you use Express Deals or name your own price on Priceline. I have had much worse experiences at the same star rating at other hotels.

Room Tip: Rooms on the exterior give an outside view. Rooms that face the interior give a view of the pool are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LW26102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan H, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We so much appreciate your time in letting us know what we are doing correctly. We were glad to hear you are a repeat guest at Grants and Gallup.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gallup hotels
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gallup
0.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Gallup
Red Roof Inn Gallup
#14 of 35 in Gallup
468 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Gallup-West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Gallup
Comfort Suites Gallup
#6 of 35 in Gallup
453 reviews
5.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Gallup Inn & Suites
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Gallup
Comfort Inn Gallup
#5 of 35 in Gallup
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Gallup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Gallup

Address: 3009 W Historic Highway 66, Gallup, NM 87301-6813 (Formerly Gallup Inn & Suites)
Region: United States > New Mexico > Gallup
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 35 Hotels in Gallup
Price Range: £35 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Gallup 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Gallup is located in Gallup NM which is in the middle of the Navajo Nation, directly on Historic Route 66. Just moments away you will find the Red Rock State Park and Museums as well as Gallup Cultural Center. The property is located on the west side of Gallup off Exit 16: proceed then to Historic 66 eastbound for .25 Miles. The Red Lion Hotel Gallup features 126 guest rooms and suites featuring Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop bedding, premier bath amenities, complimentary wi-fi, in-room coffee, hair dryer, microwave, refrigerator, executive desk and chairs. Our beautiful full service hotel features New Mexico Steakhouse for delicious onsite dining. The Red Lion Hotel Gallup surrounds a beautiful garden atrium. The hotel features 9,000 square feet of meeting space that can accommodate up to 400 people. We also offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Gallup reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Gallup
Gallup Best Western
Best Western Gallup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing