We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPERB VALUE and very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Gallup
Ranked #26 of 35 Hotels in Gallup
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is the second year I have stayed at this hotel, each stay has been for a week. The hotel has recently undergone some major renovations and seem to still be going through some minor adjustment but very clean and very very very comfortable. The staff has been very nice and accommodating in all things that I saw and experienced. It is important to note that a full hot breakfast is served each morning and it was included in the room price. On Saturday, the breakfast was made to order and not steam-table. If you are going to be in Gallup, this Hotel is one that I highly recommend and will stay there again next year when I go back.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Rakey57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dionna D, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

We want to thank you for choosing to stay at the Red Lion and let you know that we appreciate the feed back you have given us. we will be sharing this information with our team members.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

Our room was large, the beds clean and comfortable. The staff was pleasant and the overall experience was very nice, with a better than usual Continental breakfast. The indoor pool was large and the water warm,(if a little murky). The hot tub wasn't working. That was probably the most disappointing thing. The TV set wasn't very good, but the room had a mini-fridge and a microwave.
This isn't a Hilton. It's an overnight rest, so don't expect it to full-fill all your vacation needs. But I've spent a lot more money on crappy, smelly rooms with uncomfortable beds and rowdy neighbors. This was a friendly,cheap, comfortable rest from the road.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank yancy357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dionna D, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know how we are doing. If you are in the neighborhood again, please let us know. we love having you here

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This hotel was a Best Western and was taken over approx. two years ago. They still don't have their act together. As a Red Lion Club Member I was disappointed. The cook and bartender failed to show up for work, thus no food or drink. The only food within walking distance is a Taco Bell and a sandwich/donut shop.
The wallpaper in the bathroom was peeling off the wall and the light fixture was missing it's cover. Lamps were missing bulbs or were burned out. WI-FI did not work in the room, only by the pool or lobby. Hot tub was out of order.
We stayed there mid-week and was sent done the street to the next hotel, Gallup Inn, and their restaurant and lounge are only open on Friday's and Saturdays . They should have been aware of this if they're going to send their customers somewhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

sorry your stay was that bad i'll make sure to look in to what haeened ok again soory for your bad stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We recently stayed here for one night and I must say, we were quite impressed with the lovely room! It was clean and quiet. The housekeeping staff were polite and friendly. The pool was great! Nice size and warm. The hot tub, however, wasn't working and it closed pretty early... Closed at 9pm, a little disappointing for my daughter. The wifi, my spouse had no trouble logging on and staying connected... For some reason, my iPad wasn't connecting... So used my spouse's iPad... The location wasn't fun, the hotel is situated pretty far from town. The restaurants nearby didn't look appealing so we had to drive clear across town to find a nice place to eat. Shopping and movie theater was pretty far, too. Overall, it was a nice hotel. Just a few things that bugged us but we slept good! haha

Room Tip: Bottom floor was great! No noise coming from above or next door! AC in all rooms, not noisy at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Am L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Glad you enjoyed your stay . some apple products have trouble logging on to our wifi I don't know why . but I'm glad you liked your stay hope to see you back soo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

My stay at the redlion was great. The morning staff was the best breakfast was amazing the cook came out and asked us how we were doing wich was very nice, the morning server made sure he did anything possible to make my wife and i were happy when she asked him for decaffeinated coffee he brought out a fresh cup specially for her! the food was amazing it was plated and fresh my family loved it not to mention i loved the music they were listening too! i made sure to get their names so there was no confusion . Fernando was the cook and shawn was the server they are very kind employees and i will definitely be back just because of them! Thanks for ur kind staff!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clara v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

I'm very glad you enjoyed you stay we hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Staying with my 91 year old mother in law and wife with 2 bad knees. Was told the only room was upstairs with no elevator. The room was not what I would expect from Red Lion, very mediocre. For breakfast the eggs were cold, the waffles were cold and hard. Order from room service of sandwiches took 1 hour to be delivered.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank DeweyBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

I'm sorry this has happened to you I will be looking into this right away!
please except my apologies for the poor service you had. again I'm so sorry
have a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This place is a DUMP! Stay somewhere else.
1. Showed up at 1pm to see if rooms might be available. Front desk clerk said they might be but if we checked in prior to 3pm she had to charge an extra $25 per room. WHAT???? I have been traveling for 30 years and have never heard of that rule.
2. Checked in: lobby smelled like sewage coming from the men's room. Room was 100 degrees and a/c did not work. Phone did not work. Changed rooms. Phone still did not work. Both bathroom light fixtures missing covers. TV remote did not work. No ice or vending on my floor. No elevator.
I will never stay here again!

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrTurtleGambler505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Gallup, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

I'm sorry your stay was that bad here , I'm looking into the last few days and I'm not happy myself so things will change here real fast .
I'm sorry again ( but I will take of this) .have a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gallup hotels
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gallup
0.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Gallup
Red Roof Inn Gallup
#14 of 35 in Gallup
471 reviews
8.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Gallup
Comfort Suites Gallup
#7 of 35 in Gallup
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Gallup-West
8.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Gallup
8.5 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#9 of 35 in Gallup
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Gallup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Gallup

Address: 3009 W Historic Highway 66, Gallup, NM 87301-6813 (Formerly Gallup Inn & Suites)
Region: United States > New Mexico > Gallup
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 35 Hotels in Gallup
Price Range: £33 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Gallup 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Gallup is located in Gallup NM which is in the middle of the Navajo Nation, directly on Historic Route 66. Just moments away you will find the Red Rock State Park and Museums as well as Gallup Cultural Center. The property is located on the west side of Gallup off Exit 16: proceed then to Historic 66 eastbound for .25 Miles. The Red Lion Hotel Gallup features 126 guest rooms and suites featuring Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop bedding, premier bath amenities, complimentary wi-fi, in-room coffee, hair dryer, microwave, refrigerator, executive desk and chairs. Our beautiful full service hotel features New Mexico Steakhouse for delicious onsite dining. The Red Lion Hotel Gallup surrounds a beautiful garden atrium. The hotel features 9,000 square feet of meeting space that can accommodate up to 400 people. We also offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Gallup reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Gallup
Gallup Best Western
Best Western Gallup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing