We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than expected” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof Inn Gallup

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Gallup
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Gallup
Owasso, Oklahoma
1 review
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Red Roof Inn has won us over with permitting my little dog to stay with us, clean rooms, unexpectedly great beds and a/c, and good shower pressure. The customer service provided by Cassandra late at night and early in the morning was unflaggingly upbeat and energetic.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iferman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia530, Manager at Red Roof Inn Gallup, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
I am so pleased that we exceeded your expectations! We are always trying to make changes to accomodate our guests and give our front desk staff the training and incentives needed so that they treat our guests with the friendliness and respect they deserve. I am glad that you appreciate our efforts. We hope to serve you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    166
    105
    38
    23
See reviews for
92
152
53
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
272 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Red Roof in our experience is way better than Motel 6, better, cleaner and nicer rooms, and so was this one, the staff was really friendly, the room was excellent, the pool was nice and clean, not a big one, but good enough to have a spash and a cool dip, we loved it !! :)

Room Tip: We lover it, why not stay here .... :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DiabloDesigns v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia530, Manager at Red Roof Inn Gallup, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for your positive review! We know that you have many motels/hotels to choose from and are so happy you chose us. Enjoy the rest of your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new holland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

This is a very nice Red Roof Inn. It is very clean but could be called a little worn if you're particular.It has new paint, big TV and it has does have a real blacktop driveway in the rear for trucks. No slopping thru the mud or potholes or walking. The trucker rate is more than fair. I give it an excellent rating because it exceeds my expectations. It is a Red Roof Inn, the price is good but it's not the Marriot. Quick check in.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dennis m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia530, Manager at Red Roof Inn Gallup, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you so much for your business and for your positive review! We are actually in the process of updating our rooms, so hopefully on your next visit you will have an even better stay. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
87 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

I've found that most Red Roof's seem to be in pretty good shape and this one was no exception. Our room was large and comfortable. The breakfast is pretty lacking, but we stayed for the room, not the breakfast. Overall, it's a decent place for the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia530, Manager at Red Roof Inn Gallup, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn for your lodging needs! We appreciate your business and are glad you were satisfied with your stay. We hope all your travels prove to be safe ones and we hope you will visit us again if you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Although this Red Roof claims it has been newly renovated, it is lacking in some basics. Yes, there is fresh paint and some new fixtures. Overall, though, this Red Roof is not of the quality I have experienced from others in the chain. The mattresses were lumpy, and we had to request a replacement sheet for one of the beds since there were nasty stains. The towels were also disappointing. The lobby serves as the breakfast room and is very, very small. What a crowded place it was! As other reviewers stated, the motel's location is not the best. I booked online and definitely would not have chosen this place otherwise. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia530, Manager at Red Roof Inn Gallup, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We are sorry that your room didn't meet your standards, we are actually in the process of upgrading our rooms so we hope that if you find yourself in Gallup again, you will give us another chance. Have a safe trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gallup hotels

Beijing, China
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

We stayed at the Red Roof Inn for one night while passing through Gallup. It was as average as average gets. Nothing really good, nothing really awful. Just a motel to lay your head at night. It was right off the highway and not far from the train tracks (this might bother some but I'd say 92% of hotels in Gallup are right by the train tracks, and I love trains so I saw it as a plus).

One thing I was not enamored with was the fact that the sink was outside of the bathroom/shower area. I am learning that this is quite common in motels, but have yet to grasp why this is so.

Check out is 11:00 although they let me extend that till noon. There was however no later check-out and they don't offer half-day rates.

I can't imagine that Red Roof Inn Gallup is any different than the Motel 6, Super 8, etc, etc...but if you need a room to sleep in for the night it will get the job done.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank liaobuqi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia530, Manager at Red Roof Inn Gallup, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for staying with us during your visit, we appreciate your business and your feedback. Have a safe trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Good, cheap hotel, reasonable value for money considering that it included continental breakfast.

The location was really ugly, it is one of the first stops as soon as you get off the interstate, definitely not a touristy area (being from Australia we didn't realise this before we booked).

There was no problem with customer service or cleanliness which are two of our top fives.

It was a very industrial area and full of truckers which made me feel a little uneasy. Definitely do not recommend for single female travellers. For couple and families it would be fine.

The pillows were tiny! We didn't complain to front desk as we were only there for one night and we were too tired. I'm 100% sure that if we had requested more pillows that the front desk would have been accommodating.

Personally I wouldn't stay there again because it didn't suit our needs in terms of location.

I have read other reviews noting a bad smell and noisy trains, although we didn't hear much train noise at all and did not notice any bad sewerage smells.

I would recommend this hotel for overnight stays if you are passing through and not interested in doing anything touristy, essentially there was nothing wrong with it.

Room Tip: We had a room right on the train line, number 238, but it was fine - not noisy at all. Upstairs room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia530, Manager at Red Roof Inn Gallup, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
I am glad your stay here was sufficient for your needs; as regards location I'm sorry it wasn't what you had hoped for - all motels in Gallup follow the interstate so there isn't too much of a variation on scenery unfortunately although we have so many beautiful attractions surrounding us, it no longer bothers us. We hope that you enjoy the remainder of your time in the States and that you are able to see many beautiful sights along the way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gallup hotels
9.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#7 of 34 in Gallup
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
3.2 mi away
Royal Holiday Motel
Royal Holiday Motel
#17 of 34 in Gallup
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Gallup
Comfort Inn Gallup
#3 of 34 in Gallup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gallup
5.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gallup Inn & Suites
9.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Gallup
Comfort Suites Gallup
#6 of 34 in Gallup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Gallup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Gallup

Property: Red Roof Inn Gallup
Address: 3304 West Highway 66, I-40 at US 66, Exit #16, Gallup, NM 87301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Gallup
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Gallup
#6 Business Hotel in Gallup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Gallup 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Gallup and we invite you to be our guest at the Red Roof Inn Gallup, New Mexico. Our non-smoking, pet friendly, family friendly hotel is conveniently located to the attractions and entertainment you are looking for in the Gallup area; including Historical Downtown Gallup, the Gallup Convention Center, the Mural Art Center and the Gallup Cultural Center. Other nearby attractions include Western New Mexico University, University of New Mexico, Gallup, Fire Rock Navajo Casino and Acoma Sky City. The nature lover will enjoy being close to Canyon De Chelly, Red Rock State Park and Chaco Canyon. When traveling for business or leisure we are a short trip to all that Gallup has to offer. Experience the new Red Roof Inn Gallup; a completely remodeled and upgraded stay. The rooms at this non-smoking hotel feature a stylish, boutique design with all new furniture, spa-inspired bathrooms with modern vessel sinks, new comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, comfortable new seating and a large, flat-screen TV. All guest rooms offer free WiFi, in-room safe, in-room coffee, microwave & refrigerator, as well as, a selection of free TV channels and pay-to-view premium channels, movies. This hotel offers a fitness center, a seasonal outdoor pool, coin laundry, an elevator, and Suites. Experience our complimentary coffeehouse-style coffee & tea and continental breakfast in the lobby. We welcome your pet as a guest as one well behaved pet stays free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Red Roof Inn Gallup reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Gallup Hotel Gallup
Gallup Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing