We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A mixed bag”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Gallup
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Gallup
Surprise
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A mixed bag”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

My experience was pleasurable all night. The staff was friendly, the room was clean, albeit the air was a little stale from the fan/ air being off when we arrived. The updates in the room are fantastic with a microwave and a fridge, an HDTV, and modern decor. I really appreciate their efforts in becoming smoke-free.
And that is whereupon the only dissatisfaction came from.
While the rooms are non-smoking, evidently the balconies are not. Therefore, we awoke in the morning to the putrid smell of cigarette smoke that had been pulled from the balcony into our room by the fan/air. Both my wife and I are very sensitive to the smell and effects of the smoke so our throats were sore and sinuses clogged by the time we got going in the morning. If it were not for that little event in the morning, I would give this place 5 stars.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JLSmith09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia530, Manager at Red Roof Inn Gallup, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review of our property, I am so glad you enjoyed our updated rooms! I sincerely apologize for the negative aspect of your stay; I appreciate you bringing this to our attention and we will look into ways of remedying the situation for future guests. Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn and hopefully your next visit with us will earn a five-star review... we will make that our goal. Have a fantastic weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    173
    107
    38
    23
See reviews for
96
154
55
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Rooms appeared clean, but our room smelled of urine. Beds were comfortable. Breakfast was poor. For the same rates, I think a different hotel/motel in the area would be a better option. There were several others within a short distance to have chosen from.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClarkeFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia530, Manager at Red Roof Inn Gallup, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your valuable feedback. I am so sorry that your recent experience at our motel did not provide you with the fantastic service you deserve and that we take pride in providing. I am especially sorry to hear that there was an odor in your room; we will inspect it to make sure it is no longer there. I hope that you give Red Roof Inn another try at some point as we are usually known for exceptional service and housekeeping. Have a safe and enjoyable trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gallup hotels

Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Gallup and West Gallup is a big stopover area along the highway. There are lots of choices but I would really recommend this hotel. It was clean and safe and the staff was friendly. It included free breakfast and that was a little lacking compared to most Super 8's we stay in but for the price this is a really good value. Really easy on/off for the highway and not too far to a bunch of restaurants. Don't let the price fool you as I think this was just as nice as some hotels we stayed in that were a good 30% higher or more.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank SouthwestCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia530, Manager at Red Roof Inn Gallup, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you so much for the positive review you left for our motel! We love to hear feedback from our guests so we can know how to better serve you, but when the feedback is as positive as yours, it makes it much more enjoyable. Thank you for staying with us and if you find yourself traveling through Gallup again, we hope we will have the privilege of hosting you. Have a safe trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We were hesitant to stay at the Red Roof Inn because of past experience, but once we arrived at the Red Roof Inn in Gallup we were greeted by friendly staff and a very nice updated room. Our company made the reservation for us and we are glad they picked this place. The only compliant we had is that we had been working and traveling all over New Mexico and really needed some sleep, but got woke up several times by the noise outside our room. People were standing by the stairs near our front door laughing and talking from the late night to the early morning. The people upstairs was stomping through the night. So getting a good nights rest was out of the picture. Loved the décor of the room and the updates were awesome. Would stay again just might ask for a different room that is upstairs and away from the stairs. Thanks again. P.S. Pool needs to be updated.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the stairs but very good access to the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dishon67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia530, Manager at Red Roof Inn Gallup, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for taking time out of your day to share your feedback with us. I am so sorry you had to deal with noisy people but am happy that didn't totally ruin the experience for you. We love our updated rooms too and hope that we can provide you even better service the next time you come to Gallup. Thank you again for choosing Red Roof Inn, have a great week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed here while driving through Gallup on a road trip. The price was very reasonable, and the room was very nice and updated. The outside looks older, so don't let that fool you. Our room had a king sized bed, a large bathroom area, and a nice desk/writing area. The only small complaint I have is that the small fridge in the room made strange, rather loud noises throughout the night. The bed itself was decent. Not the MOST comfortable bed I've ever slept in, but not too bad. Overall, we were happy with our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia530, Manager at Red Roof Inn Gallup, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
I was so happy to hear your positive feedback in regards to your recent stay at our property. I am sorry that your refrigerator was making noise, we will make sure to get that fixed. Thank you for sharing your experience! It is so helpful not only to potential guests of our property, but also to us; we want to provide the best service possible and your feedback helps us to do so. Thank you again for choosing Red Roof Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bisbee
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Night staff woman was super busy and efficient, but not real warm and fuzzy. Elaine the morning front desk woman was super nice and helpful. Breakfast was all carbs and no fruit or hard boiled eggs, so not that well rounded. Bit disappointing. But overall a decent value, which is important to me.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank tourwonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia530, Manager at Red Roof Inn Gallup, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
I am so glad to hear you were happy with our room and the service of our staff. I will make sure to pass along your kind words to Elaine; it is always nice to hear when our staff has done their job well. As far as breakfast selection is concerned, I understand your desire for a bigger variety. We will take that under advisement and see what we can do to accommodate. Thank you for choosing to stay with us when we know you have many options to choose from in Gallup. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clovis
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I come to Gallup on business and the Red Roof Inn is clean, roomy and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. My only complaint is the breakfast offered hot cereal but I had to take it and my milk back to my room to fix it as the breakfast area did not have a microwave. It would have been nice if they had had a sign telling you that there was no microwave in the breakfast area. By the time I realized it, I had poured my milk into the bowl with the cereal so walking back to my room with a full bowl was a little hazardous. Fortunately, I was on the ground floor and only a few doors down from the office.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia530, Manager at Red Roof Inn Gallup, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your recent stay here at Red Roof Inn. I am so glad to hear that you found your room to be clean, comfortable and convenient. I apologize that there is no microwave in the breakfast area; I admit that is something we had not previously thought of since we have hot water for that purpose, but hearing your experience, now we will definitely take it under consideration. Again, thank you for staying with us and we hope we have the privilege of seeing you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gallup hotels
9.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#8 of 34 in Gallup
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
5.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Gallup Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gallup
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Royal Holiday Motel
Royal Holiday Motel
#16 of 34 in Gallup
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Gallup
Comfort Inn Gallup
#4 of 34 in Gallup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
8.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gallup
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Gallup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Gallup

Property: Red Roof Inn Gallup
Address: 3304 West Highway 66, I-40 at US 66, Exit #16, Gallup, NM 87301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Gallup
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gallup
#6 Business Hotel in Gallup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Gallup 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Gallup and we invite you to be our guest at the Red Roof Inn Gallup, New Mexico. Our non-smoking, pet friendly, family friendly hotel is conveniently located to the attractions and entertainment you are looking for in the Gallup area; including Historical Downtown Gallup, the Gallup Convention Center, the Mural Art Center and the Gallup Cultural Center. Other nearby attractions include Western New Mexico University, University of New Mexico, Gallup, Fire Rock Navajo Casino and Acoma Sky City. The nature lover will enjoy being close to Canyon De Chelly, Red Rock State Park and Chaco Canyon. When traveling for business or leisure we are a short trip to all that Gallup has to offer. Experience the new Red Roof Inn Gallup; a completely remodeled and upgraded stay. The rooms at this non-smoking hotel feature a stylish, boutique design with all new furniture, spa-inspired bathrooms with modern vessel sinks, new comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, comfortable new seating and a large, flat-screen TV. All guest rooms offer free WiFi, in-room safe, in-room coffee, microwave & refrigerator, as well as, a selection of free TV channels and pay-to-view premium channels, movies. This hotel offers a fitness center, a seasonal outdoor pool, coin laundry, an elevator, and Suites. Experience our complimentary coffeehouse-style coffee & tea and continental breakfast in the lobby. We welcome your pet as a guest as one well behaved pet stays free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Gallup reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Gallup Hotel Gallup
Gallup Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing