We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gila
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casitas de Gila Guesthouses
Ranked #1 of 1 Gila B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Libertyville, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Really enjoyed our time here, had hummingbirds all around us as we sat on the patio. Had a little trouble finding the dirt road to the Casitas, but once we arrived found it very relaxing and a great break from living in Chicagoland. We ate in twice, and Becky arranged for some really first class chicken for us to put onto the grill. Silver City is a good 30 minutes away so make sure you stock up on food and gas. Michael provided some tips on great hiking trails in the area and we were never disappointed. A wonderful experience. We didn't want to come back..

Room Tip: Casita #5 has a hummingbird feeder which really brings them in!
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tosawest74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    9
    0
    3
    3
See reviews for
19
64
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

This was the second time we had stayed at the casitas. Thinking back to the first time and an anxious trip in, we hired an SUV to travel along the gravel road but somehow it had improved since last time.
We stayed in the Casita de los Pajaros this time. Everything was just as we remembered, the warm welcome, well stocked breakfast cupboard and fridge and the complete peace and quiet of the Gila Wilderness. This was, once again, the perfect end to an action packed three weeks vacation, a chance to unwind and enjoy the silence, the beating of the hummingbirds' wings, the antics of the chipmunks and of course the glorious sunsets which change colour by the second. I couldn't wait to post my photos of those spectacular sunsets so that my friends could see them too. We didn't have the starry skies on this occasion but did have the thunder and lightning and a little of the rain the area so badly needs.
One trip out to the Gila Cliff Dwellings and the rest of the time to relax and read and just enjoy each others company and of course the delightful gallery at the casitas full of local crafts and art. I would have loved one of the fantastic birdhouses but, unfortunately, it wouldn't have fitted in my suitcase.
Then of course, the long drive back to Albuquerque, somehow not quite so bad now that we were relaxed. Well done Becky and Michael, it's paradise on earth.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francophile65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We stayed here with the family for the second time in about six years...and now we're wondering why we waited so long to come back! We fell in love with both Gila and Silver City the first time, and over the years we have returned to the region a dozen or so times, trying out different establishments each time. Everything from rustic cabins to historic hotels and individual rental homes. By far the Casitas are the most special of all these places. Think of setting up in a small one or two bedroom adobe home, perched on a bluff over Bear Creek, with a stunning view of Turtle Rock and the Mogollon mountains. Throw in wonderful hosts (Michael and Becky - Michael even took the kids panning for gold!!!), both gas and charcol grills, covered porches, outdoor picnic tables, additional outdoor seating, viewing scopes, chimineas and a hot tub!

We spent our morning (and many afternoons) out hiking the Gila, tooled around Silver from time to time...but made sure to be back at the Casitas by late afternoon to spark up the grill, grab a cold beverage and watch the magic begin. Even our kids were awestruck.

The only downsides, no AC, but in this part of the country you hardly ever need it, especially with adobe construction. Also, the road in from the town of Gila is a bumpy gravel road, so it takes an additional 15 minutes or so (all told about 40-45 minutes from downtown SIlver), but it's easy enough to drive and definitely adds to the mystique. If your focus is primarily the art galleries in Silver, then you might want to find a place in town. But if you want to be surrounded by natural beauty and still have access to the galleries plus great hiking this place is a good choice.

Once you get in sync, you will understand their sign at the entrance about "entering a stress free zone". Needless to say we highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terrapinproud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Very well designed and fully equipped casitas. clean, quiet, and isolated. no tv or cell service. beautiful views; isolated if that is what you are looking for. nearest services in Silver City about 40 minutes away. unpaved but well maintained roads about 7 miles. well marked road after you find the blue sign in Gila.
not mentioned in brochures that i recall but rooms not air conditioned in summer. yes, it cools down at night. screens on windows so with all windows open by midnight it was 85 degrees and by 2 pm it was 83 degrees. ceiling fans helped but not what we expected or needed for a good night sleep.
a very nice facility in a unique location that could be heaven or hell; depending on what you are looking for.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nwr2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Casitas de Gila Guesthouses, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Here in the high desert of Southwestern New Mexico, at our altitude of 5,000 ft., there are about 360 days a year where air conditioning is simply not necessary. We are SO sorry you were unfortunate enough to be here for 2 of the few nights where air conditioning would have been a plus. Through the 14 years we have welcomed guests at Casitas de Gila, we have thought long and hard about air conditioning (and TVs). Our 265 acres are truly incredible: the vistas magnificent, the silence deafening, the night skies dark and clear. Nature surrounds you here and envelopes you in its beauty. Air conditioning (and TVs) keep people indoors day and night. We want our guests outside, watching the sunrise, watching the sunset, listening to the birds chatter and the frogs croak, looking at the Bighorn Sheep on the cliffs above the creek, hiking our trails, marveling at the Milky Way ... enjoying everything Nature has to offer, as well as the Gila National Forest and Gila Wilderness. We hope you will come again and experience all our seasons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This was just one in a now long series of visits to Casitas de Gila. No point in repeating what we and others have said before, we love spending time here and Becky and Michael are superb hosts. What more can we say?

Room Tip: Pick any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johngpsysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Spent four nights here with my teenage daughter as a father/daughter trip before she starts college in the fall. Believe all the positive reviews here...exactly what we expected based on the website. Felt like home in about ten minutes flat. Becky and Michael run the place very efficiently and do everything they can to make sure their guests stay is perfect. The silence is incredible (so much so that you notice the hummingbirds), the views during the day are inspiring, and the night sky is like nothing we'd seen before.

We were concerned about the wildfires, and while we were not able to do some of the hikes we had planned in the Gila Wilderness itself due to closures, Michael did a great job finding alternatives (and note that the fires or smoke do not threaten the area around the Casitas). The hike along the Gila River in the Burro Mountains he recommended was very enjoyable. We later spent a few days in the Aldo Leopold Wilderness which is every bit as beautiful as the Gila and is wide open. Purgatory Chasm in the open southeast part of the Gila Wildermess near Lake Roberts was a nice example of a slot canyon. I would also recommend the trails around Gomez Peak near Silver City...very nice for a half day, as well as Signal Peak north of Pinos Altos.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Fl
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We had come across the Casitas web site four years ago and finally made it in March. There were no surprises, as the casitas were just as described and depicted on their web pages. We stayed in Casita de los Pajaros and were quite comfortable and very satisfied. The casita lacked NOTHING. The kitchen was very well supplied, the refrigerator and cupboard full of items to choose from for breakfast. Even the assortment of spices was large! It was easy to imagine staying there for a very long time. As wonderful as the casita was, it was overshadowed by the view and the surrounding land. We were so thrilled! The quiet is what we noticed first - none of the sounds we are used to hearing, just quiet. In that quiet the bird song was amplified and wonderful to listen to. The view around the casitas goes on for what seems like forever. The high desert terrain greatly touches us, so we were happy simply looking out. The well-marked trails made exploring the surrounding acreage simple. The nights are just great! We sat outside each night, listening to the night sounds and turning our chairs every so often to watch the sky from a different direction. We'd never seen so many stars at once. Sitting there, we felt content, with no awareness of the stresses of work and a better perspective of worries and priorities provided by the stars. We visited the catwalk, Gila Wilderness and Cliff Dwellings on different daytrips. Silver City is very charming and quaint. We loved scrambling around looking for rocks, taking pictures and just looking out. Every turn on the roads provided something wonderful to see - windmills, cattle, javalina, coyote, interesting structures, huge ranches, beautiful landscapes. The trip from Tucson is quite easy. The pull to return to this part of New Mexico is very strong. Thank you, Becky and Michael, for a very comfortable place of rest.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zumafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gila
19.8 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#1 of 9 in Silver City
220 reviews
19.9 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#2 of 9 in Silver City
207 reviews
19.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Gila National Forest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#3 of 9 in Silver City
170 reviews
19.1 mi away
Bear Creek Motel and Cabins
Bear Creek Motel and Cabins
#1 of 1 in Pinos Altos
93 reviews
16.4 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#1 of 8 in Silver City
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casitas de Gila Guesthouses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casitas de Gila Guesthouses

Property: Casitas de Gila Guesthouses
Address: 50 Casita Flats Road (off Hooker Loop), Gila, NM 88038
Region: United States > New Mexico > Gila
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Stress-Free Zone in Southwest New Mexico, featuring southwestern guesthouses, art gallery, and nature preserve on 265 acres overlooking the Gila Wilderness in Southwest New Mexico, in the Silver City area. Our 5 casitas each have full kitchens, fireplaces, continental breakfast, free wifi, bbq grills, porches. Hike over 6 miles of trails on our property, nap in a hammock by Bear Creek, view the Milky Way in the clear, dark skies. Visit cliff dwellings, ghost towns, galleries and museums. We're one of Sunset Magazine's Top 10 Weekend Getaways! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casitas De Gila Guesthouses New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing