We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casitas de Gila Guesthouses
Nearby Hotels
US$78
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Copper Manor Motel(Silver City)
US$62
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Murray Hotel(Silver City)(Great Value!)
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 Silver City(Silver City)
US$119
Motel 6
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palace Hotel(Silver City)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$139
US$130
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Silver City)(Great Value!)
US$121
US$110
QualityInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$158
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gila Mountain Inn(Silver City)
US$91
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
95
9
0
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
95
9
0
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssilver cityart galleryget away from it allstress free zonehot tubdark skiesbeautiful casitasthought of everythingenglish muffinsnew mexicobreakfast suppliesmile drivebedroom casitarock houndinglocal artistspeace and quietcome home
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 110 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2011

My family and I have returned to Casitas from our 6th trip in less than 4 years there and it's always nothing short of amazing. It is one of the best gateaways you can imagine. It is remote and absolutely stunning views. No cells phones, no TV, no computers. It is truly a place to disconnect from the world. The Casitas are very well appointed and very clean. There is a gift shop and art gallery on site which we visit several times a day for every day we are there and we always come home with beautiful jewelry and local made gifts. There are also numerous hiking trails and they have breathtaking views of the valley below. And it goes without saying that the owners, Michael and Becky, have always gone out of the way for us and our kids to make sure our stay was comfortable and we had everything we needed. Michael has also assisted us on many occasions on our hikes. This place has become our home away from home. My kids love to come here and take heart to all the nature around them. Kids have no excuse here but to play outside. No texting and no phones! We left from our first trip at the Casitas in tears and we did again on this trip as well. We have made a promise that we will come to the Casitas 3 to 4 times every year. It is one of those places that is so unique in every aspect, that once you go, you will always come back to.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cecilia9906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

The location was very remote; requiring an hour to arrive there. We were then turned away by Becky [-] because of our two service dogs; even though they were well-documented. We were forced to drive in the dark, another hour back to Silver City. They advised us that they did "not take dogs", even though we had discussed this with her on the phone. We found it very unfortunate that they were not aware of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 which reads 'this person is accompanied by a Service Dog--an animal individually trained to perform tasks for people with disabilities. Service Dogs are working animals, not pets. ' You are also not allowed to ask the person "what service does this dog perform for you? Therefore, if, like us, you are turned away at the door, please call: The U.S. Dept. of Justice at [---]. We hope this review helps anyone else with Service Dogs in the future. Thank you for allowing us to report this injustice.
James K. Weaver, M.D.
cc: Mr. Albert F. Freeman, Jr.-Attorney at Law 2-7-10

Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank review78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casita, Owner at Casitas de Gila Guesthouses, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2011

The Americans with Disability Act of 1990 requires us to allow a person with a disability that is accompanied by a service animal to use our facilities. We happily accommodate any person with a disability that is accompanied by their service animal. We have done so in the past and will continue to do so in the future.

This couple arrived with 2 dogs. As allowed by the ADA, they were asked if they had a disability that required them to have a service animal, and they answered “No.”.

Because neither person had a disability requiring a service animal, the ADA does not require us to make an exception to our “no pets” policy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2011

We stayed at the Casitas for a week, from Christmas 2010 to New Years. We were treated to a rare event -- 4 inches of snow that stuck around for a couple of days. Our main purpose in coming here was to use the Casitas as a base for day hikes in the Gila Wilderness. So, we did several magnificent mountain hikes before the snow, then adjusted our plans and hiked near the Gila River and, most importantly, on the grounds of the Casitas themselves, for a couple of days after the snow came. The Casitas are very comfortable, and the grounds are absolutely fantastic -- several miles of trails, well marked, with an extremely informative trail guide about the plants, animals, and especially geology of the site (Michael is trained as a geologist). We hiked to the top of the panorama trail -- 800 feet of vertical climb in little over a mile -- and were treated to 360 degree views of the mountains and surrounding country. Michael and Becky were great hosts, and very helpful to travelers who weren't expecting to have to drive in snow. We are already planning our next trip -- maybe in November.

They will tell you this when you make a reservation, but this is really a pretty remote place. The towns of Gila and Cliff currently have no restaurant, and only a very minimal grocery store; and it's 30 miles to the nearest supermarket. So plan ahead.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardGayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

We did a two week southern New Mexico/Arizona tour in April of this year. We stayed three nights here. It is a very unique place. Very well kept and clean. Included in the price of your room, you get a full sized refrigerator full of OJ, milk, homemade bread, there was bagels, coffee etc... WOW! Books on the southwest to read. Lots of info. on the attractions in the area. Great bird watching, right outside your door. A beautiful little art gallery on site.The property has a creek running through it. We packed a picnic and hiked down to the little creek. It was so relaxing we did not want to leave. Hope to return someday.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephenCLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2010

my family had a great vacation here. The casitas are beautiful. The property is outstanding. The hiking trails are great. The stars at night are spectacular. Michael just gave an astronomy lesson to my family. I have never seen the rings of Saturn before. I cannot say enough about the Casitas. We would recommend the Casitas to anyone who needs a getaway from city (and suburbia) life.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twinsdad_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews