We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit a better, more simple lifestyle”
Review of Whitewater Motel

Whitewater Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Glenwood
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Whitewater Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glenwood
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I love the Whitewater, and Glenwood in general. It is a quaint motel on the edge of town that is quiet and clean. The owners are super hospitable and will go the extra mile for you. The showers are cozy but the showerheads/pressure is amazing. Dish TV and free wifi. Beds are soft and clean, extra pillows and blankets are provided. New AC units for the hot ones and gas furnaces for the coldees. I have been coming to Glenwood my entire life, ( in fact I have mowed the grass in the back patio are of the Whitewater when I was a child) and through my travels I have not found a more peaceful, beautiful place. Come get lost in its simplicity, you will thank me.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RedBeardGraphics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2013

Our family stayed at the Whitewater Motel on a recent trip. We found it to be very clean, quiet and an all around rustic atmosphere. Glenwood, NM is a charming little town that is a fantastic place to get away from it all. From walking around and getting lost in the woodsy settings to hiking the Catwalk up the road and visiting the fish hatchery. So if you are every passing through be sure to stop off and stay at the Whitewater Motel and stay awhile and see what Glenwood has to offer.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moonshine484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

I spent two nights here during a two week backpacking trip through the Gila Wilderness; one in the middle (as my resupply point) and then at the end. (Of course, at that point, any room with running water, a bed, A/C, and a shower would have been great!!)

I loved the inn because of its price, simplicity, and owner. The owner is also the post mistress (the post office is ~100 feet away across the parking lot). She was very helpful and friendly; e.g. allowing me to keep a box of hiking resupply items for two weeks without any charge. When I came back after the hhiking and I was going to arrive late, she left the key outside in a safe place for me to find. The motel was clean and great for my purposes (admittedly, my needs were few after all the backpacking) and I would definitely go back there again, even when traveling with my family.

The whole experience was like a trip back in time. The reservations were kept in pencil on a big paper calendar. The owner may go to bed early and turn on the No Vacancy sign to keep people from waking her up. If you have business with her during the day, you have to go over to the post office and talk with her. But she will try to accommodate any reasonable needs for requests.

Glenwood is a very small town for a traveller. Only three restaurants; one of which only opens in the AM (golden GIrls - a great, very inexpensive breakfast place!). The two evening establishments are open on different nights. When they close, there is nothing else around for at least a two hour round trip drive. One small store/gas station to get supplies. So make sure you have what you need before going to Glenwood. Still, that is part of the charm of this simple, quiet place.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank txbenton4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

My wife, two daughters (12 and 14) and I stayed one night here. The lady who checked us in (owner) was nice and helpful. It was like stepping back in time, as she filled out a paper slip with our info on it. She was very nervous due to the pending rain/monsoon season and flooding and mudslides that would occur as a result of the fires that had occurred. She told us she would come by and wake us up if the rains started and flash flooding was a threat in the creek behind the motel. This was a little unsettling, but kept things interesting. There was heavy machinery in the creek the entire time we were there. It was interesting to watch them work, but a little noisy. Our room was large and clean. The water pressure in the shower was very good. We would stay here again.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Recently, my wife & I spent (yet another) night at the Whitewater Motel. Not many other motels to choose from in Glenwood, NM, so we didn't go elsewhere. We have had good times at the Whitewater, in the past, but this time was different. For one, the "river" behind the motel was being excavated, by the highway department, while we were there. Not the motel's fault, but it didn't make for a pleasant night, none the less. Heavy equipment noises, all day, until 7:30pm. We wanted to close the windows, to block out a little noise, but when we tried to turn on the air conditioner, it didn't work. When we asked why, we were told that the A.C. hadn't been turned on yet that spring. It was over 80 degrees outside, and all they had to do was "flip a switch" to turn it on... but no dice. All we got was a small fan for air circulation. Not the best night we have ever spent in that motel. I hope that the management will be a bit more sympathetic to the needs of their guests, in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NoisyWaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Basic motel but comfortable and clean. Room very cold on arrival but soon warmed up by gas heater. This was noisy at night. Took severala minutes for the hot water to come though to the brass shower which looked antiquated but in fact gave an adequate douse. No breakfast. Discount for cash.

Room Tip: Limited availability so book ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Spendingitnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

The Whitewater is just past the Post Office in Glenwood, NM. The first time we went to Glenwood, we stayed at a Super 8 in Silver City that was horrible. While eating breakfast at Golden Girls Cafe, they mentioned the Whitewater just down the road.

On our next visit, that is where we stayed and have for 6 consecutive years for 3-4 days at a time. You can leave your vehicle and walk to anywhere in town, they allow pets for a nominal $5 more per day, and if you pay in cash instead of credit card, the discount goes to YOU!

The rooms are clean, the cows are close and there is an great backyard park for evenings on the porch.

The owner has made improvements... dish TV and Internet WiFi are 2 of them.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Whitewater Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitewater Motel

Address: PO Box 158, Glenwood, NM 88039-0158
Region: United States > New Mexico > Glenwood
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glenwood
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing