We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, very good price, very quiet, very relaxing”
Review of Whitewater Motel

Whitewater Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Glenwood
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Whitewater Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glenwood
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Very clean, very good price, very quiet, very relaxing”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The title to this review basically sums it up. We really enjoyed our stay. What a neat place! Since we always bring whatever we might need on a trip, we did not miss any shampoo bottles or the like. We had a wonderful evening just sitting outside on the chairs so nicely provided, just enjoying to be away from all the hustle and bustle in other places.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Screenname1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    6
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
13
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I've been going to this hotel since I was a kid and now my wife and I try to go once a year. The people who own the place are so nice and the town is the perfect getaway. The only problem with the place is it's booked all the time because everyone else loves it too.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrisStewart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
124 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We stay here once a year and I'm still trying to find a room with a firm mattress. The rooms are rustic, but the showers are fantastic with strong water pressure! You do need to be on the self-sufficient side and bring your own shampoo and hair dryer. I also bring a small travel hot water pot to make coffee in the room. This year, there was a small portable electric heater which did well in taking the chill off at night. This town is struggling and I feel sorry for the businesses trying to make a go of it. Watching the deer feed on the grounds in the evening is always a treat and the stars are amazing as you are away from city lights!

Room Tip: Room 15 is on the end and feels very private. The double bed seemed small, but we are used to sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Winger07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I love the Whitewater, and Glenwood in general. It is a quaint motel on the edge of town that is quiet and clean. The owners are super hospitable and will go the extra mile for you. The showers are cozy but the showerheads/pressure is amazing. Dish TV and free wifi. Beds are soft and clean, extra pillows and blankets are provided. New AC units for the hot ones and gas furnaces for the coldees. I have been coming to Glenwood my entire life, ( in fact I have mowed the grass in the back patio are of the Whitewater when I was a child) and through my travels I have not found a more peaceful, beautiful place. Come get lost in its simplicity, you will thank me.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RedBeardGraphics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Our family stayed at the Whitewater Motel on a recent trip. We found it to be very clean, quiet and an all around rustic atmosphere. Glenwood, NM is a charming little town that is a fantastic place to get away from it all. From walking around and getting lost in the woodsy settings to hiking the Catwalk up the road and visiting the fish hatchery. So if you are every passing through be sure to stop off and stay at the Whitewater Motel and stay awhile and see what Glenwood has to offer.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moonshine484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coppell, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

I spent two nights here during a two week backpacking trip through the Gila Wilderness; one in the middle (as my resupply point) and then at the end. (Of course, at that point, any room with running water, a bed, A/C, and a shower would have been great!!)

I loved the inn because of its price, simplicity, and owner. The owner is also the post mistress (the post office is ~100 feet away across the parking lot). She was very helpful and friendly; e.g. allowing me to keep a box of hiking resupply items for two weeks without any charge. When I came back after the hhiking and I was going to arrive late, she left the key outside in a safe place for me to find. The motel was clean and great for my purposes (admittedly, my needs were few after all the backpacking) and I would definitely go back there again, even when traveling with my family.

The whole experience was like a trip back in time. The reservations were kept in pencil on a big paper calendar. The owner may go to bed early and turn on the No Vacancy sign to keep people from waking her up. If you have business with her during the day, you have to go over to the post office and talk with her. But she will try to accommodate any reasonable needs for requests.

Glenwood is a very small town for a traveller. Only three restaurants; one of which only opens in the AM (golden GIrls - a great, very inexpensive breakfast place!). The two evening establishments are open on different nights. When they close, there is nothing else around for at least a two hour round trip drive. One small store/gas station to get supplies. So make sure you have what you need before going to Glenwood. Still, that is part of the charm of this simple, quiet place.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank txbenton4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

My wife, two daughters (12 and 14) and I stayed one night here. The lady who checked us in (owner) was nice and helpful. It was like stepping back in time, as she filled out a paper slip with our info on it. She was very nervous due to the pending rain/monsoon season and flooding and mudslides that would occur as a result of the fires that had occurred. She told us she would come by and wake us up if the rains started and flash flooding was a threat in the creek behind the motel. This was a little unsettling, but kept things interesting. There was heavy machinery in the creek the entire time we were there. It was interesting to watch them work, but a little noisy. Our room was large and clean. The water pressure in the shower was very good. We would stay here again.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Whitewater Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitewater Motel

Property: Whitewater Motel
Address: PO Box 158, Glenwood, NM 88039-0158
Region: United States > New Mexico > Glenwood
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glenwood
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing