We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not What We Expected, Sadly” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sierra Bonita Cabins & RV Park

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sierra Bonita Cabins & RV Park
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not What We Expected, Sadly”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

The family running the area is very nice, and the park itself is rather clean. The locale is gorgeous, and there is very little traffic, so the quiet is wonderful.

That said, there are issues of concern that must be addressed in order to warrant a higher rating. We are experienced campers, and both agree that the time we spent deserves better.

1. Most importantly: toilet and shower facilities are in a terrific state of disarray. The toilet did not flush adequately. There is either a break in the septic line, or a clog. We had to plunge the toilet multiple times in order to get someone else's "contributions" to go away... And then their TP still didn't flush. The shower was not clean, and didn't appear to have been in some time. We opted to wash privately in our tent for peace of mind.

2. While the site we had was pretty, it was very cramped, and behind all of the various u-haul vehicles and trailers they have. It was a storage type area, but a tad junky as it is out of general view.

3. We understand that a camping park is a business and things have to be done, however the owner's son was hitching up trailers and someone else was performing lawn care at about 8:30 in the morning right next to us. It's a good thing we were already awake, or they'd have woken us right up.

4. Trash detail is a problem there. We are very mindful of "pack out your trash" wherever we go, but it was extremely challenging with no trash cans where we were. Also, they do gave laundry facilities, but they are not located where we were, and were $2 per load to wash, and $2 to dry. It's too expensive.

5. The electric connections at the site worked, but were outdated and not in good condition. The water connection was constructed if cheaper plastic elements, and had significant wear.

Basically, the problems greatly outweighed the good things. We will not be returning. We have fallen in love with Mora and it's surrounding areas, but Sierra Bonita will not be our go-to place, unfortunately.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Lauronious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don D, Owner at Sierra Bonita Cabins & RV Park, responded to this review, 4 March 2015
We have over 1700 guests every summer and are delighted at how few complaints we receive.
When tent campers wait until July to call for a reservation, we have a choice - either turn them away or find a place for them to pitch their tent, hopefully so they can enjoy the great trout fishing or the wonderful fresh air. Sometimes they don't appreciate being able to be here.

We have volunteers who help us keep things in order here. If campers don't tell us of any problem, we may not be aware of it. This camper preferred to tell the world, rather than give us an opportunity to address the problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    4
    0
    4
    5
See reviews for
9
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I called this place two weeks prior to the 4th of July to see if I could reserve a tent site to camp (since all of the other places close by were booked solid). The man I spoke with said they have a campsite available, the last one for that matter too. After asking some questions and getting some more information on the site, I went ahead and reserved it. The main feature that I had asked about, other than restrooms and showers, was a firepit, which I was told was available for that tent site. When I finally got there, I discovered that there was no firepit. I also had a completely different picture of the area in my head, though I cannot blame the man I spoke with on the phone about that. The place is really, really small. This isn't a national park with "private" spaces to setup in, this is a parking lot for trailers and RVs.

Do NOT camp here if you are in a tent! I would give this place a 1 star review, but I do have to give some credit to the man who maintains the lot and told us where we would be camping. He allowed us to camp away from the trailers and RVs that would have been right next to us had we stayed in the designated spot we had reserved. Also, he did find a firepit for us to use, but the fact that I was specifically told there was one when there was not is down right lying. The tent site is right next to the road too, which wasn't too bad, but I had pictured something different.

Also, the restrooms and showers here SUCK!!!! One of the showers had mold and mushrooms growing out of the ceiling! I am not making any of this up. The toilets were perhaps a little better, and they were actual flushing toilets, but I was thoroughly disgusted with those facilities.

Room Tip: Do NOT stay/camp here unless you have a good RV or trailer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Discriminate_Clicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don D, Owner at Sierra Bonita Cabins & RV Park, responded to this review, 4 March 2015
Again, we can't say it enough. We are so grateful for all the over 1700 guests we have each year,
...and so few complaints. We try to make everybody happy but sometimes that just isn't possible.
If no one tells us of a problem, we can't fix it...and we are quick to fix it, if we know about it.

Sometimes, expectations far exceed reality. Our cabins and RV park are easily accessible from State Highway 434 and are not deep in the woods. Our website shows exactly the terrain.

Since we purchased the campgound in 2011, we have made many improvements, such as putting larger size beds in the cabins, increasing the number of rooms and beds in some of the cabins, updating appliances when we can. Our guests have been pleasantly surprised.

However, last minute tent reservations in July do not have prime locations. When the person calls for reservations, they say they'll stay anywhere, just to have the opportunity to be here where it's cool and the fishing is great. Most are grateful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Guadalupita hotels

Lubbock, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

The new owners are really great! They have a massive bear dog that gives you hugs and the view is amazing. The price is perfect for these cabins and if you have a few mates you can sleep up to 6 no problem. It is in the middle of no where so it is nice a quite. Angle fire is about 35 min away to grab a drink and burger after a good days hike. I will be staying here again come fishing season.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rusty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don D, Owner at Sierra Bonita Cabins & RV Park, responded to this review, 4 March 2015
We love to read responses like yours and strive to make every guest's stay a good memory. This is such a great place to rest, relax, and be restored.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermosa, South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Traveling from SD, my husband and I stayed at Sierra Bonita Cabins for a week. The owners of the resort are the nicest people you would ever want to meet. The cabins were neat and clean along with the RV park. If you are ever in need of anything they are there to help with a smile and friendly conversation. We will continue to stay at Sierra Bonita every year. Thank you Don, Sharon and Jason for such a great time in northern NM!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim and Lori P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don D, Owner at Sierra Bonita Cabins & RV Park, responded to this review, 4 March 2015
We thank you for choosing us to stay with and are so glad you came!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del Rio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

It is a highlight of our year to visit Sierra Bonita cabins. Our family sport is skiing so we usually come in winter to ski cross-country & downhill in the Enchanted Circle area of northern New Mexico. We have to travel over 600 miles from southwest Texas and go past several other resort areas to get there. We have been visiting and staying there about 15 years. Our children are grown and have begun to visit on their own with their friends. Last year, 2013 was the first time we visited in summer, wow, a lot of wildlife! The Duke family has taken over this wilderness refuge in the last few years and made countless improvements. Here's one of the many memories we have: My 2nd son, an officer in the Navy, brought his Japanese fiancee to visit. She comes from an elite Samurai family and loved the rustic experience. They did get married after all and gave us a grand daughter on Jan. 1st, 2014.
We are eagerly looking forward to visiting next month.
The Hayes Family.

Room Tip: With several kids, Cabin 1 is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don D, Manager at Sierra Bonita Cabins & RV Park, responded to this review, 4 March 2015
Because of guests like you, we don't have to advertise. People just keep coming back, year after year. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

I booked a campsite for tent camping with Jason for my wife and I's first year anniversary. Before we drove up there from ABQ I asked Jason if there was a burn ban in affect, so we could know to pack our propane grill or not. He told me there was not a burn ban and that they had fire pits and grills that we could use. We arrived Friday night to the campsite with no fire pit, no grill and a very small site for $20! Jason told me that they placed a burn ban two days prior and we could not have an open fire. I asked a park ranger about this and was told the burn ban had been in effect for at least two weeks. My wife and I ended up staying at the Coyote State Park(which is right up the road) for half the price and double the room. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank williamlcraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don D, Owner at Sierra Bonita Cabins & RV Park, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
The day after you inquired about a fire ban, the fire chief brought us a letter, detailing the fire ban (the dated letter is in our file). That was the first we knew of it. You arrived the next day. Our campground was completely full, except for the one RV space, which you said you were grateful to get, since it was your anniversary and you had waited late to make a reservation. When we learned you were not happy because you could not build a fire and thought we had not been truthful about the fire ban, and you felt the space was too small (although you had no one near you on the beautiful hillside), we offered to show you the letter and released you from your reservation commitment, not asking for payment of the remaining nights.

Our campground has hundreds of campers who love to come back to this beautiful place, year after year. We have learned from this experience and appreciate the opportunity to make this a better place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

We booked a cabin at this park and first we received two different quotes from two different people. We then had a family emergency the day before our arrival and tried to cancel our reservation and were told we could only get a raincheck and that we would lose our $100 deposit otherwise. We were supposed to be advised of this via an email which we never received. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don D, Owner at Sierra Bonita Cabins & RV Park, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Two different people called for information and gave differing information; thus receiving different prices. Our web site clearly says there are no refunds on deposits, but we do give rain checks for another time. No one has to lose their deposit. The customer was mailed a Reservation Confirmation that also clearly stated the policy again. We do not e-mail Confirmations.

This customer still has a rain check on file and can use it before the end of this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guadalupita
14.1 mi away
The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort
24.0 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 15 in Taos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
24.4 mi away
Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
El Camino Lodge
El Camino Lodge
#13 of 15 in Taos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
14.3 mi away
Resort Properties of Angel Fire
14.8 mi away
Elk Horn Lodge
Elk Horn Lodge
#5 of 5 in Angel Fire
3.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Bonita Cabins & RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Bonita Cabins & RV Park

Property: Sierra Bonita Cabins & RV Park
Address: Highway 434 Mile 17.5, PO Box 333, Guadalupita, NM 87722
Region: United States > New Mexico > Guadalupita
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Guadalupita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sierra Bonita Cabins are basic and rustic. Size of cabins ranges from one cabin that sleeps ten to a cabin that sleeps two. Three cabins have full kitchens; two have a cook-top, refrigerator, coffee maker, toaster, and microwave. Three cabins have king-size beds, the others have queen-size beds. Dishes, pots and pans, silverware, linens, and towels are provided. The cabins are open year round. The RV Park has ten hookups, fire pits, and a free dump station. Water, showers, and restrooms are open May to October. A closed pavilion with a full kitchen is available for rental during those months by RV groups, retreats, family reunions, clubs, weddings, and workshops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sierra Bonita Cabins & RV Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing