We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hillsboro General Store Cafe

Hillsboro General Store Cafe
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Hillsboro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$12
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A family style restaurant featuring local and regional specialities set in a historic adobe filled with memorabilia from the late 19th and early twentieth century.
Dewey, Arizona
Level Contributor
143 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

This cafe is at the top of my list of favorites. Located in historic Hillsboro, New Mexico, visiting the cafe is an experience back in time when life was more simple and moved at a much slower pace. While waiting on your order there is much to enjoy here including studying an original front page of a New York newspaper dated the day after President Lincoln was shot. The food is all fresh and individually prepared by the owner and it is wonderful! The service is unbelievably personable and friendly. When in the area, this is a must.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Martha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    19
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach, FL
Level Contributor
51 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Bacon Lovers Paradise and so much more!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

This is truly a treasure not to be missed. Located in a historic general store in a quiet little town. The salt cured bacon was the best I've had in my life. Eggs were perfectly cooked, my wife had a traditional southwest breakfast which she raved about. Just don't be in a hurry here, just take in this historic setting.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank falconman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orient, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place with a lot of "eye candy"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

If you are in Truth or Consequences, NM area and have a little time, go to Hillsboro, NM. Go prepared to eat at this cafe. The first time we did, we just had bumble berry pie ala mode.Talk about great pie, this is it. This week we were back and had breakfast. Wonderful!
We were back because we had to pick up two mirrors we bought from Sue Bason at Sue's Antiques located at Hwy 152 and 27. Sue had personalized these two mirrors, one with NM motif, and one with TX. We live in both states. Sue did a wonderful job in the decorating of these mirrors.
Go see her, she is deliteful, Allow some time to browse, she has lot's of stuff. Ask her to tell you about the dreadful flood of 1972. Tell her Hi.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Danny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben L, Owner at Hillsboro General Store Cafe, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thanks, Danny for the kind words about your visit with us. I pass your comments to Sue. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A bit of history and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Set in the historic village of Hillsboro in an 1879 building - had a very good green chili cheeseburger and the price was reasonable.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Don O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benicia, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just like home cooking!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

Menu changes daily. Lots of locals enjoying a Sunday meal together. Large portions. Very tender meat. A new wine bar next door. Worth checking out. Nicky also owns Vintage Wine Bar in Mesilla, NM.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JBandDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hillsboro General Store Cafe also viewed

Hillsboro, Sierra County

Been to Hillsboro General Store Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing