We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jemez Hot Springs: Home of The Giggling Springs
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Jemez Hot Springs, Home of The Giggling Springs is located at the site of the earliest Bath House in the Jemez Springs area. Before that, the mineral water was used by the Native Americans of the area. Our water comes from deep beneath the Valles Caldera (ancient volcano) up the mountain. The four pools contain an ancient sea water abundant with a relaxing and therapeutic blend of minerals such as calcium, magnesium, potassium, iron, silica, sodium and more. The source is 142 degrees F, but the pools are kept at a comfortable 102-104 degrees. The water is natural, and no chlorine or chemicals are added. We use ultraviolet light, ionizers and an oxygen inversions system to disinfect the water, and they are flow-through pools, so the water changes out regularly. Swim suits are required, children 14 and over are welcome, and for the comfort of our guests. Reservations are not required.
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I found their card at the visitor center kiosk at ABQ and booked a 1-hour soak. My two friends and I loved the place and really enjoyed the relaxing and beneficial waters amid the lovely scenery. Then we 'giggled' up to Santa Fe. My friends are locals so hopefully they will return soon. I would definitely book again also.

1  Thank armstri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewMexicoTandT, Owner at Jemez Hot Springs: Home of The Giggling Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Hello!
Thank you for writing such a "NICE"!! review. We're so glad to know that guests are finding our information at the airport. We are thankful for the volunteers that work at the New Mexico visitors centers. We love that you giggled to Santa Fe! We look forward to your next giggle session!
Giggle On!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 157 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Great spot for a soak! My son and I had the place to ourselves and it was quite lovely. This is my second time there and I will continue to return. It seems a little pricey, but the tranquility is well worth it.. You can go cool off in the stream if the springs are too hot! Go, relax and enjoy! The facilities are great. The history makes a fun factor!

Thank blackbyrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewMexicoTandT, Owner at Jemez Hot Springs: Home of The Giggling Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Hello!
I know it gets old to read..."Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review"...but we are really grateful! Thank you for your return visit, or as we like to say, "Now you're an official Giggler!"
Have a wonderful day!
Team Giggle!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I really enjoyed my visit at Giggling Springs. The owner was very friendly and accommodating. The place was clean and well kept. The hot springs felt great! There is a nice place on site where you can change your clothes and use the restroom if you need to. There are also floating chairs that you can use while in the pool. If you go, order one of the fruit smoothies. It was delicious! This would be a lovely stop after hiking all day! Also, the surrounding grounds were lovely.

Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewMexicoTandT, Owner at Jemez Hot Springs: Home of The Giggling Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear Carol,
Thank you for your review. We can't think of a better thing to do after a hike than enjoy our hot spring and we're glad you agree! We hope you visit again.
Sincerely,
Team Giggle!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Beautiful setting for natural hot springs. The proprietor was friendly and helpful. Be sure to try her delicious Smoothies.

Thank wattswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewMexicoTandT, Owner at Jemez Hot Springs: Home of The Giggling Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Giggling Springs. We're glad you enjoyed your visit. Now, you have to come in the winter and try one of our 9 flavors of hot chocolate or an off the chain mocha latte!
Have a lovely day!
Team Giggle!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My girlfriend and I enjoyed a 1-hour soak. We went on a Thursday around noon and had the place all to ourselves. The staff was very cordial and welcoming, and everything was explained before we started. We were impressed with the cleanliness. The pool is very relaxing, with some seats submerged in the water like in a hot tub. A canvas sail provides shade over about half the pool and deck area. The pool is a flow through system so the water never stagnates. And the water is aerated by an air pump/fountain in the center of the pool. There is no sulfur content in the water so no smell. The cool-off stream, maybe 30 feet from the pool, was muddy from heavy overnight rain so we couldn't experience that. No mosquitos or other bugs were evident but that may have been because of the time of day. A couple hummingbirds buzzed around. The changing room is rather spartan but adequate for its purpose. We did not use the shower afterwards so no comments on that. Evidently recognizing that one person or couple in the changing room at a time can make patrons wait, the owners have built a couple changing booths to improve the situation. The cost of $18 for a one hour experience seems to be a fair price, although it probably discourages certain folks. The owners just run a tab so there is no need to decide at the start if you want one hour or two ($31). We thought one hour was perfect. In summary, we thought Giggling Springs was borderline hippie-funky but clean, safe and fun.

4  Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewMexicoTandT, Owner at Jemez Hot Springs: Home of The Giggling Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear Dave,
Thank you for your review. We are always trying to make our facility nicer. Our newest additions are the outdoor changing areas to keep guests from having to wait. Thank you also for mentioning the cleanliness. We do more than are required by the health dept. and are happy to say that we just passed our 10 year of perfect inspections. We hope you visit us again.
Have a great day!
Team Giggle!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jemez Hot Springs: Home of The Giggling Springs also viewed

 

Been to Jemez Hot Springs: Home of The Giggling Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing