We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of Owner's Dog”
Review of Elk Mountain Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jemez Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Elk Mountain Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jemez Springs
Reviewed 24 April 2011

Elk Mountain Lodge is a nice lodging facility located a few miles outside of Jemez. Well maintained.

We were frequent quests for several years and really enjoyed the propery until Terry, the owner, got himself a dog that roams the property unleashed. The dog is very friendly, a little too friendly for our liking and would not leave us alone throughout our stay always jumping on us and our vehicle - leaving numerous stratches. We brought our little (leashed) puppy with us and the owner's dog would not leave our dog alone - we had to load our puppy in the car to take it offsite to relieve himself.

Needless to say we won't be back and it is such a shame that the owner Terry wouldn't keep his dog either leashed or pinned, now we are left with no where to stay when visiting the area. Bummer!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Land&Sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
terrynten, Owner at Elk Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2011

This is in response to the one "average" review we had referring to our dog Kody. I have to say, he loves his new acquaintances to the point of annoyance . My two previous dogs were more or less pains in the rump for the same reason. In each case they were in the puppy stage of life as is Kody and I already see where he is maturing and getting less and less involved with the guests. Anyway , I always ask my guests to be firm , help me train him , if your need him to disappear, grab the broom hanging outside the door and give him a firm "go lay down".That lets him know its time to move along . This works really well, and in no way hurts my feelings. In fact one time , I mentioned to one of our guests, I would take $10.00 off his bill if he would do just that. (The broom thing). At this time he also does pretty good with a firm "go lay down" That's what I do anyway.
He is a very cool , lovable character and will certainly will be an asset as were my last two dogs. Thanks for checking out our site. Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2011

When we pulled up we automatically fell in love! We called last minute and made the reservations for valentines day, and the only rooms that were left were the cabin or the country lace room. We took the country lace room. Not only was the owner wonderful and helpful on the phone, he was amazing in person. The room was BEAUTIFUL! the satellite dish in the room wasn't working but he came in and fixed it without complaint. I'd have to say that the burritos he makes for breakfast were awesome! We didn't want to leave! We have already made plans to come back and stay in another room in. the summer and also bring some friends and stay in the cabin! If your looking to visit Jemez, you'd make a huge mistake staying anywhere else!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reddelico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarthBascom, Owner at Elk Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2014

Thank you for your review of the Elk Mountain Lodge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

We were exploring both Jemez Springs and Bandalier, so this was the perfect location to spend a night between those areas. We were not disappointed. Matter of fact, our room, the Santa Fe, is even nicer than the on line photos. It is a cozy room with comfy bed, lots of pillows and many special touches, including interesting artwork. And a BIG plus -- the lodge is in a very quiet location without traffic noise. Terry made sure we had what we needed to prepare burgers on the grill right outside our door. Breakfast in the morning was not your usual "continental". Joanne prepared fresh pecan pancakes, which we enjoyed with a great cup of coffee. There was an array of baked goods, fresh fruit, cereal -- more than adequate to get us ready for a day of hiking. We will definitely stay there again when we visit this beautiful area in NW New Mexico.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EnchantedTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarthBascom, Owner at Elk Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2014

Thank you for your review of the Elk Mountain Lodge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2009

We stayed a couple of days in the Santa Fe Room of the Elk Mountain Lodge to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The room was perfect in every way - very nicely decorated with beautiful artwork, comfy queen bed, jacuzzi tub, bar, fridge, toaster, microwave and a grill right outside our door. Terry was an awesome host - gave us great information about the area and what things we could do - and he made the best breakfast burritos with the best-tasting coffee! We have such busy lives that we don't often take time out to relax, regroup, and enjoy the simple things of life -- this is the place to do just that. We loved it and look forward to going back.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosieMZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarthBascom, Owner at Elk Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2014

Thank you for your review of the Elk Mountain Lodge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2007

We stay at the Elk Mountain Lodge whenever we do an overnight in Jemez. Our favorite room is the Santa Fe room because it just feels as good as home. With the open bath and the bar counter with bar stools and fridge, the room is unique and certainly welcoming. Very spacious. We even had our own grill on our patio!

The main lodge room is huge with lots of glass and views across the river to the meadow and rock formations. A great place to eat breakfast! They served a continental breakfast with more choices than I could eat in one sitting...so you won't go hungry.

The setting was right up against a great smelling pine forest and was so quiet at night. The stars are incredible. Our host, Terry, built a fire in the evening and we all roasted hot dogs! It is like going camping, but better. Imagine camping in a pine forest, along side of a stream, but instead of a tent to turn in to, you have a luxury room with a jacuzzi tub. Thats my kind of trip to the mountains! We will return as often as we can. This place is the best!

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank ABQSadieJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarthBascom, Owner at Elk Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2014

Thank you for your review of the Elk Mountain Lodge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
122
Reviewed 23 July 2003

My wife and I took our two children, ages 9 and 6, to Jemez Springs to visit friends who were camping at the Jemez Falls Campground. Not interested in the camping experience we made reservations with Terry Stright at his bed and breakfast, Elk Mountain Lodge.Although the Elk Mountain Lodge is designed more for couples, we stayed in the Royal Aspen Room which was perfect for our needs. The kids loved the jacuzzi and the "waterfall" shower.Terry is a very accomodating host and our stay was wonderful.I don't believe tripadvisor allows posting of commercial websites but you can find the Elk Mountain Lodge by searching Google using the terms "elk mountain lodge" and "jemez".

22  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarthBascom, Owner at Elk Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2014

Thank you for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GerCoDus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarthBascom, Public Relations Manager at Elk Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jemez Springs
18.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Los Alamos
24.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Los Alamos
21.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Los Alamos Entrada Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Canyon Inn - Downtown Los Alamos
19.2 mi away
Pueblo Canyon Inn
Pueblo Canyon Inn
#1 of 4 in Los Alamos
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Mountain Lodge

Address: 37485 Highway 126, Jemez Springs, NM 87025-9201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Jemez Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jemez Springs
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elk Mountain Lodge is a custom built bed and breakfast with all the modern amenities. With beautiful, massive flagstones on radiant heated floors, log walls and high knotty pine ceilings, we combine rustic elegance and comfort to assure you a pleasant, restful stay in the majestic, Jemez Mountains. Rivers, trees and wildlife abound combined with panoramic and breath taking views. Everything you love to do is just minutes away. You’ll love our warm, friendly atmosphere.Elk Mountain Lodge offers five beautifully appointed mountain suites, each with private entrances and personal Jacuzzi tub. Every suite will wrap you in that cozy rustic mountain feel that warms the heart and soothes the mind.The main lodge itself includes a beautiful rustic, vaulted beam great room with WiFi, wood burning stove, large screen satellite TV, and comfortable lounge furniture. There is a large dining table where we will serve you a delicious hearty breakfast for a wonderful start to your day. Soothing music is often heard throughout the main Lodge in an effort to take the edge off your busy life schedule. Up here, you’re on “Jemez Time”!The front deck is part of the large outdoor common area. Here you find a BBQ, a wood burning iron kiva, patio furniture, beautiful views of the pinnacle rocks, the Jemez River down below, and quaint grassy meadows of the La Cueva area. On summer evenings, we all usually congregate to the back lodge area for a campfire, soothing guitar music and a glass of your favorite libation (BYOB, we’ve got the guitar!). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing