We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, fun service”
Review of The Shed

The Shed
Ranked #7 of 382 Restaurants in Las Cruces
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Southwestern
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Dallas, Tx
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great food, fun service”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

One of the best breakfasts my wife and I ever had! Stayed overnight in LC and tried The Shed on a whim. What a meal- wonderful fresh breads and fruits, excellent heuvos with green chile sauce (sublime). Good coffee and tea, and a really good waitress. Atmosphere a bit off the wall, but one simply cannot start the day any better than at a place like this. Loved every minute of it!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TX2OBX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    45
    15
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Migas = "Crumbs" Try it, you'll love it”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I loved the Migas so much, that I went back to this place two more times and had it both times! I liked to mix potatoes and beans and added extra green chile. I've never had something like this and now I'm stealing the idea for home. The staff are awesome, the flavored coffee during Sunday brunch was tasty and they were able to seat a huge party with little difficulty. The decore is...um...unique, but the food more than makes up for the "shed" having fish on the walls.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vnboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“What a surprise!”
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

This place looks like nothing from the outside, but the unique decor, friendly service and delicious food make the inside a place you want to return to again and again. Breakfast is a slam dunk here! Well done!

Helpful?
Thank btaillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Korea
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food, Great Experience!!”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

A true hidden gem, The Shed offers something for the entire family. Brightly painted walls, aquatic decor, excellent food and prompt, friendly service are just the appetizer to your experience at The Shed. They offer a wide variety of brunch and dinner options, flavored coffee, delicious pastries, indoor and outdoor dining, as well as a selection of alcoholic beverages. If you are ever in Las Cruces, The Shed is a restaurant you must visit!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“a shed-load of awesomeness”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Whenever visiting Las Cruces, we try to eat as much New Mexican cuisine as possible. After lunches at all of the usual suspects, we were looking for something different and tried The Shed for breakfast. Our family of six each ordered something different and were all delighted with our selections. I had the breakfast enchiladas with brisket and green chili sauce. This was the hottest chili sauce I've had all week (hot = awesome), and the brisket meat was melt-in-your-mouth tender. The baked-on-site whole-wheat toast was perhaps the best toast I have had in any restaurant anywhere (so good we bought a loaf to go). Even the (brewed) coffee seemed a cut above. The rest of our party ordered migas, chicken-fried steak, breakfast burrito, french brie delight, and pancakes, and each proclaimed that their meal was the best.

The vibe is slightly eccentric, and the servers were uniformly cheerful and helpful. Will definitely return on my next visit to LC and look forward to trying other breakfast dishes and branching out to lunch.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Shed also viewed

 

Been to The Shed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing