We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Come For the Pizza”

Luna Rossa Winery & Pizzeria
Ranked #6 of 380 Restaurants in Las Cruces
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Wine Bar, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dodgeville
Level Contributor
246 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Don't Come For the Pizza”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I dined at Luna Rossa on a Saturday night recently. It was so loud that I could not hear the person next to me. The "entertainment" only worsened the atmosphere. The pizza was half burned and half undercooked. It tasted doughy and sour when not burned. My friends' pasta dishes were only slightly better. The service was acceptable, time-wise. The waitress was very kind and even offered to get me another pizza--which I declined. I did not try the wine. Hopefully, it is the reason to come here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul4ejjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    105
    24
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lockport, New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

While visiting friends in El Paso, TX, we went to lunch at Luna Rossa. We tasted a bunch of wine - some of which were very delicious. We tried the white pizza, spicy salami pizza, and the prosciutto pizza - all of which were delicious. Our waitress was very friendly and we were extremely pleased with our experience overall.

Helpful?
Thank Jillebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great Pizza and Wine”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

If you're in the Las Cruces/Mesilla area and have a hankering for pizza and/or wine, Luna Rossa is well worth the stop. The pizza is a bit more European style than what you may be used to, so don't go there expecting an upscale Pizza Hut. They also have a variety of other Italian style dishes and desserts that looked great.

As the name suggests, they also stock wines from the Luna Rossa Winery (and some others, too, I believe), and as some other reviewers have noted, wine and pizza make a great combination.

So, if you're looking for a fresh twist on pizza or are in the mood for Italian in general, Luna Rossa is definitely worth dropping by.

P.S. If you happen to be staying at the Hacienda RV Resort, Luna Rossa is literally around the corner and is a convenient place to grab a great lunch or dinner when you don't feel like driving around much.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank KreelanWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
221 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Pros and cons”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Pros: Good pasta with meat sauce. Terrific Refosca red wine. Good pizza.
Cons: Service very slow, not enough help, frustrating.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travel963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great wine and food”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We sat on the patio and enjoyed a great wine tasting, good pizza and a wonderful calzone (ham and green chili)! It was my friend's birthday and our waitress heard us wishing her a happy birthday. She then brings out this huge slice of chocolate cake and enough forks for the group. I would definitely rate the service as excellent! What a relaxing, enjoyable meal!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Luna Rossa Winery & Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Luna Rossa Winery & Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing