We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best Hole in the Wall Mexican Restaurants in Las Cruces - From a Local”

La Nueva Casita Cafe
Ranked #1 of 383 Restaurants in Las Cruces
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“One of the Best Hole in the Wall Mexican Restaurants in Las Cruces - From a Local”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

If you are from out of town, have your phone GPS working in order to find this wonderful hole in the wall restaurant. Great food – I prefer the green chile to the red chile, but both are good. Also, the posole is very good. Many small restaurants have good food but horrible service – not at La Casita. The staff is very attentive to get you more water, refills on sodas; they always make certain that there is plenty of salsa and chips.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Casmir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    124
    24
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This place is by far the greatest ever. I recommend to all. The girl with the ponytail is a great server. She makes sure your getting the service to fulfill ur needs. Food is in timely manner streaming hot. I hate cold food. This is why I keep returning back. Stop by and visit this place you'll like it. Thank you so much. Keep up the good work.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Carnation65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa S, Owner at La Nueva Casita Cafe, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for your feed back . Your comments help us ensure we are giving our customers the best possible experience. Thank you for being a loyal customers. You truly are appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Update”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

After dining here many times the food is really good...Yogi along with the other servers try their best to wait on you. Have tried nearly all the items on the menu and all have been delicious. They will even work with you on special requests. Also good lunch specials, especially the ground beef enchiladas with green sauce.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Retired822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Has joined the ranks of average Mexican food.”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This little place use to be one of the best Mexican restaurants in Las Cruces. It has, over the last year, joined the ranks of average, can get anywhere, Mexican food. Yoli left and the service, food quality and flavor of the food changed. I still like La Casita it is just no longer a place I take visitors from out of town to taste the best of New Mexico.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hootyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“NO NO NO”
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

I found this place after reading the reviews on trip advisor and I must say I was steered in the wrong direction. This place was horrible. The menu has more breakfast items than dinner/lunch items. There wasn't a fajita or quesadilla on the menu. How do you have a Mexican restaurant without those items???? I don't understand how this is number 4 in Las Cruces. There are hundreds of options for Mexican food... go somewhere else.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa S, Owner at La Nueva Casita Cafe, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
I am so sorry you were unhappy with your visit to our restaurant. Perhaps our menu was not clearly formatted, however our menu does feature quesadillas with your choice of ground beef, chicken or just cheese. Unfortunately, we currently do not offer a fajita platter, but a fajita salad. We appreciate our customers greatly, and if there is something you would like that is not on the menu, we will be glad to try and accomodate. We hope you will visit us again and give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Nueva Casita Cafe also viewed

 

Been to La Nueva Casita Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing