We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Food is So-So, Prices Are Reasonable” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ranchway BBQ & Mexican Food

Ranchway BBQ & Mexican Food
Ranked #87 of 377 Restaurants in Las Cruces
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“The Food is So-So, Prices Are Reasonable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stopped here based on the reviews. Husband and I had the pulled pork sandwiches. The price was reasonable and came with a small bowl of chips and salsa. The sandwiches were on big buns, but the meat was more chopped up in small bits than pulled. The sauce was just ok. The chips were quite greasy and the salsa was thin. It was adequate, but we've had a lot better.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank poodytat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    14
    8
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
116 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good eats”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Have dined here several times and the food has been very good. From brisket plate, burritos, and even green cheese enchilada plates was delicious. Downside is usually crowded at lunch times plus having to order at counter and going back for chip and salsa refills. Even with that small inconvenience is definitely worth eating at.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Retired822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Disappointing restaurant. ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had dinner here and were disappointed with the food. They have both BBQ and Mexican food. She had the pulled pork sandwich and I had the relleno plate. The pork was in a large bun swimming in BBQ sauce and was very messy. The rellenos were under done so I returned them. I opted for the chicken flauta and it wasn't too bad. They are known for their flautas however. It is a somewhat small and rustic restaurant that has been there for many years. I can't say we'd recommend it but there are better places in town.

Helpful?
Thank Schweizer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

My husband and I have been going to Ranchway for a long time now. 99% of the time, the food is excellent (especially the refried beans....), the service is okay.... since you pick up your own food and drinks. The gentleman taking the orders is hot and cold... to one customer he might be happy go lucky and the next cold and matter of fact.
I am glad I haven't had the experience with the cockroach or raw meat (like one person did)... cuz I would never go back there.
I think their prices are a little high, and the one time you are really craving it... you go and they are closed... but that is what happens in a small town with lots and lots of mom & pop places. It is definitely worth the try... you have to be your own judge.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bniceangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
54 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“RECANT of my previous good review.....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

After a recent bad experience, I cannot recommend this restaurant as I did previously, and I have to mention this experience due to sanitation concerns. I went there early one morning for shredded beef and bean burros (to go) for my crowd, but was floored when I got home and started handing these out. The shredded beef in the burros was nearly raw and cut in HUGE chunks! I immediately went back to the restaurant and was offered something different. HOWEVER, while I was standing at the counter, a medium-sized COCKROACH slowly crawled across the counter. Without hesitation, the older gentleman who was helping me (the owner?) smashed the thing with his hand right on the counter and just left the "stain" there. OMG. My stomach turned right there.....what else is roaming around free in this place?? I'm DONE with you, Ranchway. Too bad, you had potential :(

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank futureprofessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ranchway BBQ & Mexican Food also viewed

 

Been to Ranchway BBQ & Mexican Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing