We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice bit of classic charm”
Review of Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Plaza Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I stayed here a couple nights for a business trip. The first night the tempratures were quite low and the heater wasn't working very well, so the next day, housekeeping brought in a space heater which warmed up the room nicely. The room was a decent size with a full size bed and view over looking a dirt parking lot, perhaps if you don't book on priceline you'll get a better view. Where I was staying didn't have re-entry access from the back of the building so I had to park in the street out front of the hotel. The bathroom was spacious and modern, the TV however, was a bit small and dated, but had a good selection of channels. The breakfast was a nice change from the standard continental breakfast. There were about 6 items offered on the menu that were served sit down style from 7-9 am, I overheard the waiter say that guest breakfast covered about $5, but that you could order additional items for a fee. Not a bad stay and conveniently located in the heart of the historic district and down the street from the university.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ooSPICY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kami P, Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for staying at the beautiful Historic Plaza Hotel in Las Vegas NM .We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in general. Be sure to call the hotel directly to make your reservation next time, the prices are the same as on Priceline and you can upgrade as well.

We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and look forward to having you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (572)
There are newer reviews for Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

380 - 386 of 572 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed in the adjacent building, king room overlooking the Plaza Park. Lovely huge room and bathroom! Front desk staff was friendly. Some scenes for the "Longmire" cable series are filmed on the Las Vegas Plaza, many shots of the hotel exterior and the Plaza Park. We also enjoyed drinks in Byron T's, the downstairs saloon. There isn't much to do in the small town of Las Vegas, this hotel is the main attraction.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank B H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kami P, Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you for staying at the beautiful Historic Plaza Hotel in Las Vegas NM .We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and have such nice things to say about our treasure.

We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and look forward to having you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We used to love it. But now not so much! Food Service used to be great but the menu has been changed (at least according to the manager) but is not reflected in the actual menu. This means when you order expecting to get a particular meal you will probably be disappointed. Most people would never expect to get half a slice of toast with no butter either on the toast or on the table for breakfast. The evening meal in the Resturant was also slow, and the quality of the food was not up to the standard we had come to expect. Had we known how mediocre the food had become we would have gone out because there are several very good local Mexican Food places within walking distance of the hotel. The service was one of the things we really used to enjoy about staying in this hotel. It has gone to the dogs in the last year. The help staff with the noteable exception of Sean the night manager, did not appear to know what they were doing or much care either. We were missing items when we checked into our room (glasses, coffee cups) the remote for the TV would not operate the dang thing and when a replacement was provided, it didn't work either. It appears that the owners are trying to save money but doing it in the wrong places...Service and Food!

Room Tip: Rooms not on the Plaza are much quieter.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silvertip1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kami P, Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are sorry to hear that your did not enjoy your stay with us as usual. Please know that we take your feedback into consideration and we hope to welcome you back to show you that we care about you and your experience while visiting Las Vegas NM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We have stayed at The Plaza many times over the years and one if the reasons is that besides the hotel being very unique, we have always had a great dinner and breakfast during our stay. The restaurant was a big disappointment during our last visit. We had three different waitresses ask us for our order for dinner, the one who actually took it and then came back to ask what we ordered, because she forgot. When the food came, it was nothing special. The wait staff seemed to almost be bumping in to each other, very chaotic. The breakfast order was wrong despite the fact that there were only two other tables. The waitress just said "well they must have mixed up your order". The restaurant probably needs a good manager, clearly they don't have one right now.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sf_moore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kami P, Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank you for staying at The Plaza Hotel in Las Vegas NM .We are sorry to hear that your experience of the restaurant was not up to par. We hope to get a chance to welcome you back soon so we can take proper care of you while you are visiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I cannot believe that anyone would pass this place for a chain motel. It is perfectly situated, has rich history, is priced competitively, and has all the amenities you would expect/need. The receptionist was particularly friendly and courteous. The location cannot be better - can stroll to town at any time and take the scenery in. I think I will look for a reason to return here. Did I mention that the place will accommodate the pet as well? Our "pet" was very pleased.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elkabelka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kami P, Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Thank you for staying at the beautiful Historic Plaza Hotel in Las Vegas NM .We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and have such nice things to say about our treasure.

We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and look forward to having you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed at the Plaza Hotel on New Year's Eve 2013. We loved our room. It was apparently in the "new" section of the hotel. It was a large room with a small refrigerator and a microwave oven. Since it was New year's Eve, of course it was noisy into the wee hours with lots of door slamming and people partying in the halls. I think security was called at one point. We didn't have a problem with any of that. Our one complaint was the lack of hot water in the morning. Nothing like a tepid shower to greet the New Year! We were told, "it's an old hotel and people are showering all at the same time." Later, as we were checking out, we were told the problem had been fixed by turning up the thermostat. Why wasn't that done earlier in anticipation of the morning rush? Well, there was a perfectly logical explanation. "People might get burned if the temperature is too high." There are signs all over the building about water conservation. I wonder how much was wasted by people waiting for their showers to heat up?

Otherwise, our stay was a lot of fun. Good food, good music, friendly staff, and free-spirited party revellers all made our little jaunt to Las Vegas a delight. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room overlooking the plaza had a great view of the downtown. However, the curtains did not black...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StellaGuadalupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kami P, Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Thank you for staying at the beautiful Historic Plaza Hotel in Las Vegas NM .We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the New Year's Eve Festivities

We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and look forward to having you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

This hotel has been nicely restored to its original 1880's elegance (perhaps the plumbing could use an update!); the Christmas decorations made it very festive. The hotel is right on the historic town square, within walking distance of most historic sites. The room was large and comfortable, and the staff very nice and helpful. The bar is small, but bustling, even on the December weeknight we were there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kami P, Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank you for staying at our beautiful Plaza Hotel in Las Vegas NM .We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience of the hotel and acknowledge our team member efforts. We can't wait to welcome you back very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Montezuma Inn & Suites
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 8 in Las Vegas
393 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Vegas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Las Vegas
Days Inn Las Vegas
#6 of 8 in Las Vegas
331 reviews
68.3 mi away
Super 8 Las Vegas
Super 8 Las Vegas
#1 of 8 in Las Vegas
1,230 reviews
1.1 mi away
Knights Inn Las Vegas NM
Knights Inn Las Vegas NM
#7 of 8 in Las Vegas
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel

Address: 230 Plaza St, Las Vegas, NM 87701-3433
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Las Vegas
Price Range: £73 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finest historic hotel (1882) and fine dining in Northern New Mexico, overlooking the beautiful Plaza Park. This is the only hotel in downtown historic Las Vegas - once the biggest and richest city in New Mexico, with 1000+ historic buildings! Purchased in 2014 by owners of the legendary La Posada in Winslow AZ, the Plaza Hotel is receiving a top-to-bottom upgrade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Las Vegas, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing