We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Renovated historic hotel, at a good value”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Plaza Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Renovated historic hotel, at a good value”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Our stay at the Plaza overall was good. The room, located in the new section of the hotel, was quiet, with high ceilings and well cared for antiques. The hotel is conveniently located to the historic districts, and to the interstate. The hotel restaurant and bar both serve superb food. That said, there were some issues with our stay -- housekeeping forgot to leave us towels, which we didn't discover until trying to get ready our first morning. Then they forgot to leave additional toilet paper. Both issues were easily fixed, but should not have happened at all. The other issue with the room was the hot water -- the front desk warned us at check-in that the hot water can get stuck 'on', when you get in the shower, and to let it run for a while to fix it. This was not correct -- while taking a shower, which was already at a comfortable temperature, all of a sudden the water turned scalding hot, no matter where I turned the dial. Luckily I didn't get burned, though it was an adventure trying to rinse off at that point. Also, the cold water faucet in the sink always ran warm. We had seen other reviews mention the slow service in the restaurant. Unfortunately we had the same experience -- the servers were friendly, but very overloaded. At breakfast the first morning, there was only one for the entire dining room. Diners ended up having to get their own refills and some were becoming irritated by the end of their meals due to the slowness. Dinner had a few more servers, so was less of an issue.

Despite the problems, we would likely stay again if in Las Vegas, as the value for the price was quite good. Would have rated the property at 4 stars if not for the issue with the hot water.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors and in the new section are quieter. Front desk warned us that rooms close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoG72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    165
    40
    18
    19
See reviews for
111
223
37
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Plaza is not your cookie cutter chain hotel. Everything in it suggests another era. We stayed here on our honeymoon almost 29 years ago and have stayed here off and on since then. They have continued to improve. When we arrived here recently on a Friday night the downstairs bar was hopping with live music. The desk clerk moved us up another floor away from the noise. The room was lovely and old fashioned. In the morning the free breakfast is ordered off a menu and served in the restaurant. It was delicious.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
260 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

As others have pointed out, this hotel has been in receivership for some time. I applaud them for keeping it open at all. The lobby lacks the charm of past visits, but our room was as it had always been---spacious, clean, quiet and comfortable w/ a lovely view of the plaza. Service has always been dicey at best of times, and no change there--there doesn't seem to be a motivated work force available in town. Dinner at the Landmark wasn't particularly good, but given that we were one of two tables, the hotel is in a lame duck management before new owner takes over, and it's Las Vegas NM, expectations were low. Breakfast on the other hand, was free and delicious. It was a little annoying to watch the waitress seated and screwing w/her iPhone, but it tells you everything you need to know that she wasn't upbraided for this, b'c the seeming hotel mgr was sitting in the lobby doing the same.... Can't wait for the new owner to get his hand in here, and hope he keeps it an affordable, laid-back, pet-friendly place.

Room Tip: Overlooking the plaza, of course
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckyWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
339 reviews
338 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

It is a historic hotel and it has a lot of atmosphere. Therefore I'll be graceful with criticism. One thing I have to mention: They rent out a room to two adults that has only one bedside table. And this wasn't historic, only a bit shabby. A second one of these wouldn't hurt. Otherwise I was happy: very friendly staff, OK breakfast and, as I said, loads of atmosphere.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank terbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We have always loved the plaza hotel. We have stayed there quite a few times and was always lovely, However recently we tried staying there and first we got a room with a very strong smell of pine sol so we changed our rooms. It started out great, And then we found a bug, but we didnt realize it was a bed bug at first. We ordered room service and ate dinner, not giving it another thought, until the bugs started appearing again. We called down to the front desk and the guy, Sean at the front desk mentioned that they could change our room again or they could change the sheets and even said that the bugs may be the cause of a recent large amount of rain. So anyway, after we called him we looked them up online and found the excact bugs we had in our room- Bedbugs!!! wondering if the pine sol smell was there way of trying to clean and get rid of them, but giving the housekeeping it doesnt look like they clean too well anyway seeing how a pair of womens sandals were still under the bed. we left and got another hotel pronto! Would not recommend staying there unless it is positive they have cleaned and gotten rid of them for good. Stayed June 4th 2014

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Donnie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My mother and I spent the weekend in Las Vegas, NM just for fun and stayed one night here. The staff was most accommodating and friendly and treated us like V.I.P.s! The room was spacious and beautiful! I'd stayed in the old part of the hotel before and this time got one of the new rooms. They kept the sense of the original hotel in the decor and space. Our in-room coffee maker didn't have a basket for the filter, so we called down to the front desk and they sent up an entire decanter of coffee from the dining room! The price is very reasonable for the lovely accommodations, too! Our room looked out over the plaza, which was just beautiful! The hotel is within walking distance of the historical districts of the city and the architecture is amazing in that area. The buildings are old and you really get the sense of going back in time. We will definitely be going back, only this time, I may never leave the hotel, it's really that great.

Room Tip: If you want to try an experience the "spirit" of the hotel, and don't mind what goes b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico mountains
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I stayed for 3 nights with my friend to attend the Historical Society of New Mexico Convention. The Hotel was filled to capacity, so the delightful free breakfast was a bit difficult due to everyone wanting to get to the programs at 8:00 am. The staff was overworked then, but still managed to get everyone served. Yes, they ran out of one or two items on the menu, but there were still plenty of good breakfasts to choose from (AND THEY ARE FREE HOT BREAKFASTS- so stop complaining).
The room was on the second floor (the "new" wing) and faced a brick wall. Nonetheless, it was charming, comfortable and roomy enough for the two of us gals. We also saw the Biker group at the bar. They rode the most beautiful Harleys I have ever seen and they were all immaculate showpieces. The Bikers were all very friendly, and although the group was a bit noisy on the outside patio, they were no noisier than us convention goers in the bar.
The hotel is right on the historic Plaza and walking distance to most of the interesting sites and NM Highland University. This is not a modern hotel, so if you do not want to enjoy idiosyncratic service and a mix of cultures, you should go to a motel chain.
The Plaza did an outstanding job serving the 350 guests at the Convention Banquet- prime rib with all the trimmings and delicious carrot cake for dessert.
The Plaza Hotel is a unique experience and a good way to start an exploration of New Mexico history.

Room Tip: I am told that the rooms facing the Plaza can be noisy, but you have the view. I stayed on the seco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ecolinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kami P, Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for staying at our charming jewel The Plaza Hotel in Las Vegas NM .We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with your group and thank you for being a part of this big event at our hotel. We hope to welcome you back soon when you take a dedicated vacation to Las Vegas NM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Montezuma Inn & Suites
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Vegas
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 8 in Las Vegas
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Las Vegas
Days Inn Las Vegas
#6 of 8 in Las Vegas
288 reviews
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Las Vegas
Super 8 Las Vegas
#1 of 8 in Las Vegas
1,169 reviews
1.1 mi away
Knights Inn Las Vegas NM
Knights Inn Las Vegas NM
#7 of 8 in Las Vegas
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel

Property: Plaza Hotel
Address: 230 Plaza St, Las Vegas, NM 87701-3433
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finest historic hotel (1882) and fine dining in Northern New Mexico, overlooking the beautiful Plaza Park. This is the only hotel in downtown historic Las Vegas - once the biggest and richest city in New Mexico, with 1000+ historic buildings! Purchased in 2014 by owners of the legendary La Posada in Winslow AZ, the Plaza Hotel is receiving a top-to-bottom upgrade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Las Vegas, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing