We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Hotel on the Plaza”
Review of Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Plaza Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
San Marcos, TX
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Historic Hotel on the Plaza”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

While this is not the newest and most modern hotel I have ever stayed in, it is still a very classy, historical experience. My room on the quiet side of the hotel was very clean and quite large, decorated in an older victorian style - lacy curtains, creaky floors. The staff is super-polite, friendly and helpful; from the concierge to the wait staff to the bartenders - everyone was great. Make sure to use your complimentary breakfast tickets as this is one of the BEST free full-service breakfasts I have ever had. Great value and a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: There is a quiet side and a more noisy side to this hotel. The side that looks over the plaza can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thePeste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    179
    44
    18
    19
See reviews for
116
240
41
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vinita, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

If you are looking for Victorian Rooms with a Historic flare this is a GREAT place to stay.

Staff was VERY polite and helpful.

Our room was a 1 room Queen, room seemed quit large.

Room was clean, Bathroom was up to date, and Bedding was Clean.

TV was a very small (19 inch) and questionable on what channels. ( but we were not there to watch TV)

We would stay there again if in Las Vegas.

Only downside was breakfast, that day they were very disorganized, it took an hour to have some hash browns and bacon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 318bks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This hotel is great the front desk staff are very very help full.
The room was very clean and quite big bath coffee maker.
The breakfast was the best I have had in the usa cooked so well.
I like the old style mix with the modern.
The view from our window was so nice.

Room Tip: Don't miss breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We enjoyed the stay, I was greeted by name (unusual at most hotels) great breakfast. Like others that commented the spring beds were just ok, but the location and friendless were great. I would stay again.

Room Tip: discount for family of college students going to Luna Community College
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We stay here twice a year and it is something we always look forward to. Lovely grand dame, soon to be refreshed by me owner. We hope the atmosphere, service, value will still be great. Adorable staff. Truly dog friendly. Special town & hotel enjoyed by local townspeople and lucky travelers. Great bar and restaurant. Elegant yet unpretentious.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank worntires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I was there for my daughter's graduation at UWC Montezuma.

This was a wonderful historical place. The fact that it was still in business after all these years staying there is a privilege.

We had the ground floor room. With our heavy luggage we couldn't complain.

The spring bed was dated, not my kind but I tolerated. The big bathroom and powder room was old school which was a novelty.

Hot Breakfast was served which was very country.

The bar seemed to be well patronised till late, which made it lively.

I would recommend it to all UWC USA parents.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Esham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Our stay at the Plaza overall was good. The room, located in the new section of the hotel, was quiet, with high ceilings and well cared for antiques. The hotel is conveniently located to the historic districts, and to the interstate. The hotel restaurant and bar both serve superb food. That said, there were some issues with our stay -- housekeeping forgot to leave us towels, which we didn't discover until trying to get ready our first morning. Then they forgot to leave additional toilet paper. Both issues were easily fixed, but should not have happened at all. The other issue with the room was the hot water -- the front desk warned us at check-in that the hot water can get stuck 'on', when you get in the shower, and to let it run for a while to fix it. This was not correct -- while taking a shower, which was already at a comfortable temperature, all of a sudden the water turned scalding hot, no matter where I turned the dial. Luckily I didn't get burned, though it was an adventure trying to rinse off at that point. Also, the cold water faucet in the sink always ran warm. We had seen other reviews mention the slow service in the restaurant. Unfortunately we had the same experience -- the servers were friendly, but very overloaded. At breakfast the first morning, there was only one for the entire dining room. Diners ended up having to get their own refills and some were becoming irritated by the end of their meals due to the slowness. Dinner had a few more servers, so was less of an issue.

Despite the problems, we would likely stay again if in Las Vegas, as the value for the price was quite good. Would have rated the property at 4 stars if not for the issue with the hot water.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors and in the new section are quieter. Front desk warned us that rooms close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoG72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Montezuma Inn & Suites
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 8 in Las Vegas
385 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Vegas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Las Vegas
Days Inn Las Vegas
#6 of 8 in Las Vegas
330 reviews
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Las Vegas
Super 8 Las Vegas
#1 of 8 in Las Vegas
1,215 reviews
1.1 mi away
Knights Inn Las Vegas NM
Knights Inn Las Vegas NM
#7 of 8 in Las Vegas
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel

Property: Plaza Hotel
Address: 230 Plaza St, Las Vegas, NM 87701-3433
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finest historic hotel (1882) and fine dining in Northern New Mexico, overlooking the beautiful Plaza Park. This is the only hotel in downtown historic Las Vegas - once the biggest and richest city in New Mexico, with 1000+ historic buildings! Purchased in 2014 by owners of the legendary La Posada in Winslow AZ, the Plaza Hotel is receiving a top-to-bottom upgrade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Las Vegas, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing