We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value under priced”
Review of Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Plaza Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great value under priced”
Reviewed 25 February 2011

Great room . well appointed ./wonderful price. Andyou get to order of f the menu for breakfast!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank floyd2200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    179
    44
    18
    20
See reviews for
116
240
41
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2011

We drove 24-hours straight on a cross-country trip and ended up in Las Vegas, NM on a whim and couldn't have ended up in a better place. For $70 we got some of the best service, best locals, best room and best breakfast. Snaps to Sean at the front desk -- what a helpful, friendly man. He gave us a big room so we could spread out after being in the car for so long, the key to the haunted room so we could check it out and directions to local hot springs to relax in in the morning. Hang at the bar for some good insight from the locals and don't miss breakfast -- the best breakfast of our whole trip. Thank you so much Plaza Hotel!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JosephineKoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

We were there for one night. Upon check-in, the door to the adjacent bar was open with music coming in to the lobby that was so loud we couldn't hear each other in normal conversational tone of voice. The person at the check-in desk was unable to take care of us, stating she didn't normally work at the front desk and had to find someone else. While this gentleman was pleasant hearing him was compromised, again due to the loud music. It seemed to not occur to him to close the door.

Our room was on the third floor in the newly renovated section of the building. At various places along the hallway there were random pieces of old furniture (a chair, an old fashioned child's school desk and chair) that perhaps were supposed to lend character or a "period" feel, but only served to make the areas look like someone had given no thought to decorating. As we walked from section of the building to another we noticed grossly mismatched carpeting. Our room was so small there was barely room to turn around. We could not walk around the bed and pass each other without bumping into each other. The single chair was old with a seat that almost fell through (I weigh 115 lbs.). No closet, just a hanging rod. I'm frugal, but all of the furnishings were cheap. The pillows felt as though they were the cheapest available at any bargain store and had been used for years. The mattress was sagging. We awoke the next morning with sore necks and backs. Small, rough towels.

The room was painted, but that was it in terms of any attempt to decorate or create any sort of ambiance. There was not a single piece of artwork of any kind on the walls: no prints, posters, pictures, nothing.

This place is a mess. The bannister of the once beautiful staircase had been dismantled (possibly for refinishing) but put back together with uneven seams.


At breakfast in the restaurant the next morning, I sat in a chair before realizing there were rather large bits of food and crumbs on the stained seat. Our breakfast server was mostly attentive and personable. The cook, however, mixed up our orders, putting green chile on my dish when I'd requested red chile and red chile on my companion's dish, when he'd requested green chile. As a result, our breakfast took much longer to reach us than it should have as the cook had to remake our dishes. Our server explained the mix-up when he brought our food, but not during our long wait.

We'd been to this hotel in the past when the owners and staff took pride in this landmark. It now appears no one cares about the appearance of the place, nor about the comfort of it's guests. What a shame! In this economy when hotel occupancy is lower than usual, one would think the owners of the Plaza Hotel would be bending over back ward to provide guests with a positive memorable experience. Ours was memorable, but definitely not in a good way. On future visits to Las Vegas, we'll skip the "old fashioned character" and go for comfort and space elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SantaFean1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2010

In this Hotel, there is the antique side and the new side - I have stayed in the new side twice and look forward to the opportunity of returning again one day. (New is a relative term because the "new" building as old as the original hotel). There is such history here, the design allows a wonderful choice in types of accommodations - but I'm partial to the comfort of the new! The restaurant is great. So is the staff. They work hard and try hard to make sure guests enjoy their stay. It's fun! And quirky in a good way. The shops in Las Vegas have just as much personality as well. Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackhillslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 November 2010

My family & I ended up staying at the Plaza as weather turned bad shutting down out route home. We took a chance and checked into the Plaza over other "cheap" motels nearby. I'm so glad we did! The rooms were immaculate and large. The atmosphere was fun and historical. I also was able to secure a rate lower than I expected...much lower. Thank you Plaza! We will return!

Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jjjcheshek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

What a great place to stay. The attention to Victorian detail is great. Not your run-of-the mill chain hotel experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthwestTravelerPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2010

The first disappointment was the room. It was dark and dirty., the small window faced a wall. The lighting was poor. There was a cleaning rag left on the bathroom floor. Hair on the bathroom floor. We had to request an iron and it didn't work that great. There is no counter space in the bathroom. The bed was average. Complimentary breakfast was gross. The pancakes looked like Pillsbury frozen pancakes. The eggs were brown because they were overcooked. I was given a dirty coffee cup. Then the waiter brought another cup and it looked dirty too. Not the kind of place worth the money spent, there has to be better places to stay in Las Vegas.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubba50_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Montezuma Inn & Suites
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 8 in Las Vegas
386 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Vegas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Las Vegas
Days Inn Las Vegas
#6 of 8 in Las Vegas
330 reviews
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Las Vegas
Super 8 Las Vegas
#1 of 8 in Las Vegas
1,219 reviews
1.1 mi away
Knights Inn Las Vegas NM
Knights Inn Las Vegas NM
#7 of 8 in Las Vegas
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel

Property: Plaza Hotel
Address: 230 Plaza St, Las Vegas, NM 87701-3433
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finest historic hotel (1882) and fine dining in Northern New Mexico, overlooking the beautiful Plaza Park. This is the only hotel in downtown historic Las Vegas - once the biggest and richest city in New Mexico, with 1000+ historic buildings! Purchased in 2014 by owners of the legendary La Posada in Winslow AZ, the Plaza Hotel is receiving a top-to-bottom upgrade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Las Vegas, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing