We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Potential for excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mescalero
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
139 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Potential for excellence”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We recently visited Inn of the Mountain Gods twice, not to stay there, but for my husband to play golf, and me to play the casino, plus we had dinner there. So I can't speak to the actual rooms, but we were pretty pleased with everything else. The setting and scenery are just spectacular - even if you don't stay there, go visit. My husband was euphoric about the beauty of the golf course, and the grounds are lovely. He said the golf fee was extremely reasonable - on a weekend. The casino is a nice size, with a good variety of machines. It was never crowded the two times we were there. It was not overly smokey, decent sports bar, attentive staff tending to machine issues - good basic casino. Any staff we dealt with in the casino, golf course, or at dinner in Wendall's were all competent and appropriate (except for the hostess at
Wendell's - she was at best a placeholder). We were glad we visited.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kay2048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    264
    132
    82
    90
See reviews for
233
373
22
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portales, New Mexico
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night on 6-7 July 2014. The issues with this hotel began prior to me ever setting foot in it. They advertise valet parking service and it was supposed to be included in my room rate, but as I pulled up at 3:45 pm to drop my car off no one was around, and even though I sat there and waited a few minutes, no one ever came. I grew tired of waiting and drove to the garage for self park.

When I got to the lobby for check-in there was a line that's stretched all the way down the corridor, approximately 150 people that were waiting. They had 3 people doing check-ins, and they were spending a good 5 minutes on each party...it took a good 2 hours before I ever made it to the counter.

Suite 393 was very spacious, and facing the lake, with a great view. On the surface, the room looked to have been serviced well by the housekeeping staff, as I didn't see any hair, trash, fingernail clippings, etc from past guests. Once I pulled back the bed linen to check the sheets, I was not so impressed. There was a disgusting, 1 meter diameter urine stain on the queen bed closest to the balcony, and a 6 inch diameter bodily fluids stain on the mattress closest to the front door. I saw a housekeeping supervisor in the hallway and brought her in to show her...she simply said, "we'll get you new mattresses", then walked out, never looking shocked, and more alarming, never apologizing. Moreover, she appeared to be irritated that I discovered the housekeeping oversight and that I essentially created more work for her, as if I was totally inconveniencing her.

I went to eat at the hotel buffet restaurant, A Gathering of Nations Buffet, while waiting for them to replace the mattresses. I've been to several casino/hotel buffet restaurants in Las Vegas, Louisiana, and Mississippi, and usually they are very, very good, with a great selection of various foods and really good food quality, that definitely was not the case at this property. Firstly, the same issues experienced during check-in with the extraordinarily long line was experienced when trying to get seated for the buffet. They only had one lady at the register, but there were two registers available (poor management of personnel forces to not have maximum workers on shift at peak hours). I stood in line for one hour prior to being seated.
The food selection and quality was horrible. There were no healthy meats, no fresh fish, etc. They had a bunch of fried, and processed foods, and a really unimpressive minimal selection that your standard Golden Corral would put to shame, definitely not what one should expect when visiting a casino/hotel buffet, and definitely not worth the over $20.00 per person charge.

The remainder of the stay was uneventful. They replaced the stained mattresses with new ones and I was able to sleep comfortably. I did express checkout with no issues to report.

This hotel is poorly managed and the staff are not held accountable for their work, or lack of work. There is no reason why I, as a guest, should have to discover huge urine stains on their mattresses, have to stand in two lines a total of 3 hours, and wait around for valet parking with my engine idling, to never have anyone come. The problems at this property seem to be systemic and pervasive in nature, and I believe to correct them it will take a total purge of the current management team and replacement by some professionals that actually know what they're doing. I do not recommend this hotel and will not be staying there in the future.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank kennyonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mescalero hotels

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
515 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We have stayed at the Inn many times over the years and it is always enjoyable. Had the Sunday Brunch this time and the food was plentiful with huge selection and taste. At $16 dollars you get an excellent brunch even though the setting is quite basic with cafeteria style plates and silverware. My biggest complaint is a big one this time - a group was playing a game near the registration desk and people were leaving the table to smoke near the desk. Very unheard of in this day and age. Keep smoking regulated and confined.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexa8776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

I have been to the casino many times but have never stayed in the "resort", I decided to give it a try because my expectatios where high as any "resort" should be. Customer Service" is not their priority. There was one lady swrving food atbthe food court and she was using the same gloves to serve food and take the money. Since my online reservation I asked for a non smoking floor and the lady did not bother to look for another room because "that's what shows on the system".

The service is lower for what you expect at a mid-price hotel. Next time I come I will stay at holiday inn express.

I would recommend to save your money and come to the casino and lake.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Humberto C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enid, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Wifi is non existent. Buffet on sea food night has only sea food options with hardly any non fishy choices and for a non fish eater that leaves very few options. Salad was good. Pretty view from our golf-lake facing room.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jshields01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troon, Scotland
Level Contributor
163 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Family holiday in the USA. Stayed one night. As previously reported the resort has many features. Went for supper in the buffet restaurant where we paid on entry. As reported elsewhere, the staff need training in customer care. The lady taking the money was I suspected somewhat "tied and emotional".
This was not the case for breakfast where the staff were absolutely fine.
Worth a visit, but don't expect customer care as their top priority.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 98JHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

The Inn is beautiful and the lake and mountains will not disappoint. If you enjoy golf, boating, fishing or casinos, you will really love the Inn. We just had a few disappointments. When we arrived and checked in, the young lady that "helped" us was unfriendly, unwelcoming and could not be bothered when my parents needed some assistance. We were really disappointed that we weren't shown more hospitality. The other things were minor issues compared to that. Some areas were not well cleaned, the furniture in our room had some wear and tear and the food at the breakfast buffet was mediocre at best. I've always wanted to stay, and I'm glad that we did once, but we will stay elsewhere in the future when we're looking for luxury, romance and great service.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bafarmerswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mescalero
2.7 mi away
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
4.5 mi away
MCM Elegante Lodge & Resort
2.6 mi away
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
#7 of 23 in Ruidoso
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruidoso Inn
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn - Midtown
Comfort Inn - Midtown
#3 of 23 in Ruidoso
191 reviews
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites - Ruidoso Hwy 70
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino

Property: Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino
Address: 287 Carrizo Canyon Rd, Mescalero, NM 88340-9641
Region: United States > New Mexico > Mescalero
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mescalero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EXPERIENCE A RESORT AND CASINO THAT IS ABOVE AND BEYOND. New Mexico’s premier mountain resort awaits with impeccable service, mouthwatering cuisine for every palate, incredible gaming action, and breathtaking alpine scenery to nurture your soul. Situated high in the picturesque mountains of Mescalero, New Mexico just outside of Ruidoso, guests return time and time again to Inn of the Mountain Gods to enjoy the clean mountain air, stunning panoramic views, and exciting entertainment options. Upon your arrival, you’ll be greeted by a stunning lobby featuring a sweeping view of the snowcapped mountains, lake and championship golf course. Guests have come to expect all of the little extras that come standard here at Inn of the Mountain Gods. From the moment you arrive, you’ll be enchanted by original works of art throughout the property, roaring fireplaces in the lobby, and a tranquil setting that makes the everyday world feel a million miles away. Beyond that, discover an endless variety of activities, entertainment and escapes to make it a getaway you’ll never forget. 273 LUXURY ROOMS AND SUITES, NUMEROUS DINING OPTIONS FROM A SIGNATURE STEAK AND SEAFOOD RESTAURANT TO A SCRUMPTIOUS BUFFET, 40,000 SQUARE FEET OF MEETING SPACE, 38,000 SQUARE FOOT CASINO, INDOOR POOL, A FULLY EQUIPPED WORKOUT FACILITY, SKIING AND SNOWBOARDING, 18 HOLE CHAMPIONSHIP GOLF COURSE, BIG GAME HUNTING, SKEET SHOOTING, HORSEBACK RIDING, FISHING, GONDOLA RIDES. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Mountain Gods Hotel Mescalero
Hotel Of The Mountain Gods
Mountain Gods Inn
Inn Mountain Gods
Mountain Gods Hotel
Of The Mountain Gods Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing