We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How could you not like this place?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mescalero
kc
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“How could you not like this place?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2009

I read all the reviews before we went and cannot understand why anybody would not like this place. They let us check-in at noon and it took 5 minutes (The valets were great BTW). The room was very nice, spotless, well furnished and as for the mini bar being locked...all you had to do was get a code from the desk. SOP I believe. Food was good (One of the best burgers I've ever had) and service a bit slow but they were kinda overwhelmed by the concert that night, understandable but not a big problem. As for the casino, the new New Mexico laws concerning alcohol on the gaming floor are goofy (Like, not) but that's not the hotels fault. And yes you can smoke just about everywhere but the place did not "reek" as another guest complained about. The surrounding area is beautiful (After you get through Rudioso which is just a big tourist trap). My wife DID win at the casino. All in all a nice place, reasonably priced and a delightful experience...we will go back.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wunderwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    248
    127
    82
    85
See reviews for
216
354
21
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
158 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2009

The lake front view room is pretty spacious. Beautiful view. Free Wi-Fi. However, the AC/heating unit is quite noisy. The door is paper thin, you could hear so clearly people walk by and talk in the hallway. I'm sure they can hear you quite well too. The room safe is not free. The mini bar is also locked. The tub drained very slowly. When you are finished taking a shower, you could have the water half way to your knees. The lobby is nice. The casino is smoky. No good air circulation like in Vegas casinos. It's so bad that I could not wear my contact lenses during my 2 night stay there. Buffet was below average and for $25 per person, definitely not worth it. Service was bad. Room service was pretty quick and the food was pretty good. Don't think there's another decent hotel in the area.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank World Passport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2009

A beautiful setting, however that is where it ends. I got one of the grand suites for my stay and was dissappointed from the start. The couch had to be 15 yrs old and looked it..no recliner. I am not sure this is a three star hotel let alone a FOUR DIAMOND. On the bright side, the Jacuzzi was great, room service was fast and good and the mini bar put me in the right frame of mind to go down and play the slots a couple of hours after my arrival.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pdcrisw39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2009

Very pretty, scenic location. Beautiful golf course. Pricey. There are many motels, hotels and cabins in the area (Ruidoso) and this is on the high end price-wise. There is a casino at the same location as the hotel. Some of the Native American employees of the facility are not that friendly. Service not that great.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank skygazing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mothra102
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2009

My husband and I had a blast at the Inn of the Mountain Gods. The hotel is beautiful. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Rooms cleam and confortable. Paid a little extra for a room with a patio and it was well worth it to have a view of the lake and mountains. The room wasn't sound proof as we could hear just about everything going on in the rooms next to ours. Pool and workout room was great. Food was good at the sports bar and the Apache Tee off the golf course. Didn't care for the buffet. Although there was a good variety I felt it was over priced. I'm not a buffet person anyway. Won a little money at the slots and roulet wheel. Weather was beatiful although extremely windy. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mothra102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corrales, New Mexico
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2009

After reading some of the previous reviews, I was a little nervous to make reservations here, but I had visited the resort a couple times and its beautiful location made me willing to take the risk and reserve 3 days in a suite.
I was happily surprised to find from the moment we checked in, there were helpful, friendly, accomodating, staff members to help us. We were greeted at the curb and immediatley had our vehicle and luggage taken care of. The bellman also got us ice for our room ( after hanging up our clothes in the closet for us) and made sure we had everything we needed before he left. The suite we stayed in was just lovely with a beautiful view of the lake and mountains. The restaurant staff went out of their way to make us whatever we wanted and the bartender at the lounge (Tammy) even had a "special" dinner made for us on our last night that was one of the best meals we have ever eaten.
We had breakfast in the buffet two of the mornings and had made to order eggs and the rest of the food was hot and fresh. The cost is very reasonable if you have a players card.
The casino is not very big, but we did very well there. We had enough casino credits to pay for one night's stay and enough money left over to pay for the rest of the vacation with our winnings with extra money to take home. I realize this is not the "norm" for any casino, but you can win here.
I have traveled the world and stayed at 5 star resorts. The Inn of the Mountain Gods may not be a 5 star resort, but we were definitely treated as though it is. Don't miss this beautiful location.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NMtravelerNewMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

The grounds this hotel/casino sit on are beautiful. The back of the hotel sits on a small lake surrounded by trees. Nice facilities throughout. The pool and hot tub are nice too. Unfortunately, this will all be overshadowed by what we found in the bed. We pulled back the sheets of our bed the first night to find a surprise of blood spots on the sheets. I understand, it happens. But this has the potential to be a health issue. They were prompt to send housekeeping down at 1030pm to change the bedding. However, it took several attempts to speak with a manager. Between Friday night, and Sunday morning when we checked out, we left no less than 3 messages, with either the front desk staff or by voicemail, requesting a manager contact us. Never happened. We finally were able to get one to talk to us on Sunday as we checked out. After showing her photos of the blood on the sheets, her answer simply was "OK, Ill let the group that booked the room know." No apology, no nothing. Had we not been required to be there for a conference, we would have checked out and left. Unfortunately, we will not be going back nor recomending this business to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CaFamilyNOly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mescalero
4.5 mi away
MCM Elegante Lodge & Resort
2.7 mi away
Shadow Mountain Lodge and Cabins
2.6 mi away
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
Hotel Ruidoso - Midtown
#7 of 23 in Ruidoso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruidoso Inn
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 23 in Ruidoso
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn - Midtown
Comfort Inn - Midtown
#5 of 23 in Ruidoso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino

Property: Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino
Address: 287 Carrizo Canyon Rd, Mescalero, NM 88340-9641
Region: United States > New Mexico > Mescalero
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mescalero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EXPERIENCE A RESORT AND CASINO THAT IS ABOVE AND BEYOND. New Mexico’s premier mountain resort awaits with impeccable service, mouthwatering cuisine for every palate, incredible gaming action, and breathtaking alpine scenery to nurture your soul. Situated high in the picturesque mountains of Mescalero, New Mexico just outside of Ruidoso, guests return time and time again to Inn of the Mountain Gods to enjoy the clean mountain air, stunning panoramic views, and exciting entertainment options. Upon your arrival, you’ll be greeted by a stunning lobby featuring a sweeping view of the snowcapped mountains, lake and championship golf course. Guests have come to expect all of the little extras that come standard here at Inn of the Mountain Gods. From the moment you arrive, you’ll be enchanted by original works of art throughout the property, roaring fireplaces in the lobby, and a tranquil setting that makes the everyday world feel a million miles away. Beyond that, discover an endless variety of activities, entertainment and escapes to make it a getaway you’ll never forget. 273 LUXURY ROOMS AND SUITES, NUMEROUS DINING OPTIONS FROM A SIGNATURE STEAK AND SEAFOOD RESTAURANT TO A SCRUMPTIOUS BUFFET, 40,000 SQUARE FEET OF MEETING SPACE, 38,000 SQUARE FOOT CASINO, INDOOR POOL, A FULLY EQUIPPED WORKOUT FACILITY, SKIING AND SNOWBOARDING, 18 HOLE CHAMPIONSHIP GOLF COURSE, BIG GAME HUNTING, SKEET SHOOTING, HORSEBACK RIDING, FISHING, GONDOLA RIDES. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Mountain Gods Hotel Mescalero
Hotel Of The Mountain Gods
Mountain Gods Inn
Inn Mountain Gods
Mountain Gods Hotel
Of The Mountain Gods Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing