We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”

Wendall's Steak & Seafood Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Wendall's Steak & Seafood Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 10 Restaurants in Mescalero
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, View, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sanderson, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Food was great, service was a little slow. Definitely better food than the Gathering of the Nations for a little more money

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank kiki300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    37
    21
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces
Level Contributor
139 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Divine!!”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We have eaten here for special occasions and never been disappointed. I normally do the Australian Lamb chops which are truly amazing, but this time I had the Elk Tenderloin. Truly one go the best cuts of meat I've ever had and unbelievably tender. The Yukon potatoes au gratin were a perfect compliment. Where else can you try elk? Can't wait to come back again. Very romantic setting with live music adds greatly to the overall ambience.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank JoeMed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas USA
Level Contributor
240 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“What a Setting Topped off by a Great Dinner !!”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Wendall's is located at The Inn of the Mountain Gods and the setting is absolutely unbelievable !!!
The resort is set in the mountains with views that are 360 degrees then topped off by a fine resort makes it all worthwhile going to Wendall's.
We were not staying at the resort this trip however went to The Inn of the Mountain Gods for cocktails at their fantastic lounge with the most relaxing views and setting of any lounge I've ever been to. Afterwards we walked across the lobby to Wendall's and had a great dinner with great service and a fantastic meal again with an unbelievable setting and views.
Everything was prepared perfectly so definitely make this a stop when in Ruidoso,NM.
This restaurant is not inexpensive but very worthwhile for a fine meal yet in a casual attire atmosphere.
The decor in the resort and Wendall's also makes this a very nice experience.
We will be back !!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve48Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driftwood, Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I have eaten at Wendall's numerous times and have never been disappointed. From the Elk steak to the lamb chops and eggs benedict--it is all very good.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“We have had many great meals here”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

I have read the negative reviews, and to that person they may be valid, but for the venue type I don't think you can get better. We had supper again here last night and it was wonderful, my wedge salad was great, our steaks were very good cuts of meat and cooked perfectly, our sides were tasty. We tried a new Mendoza area red wine that was 5star and last we shared a lavender creme brûlée that was just the best. The service was good, but could have been a bit more professional. We will be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank azbellb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Wendall's Steak & Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing