We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Low expectations, but a surprise.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Posta de Mesilla

La Posta de Mesilla
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Mesilla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Cheap Eats, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Low expectations, but a surprise.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

We dined at La Posta after finding the restaurant we wanted to visit was closed that evening. So, reluctantly we walked into La Posta. We knew that it was going to be a bit touristy, but we were too hungry to pass it up. The place is quite pleasant and attractive. We were immediately seated, received excellent, prompt service. And the food was quite tasty and abundant. We kept waiting for the downside of this experience, but there was none. The cost was very reasonable, even shockingly reasonable. In all, it was just a very nice experience all through the evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gjportland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    526
    327
    168
    69
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
210 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Consistently Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

I visit El Paso every few years and always make a trip to Las Cruces to eat at La Posta. Over the years, only the menu and prices have changed, and only slightly. I love that the decor, the tropical birds, and the layout and furniture have remained the same.

They always honor my request to sit in the atrium room, although they now have two bar areas that look like they would be buzzy in the evenings. The food and margaritas are terrific. Maybe it's part nostalgia, but I think La Posta is a wonderfully whimsical place with terrific food and personal service, and a must-visit for anyone driving through the area.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shell202020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangeley, Maine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Free the birds!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

La Posta has really good food and it seems that they can seat thousands of people. It is colorful, historic, open when every place else in town is shut, has friendly staff and reasonable prices. While walking around the streets of Mesilla may be peaceful and calm, it is probably because everyone and their tour bus is inside La Posta, so if you get overwhelmed by crowds and theme restaurant flair, be warned. Also, if you feel sad seeing tropical birds locked in cages without sun and fresh air being heckled by hoards of tourists, be warned.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mapletapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
“Best Mexican Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Stopped in for lunch while on my way to Las Cruces and it was delicious! The waiter was very attentive, the restaurant's renovation looks great and the vegetarian combo entree was so tasty. Great margaritas & sopapillas too. Must visit restaurant!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Terri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Just walk through to see how cool the building is, don't eat here”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

NOTE:
Everyone in Las Cruces and Mesilla raves about La Posta. I don't get it. Does it have a cool history? Sure. But just walk through it so you can see that. Eat at a better place. They do have a really great atmosphere at La Posta, but don't give yourself the impression that this is what Mexican food has to offer because you will be disappointed. Some magazine recently called this one of the top 10 Mexican restaurants in the country, which I think is a slap in the face to the great restaurants in Las Cruces and Mesilla. As a native of this area, I am embarrassed that this is what gets recognized in the area.

FOOD:
I don't know how they get away with people calling it Mexican food. It is not. When I most recently went here, the tacos that my husband got were marginally less revolting than the green "enchiladas" that I got. Please don't eat here. I don't even remember what the salsa was like which means that it was not the best our area has to offer.

ATMOSPHERE:
Seriously, go in this building. It is really cool. It has fun history too. But go behind it for El Comedor or a little further down the road to Andele for eating.

SERVICE:
The servers and staff are very nice.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kangarookoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Posta de Mesilla also viewed

 

Been to La Posta de Mesilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing