We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Essential Enchiladas with a Dash of History thrown in for Free”

La Posta de Mesilla
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Mesilla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Essential Enchiladas with a Dash of History thrown in for Free”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I have been traveling to Las Cruces/ El Paso for more than 35 years, and stopping in at La Posta for some Green or Red Enchiladas has been an essential feature of every visit. Over the decades, the quality of the food has been better and has been worser, but with the current management, the quality has been outstanding for at least the past five years. The restaurant has been expanded, which has made long waits a thing of the past.

We always get the cheese enchiladas. I prefer the flat version, with an egg on top. These enchiladas are excellent with either the red or the green sauce. I normally ask what their hottest sauce is and go with it. The chips are good, and even better with freshly made guacamole.

La Posta has historic roots to the Old West, the Pony Express, the Butterfield Stage Coach, and Billy the Kid. The quality of the food, the dining experience, and the links to the history of the area make a visit to La Posta a tradition well worth continuing or starting.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    546
    339
    175
    71
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really great Mexican food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

The small shops in the blocks surrounding La Posta add to the experience of visiting Mesilla. Inside the restaurant are really cool toucan bird cage to look at while you wait. This restaurant is worth the drive from Las Cruses, El Paso and other surrounding areas. Tons of food for the price. Truly great queso with chile peppers, guacamole, and Horchata. All the food my group ate was very much enjoyed. All though we were all way too full, we squeezed in dessert and that was great too. After you eat, walk it off with a bit of shopping. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Authentic New Mexican is different from Mexican food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

There is no better atmosphere and overall experience anywhere in the state for NEW Mexican food than La Posta. I have been coming here since I was a kid (and they are celebrating 75 years this year.) Over the years the family owned restaurant has varied in quality, but you will always get original, regional food. The history of the building, family and little town of Mesilla is special. It's so convenient to Las Cruces and the highway it would be a shame to miss it. I have to say that the service can be unpredictable at its worst but all in all you will have an unforgettable, fun experience. I promise! The core menu has remained the same and I like the updated, expanded drinks.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cazsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, nice stop on a road trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

This place has been a while, since the 30's and the building even longer. The food is good and a fair price for a sit down shindig. Service is good and the staff has always been friendly. We stop whenever we pass through Mesilla on our road trips. Very close to the town square so on a road trip its a nice stop to get the animals, I meant kids out of the back of the family truckster and let them wander around. Also the restaurant has some piranhas in a tank and some large noisy birds which seem to entertain the rugrats.

Helpful?
Thank BadKarma65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Coming from the midwest, we really don't get authentic mexican food. The food here is great, service is wonderful and the restaurant itself is beautiful. Highly recommend.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jenson6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Posta de Mesilla also viewed

 

Been to La Posta de Mesilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing