We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place to stay to visit Gila Cliff Dwellings”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mimbres
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Little Toad Creek Inn & Tavern
Ranked #1 of 2 Mimbres B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This was a fabulous place to stay to visit Gila Cliff Dwellings. It truly is in the middle of nowhere which provides the beautiful scenery of the wilderness. The restaurant is fabulous with homemade beer and spirits which are a welcome reward after the tough drive to get there. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. My girls loved having their own room which had 2 twin beds in it adjoining to our room. We met the owner's family and they were super nice. There are several porches to relax and enjoy the scenery. We found it the perfect place to stay and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

the Little Toad Creek Inn & Tavern is situated the intersection of hwys 25 and 15 - near Pinos Altos and Lake Roberts, also near the Gila Cliff Dwellings and The Mimbres. But, you will not find finer eating, drinking or accommodations anywhere in between, unless you want to totally camp out . Years (and years, and years) ago it was known as Grey Feathers, a stop off point and trading post ... today? It is a full fledged, full service, Inn, Tavern/Brewery and restaurant, serving meals that some would say border on gourmet. That said ... Great rooms, AMAZING FOOD, Great breakfast, awesome beers, lovely ambiance, pet friendly ... get a drink, grab a chair, snuggle in and read on ...

We were there opening weekend this year - May 8-9th and they were 'almost' ready for business, which bothered us ... well, NOT AT ALL. The only note I will add is that unless you take super quick showers, your hot water will run out as water heaters (despite there being two in each room) are very small. That said ...

We stayed in the bunkhouse rooms/suites as we were (truthfully) told it would be quiet that weekend, which is was - thus the 'truth' part. We stayed in room #2- (Madame Millie's) which was two rooms and 2 baths. Not sure if all are that way, but ours had 1 full bedroom with a HUMONGOUS COMFY king bed, toilet, shower, and sink (in ante room), and another room with a comfy futon pull out bed, full shower/toilet and sink area in ante room. It was right off the end porch, so we could park very close. NOTE: Wifi does not reach to this end of the Bunkhouse rooms (don't know about the Lodge), so if connectivity is important to you, then you want to stay on the other end - close to the tavern.

NOTE 2: While you may get internet connectivity on the other end, close to the tavern, you may or may not get cellular. Your cell phone may just be a paperweight. We found this refreshing. So, just be aware. This is a remote area. It is not your phone, nor your service, nor the owner's fault. If you want cellular service, stay in Silver City, NM, ... or go back to LA. Your choice.

NOTE 3: As stated above, there is not a lot of hot water for showers (and no tubs - at least not in our room). If you are not quick, like 7 minutes, you will run out of hot water.

Please note - this is a pet friendly hotel. Owners and guests have dogs, and , are often off leash. Don't get your panties in a twist about it. You're not in LA or Boston. Live and let live around here and it's GREAT. If you're worried about FiFi just leave her in your room. Our rescue dog, Sara, absolutely loved this off leash freedom as she has been confined to apartment living for the past year - so if you are dog skittish - just be aware. This was NOT a problem for us, in fact WE LOVED THIS. Our Sara roamed the property at will except at night, when she was in our room, which is a mere $10 per night extra. With the already affordable room rates, this is like 'who cares'. The owners have a huge (about 1 year old) Mastiff, named Earl, and his playmate, Pearl, who roam free and are the friendliest of resident beasts. Earl does not yet know his size and is like a huge gentle giant puppy. Just love on him and enjoy it!

The owners and staff are the friendliest of people and will make sure your stay is the absolute best. If you are looking for a get-away that it is still 'civilized' then this is for you; if you are looking for a base camp, this is for you; if you are looking for a one or two night stay to have the comforts of home while on your roughing-it adventure, this is for you.

Spacious, clean rooms, nice linens, comfy beds, good pillows and linens, great housekeeping, good AC/Heat, nice curtains, open windows, good showers (walk-in), great porches ... comfortable stay.

Room Tip: if you want internet, stay closer to the tavern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsDotCom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

LITTLE TOAD CREEK INN & TAVERN is located in the middle of nowhere but near Silver City and Mimbres, New Mexico. It is near Lake Roberts for fishing, and several hiking trails and campgrounds are nearby. Their dinners are wonderful and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The Gila Cliff Dwellings are quite close. The Gila Wilderness is the first designated wilderness in the US, thanks to Aldo Leopold. If you are looking for an elegant experience in the wilderness, this is the place.

Room Tip: Every room is pretty much the same. Beds are comfortable, temperature is controllable. This is not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keya h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights on a recent bike trip and LOVED IT. Great food, excellent hand-crafted beers and spirits. The rooms are nothing special but the beds were comfortable, a plus after a long day of cycling. The owners take great pride in providing excellent service and delicious provisions. Highly recommend

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Sinnet33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

What a surprise to find this wonderful Inn and Tavern in the middle of Gila mountains in New Mexico. We had just finished visiting the Gila Cliff Dwellings and were sure surprised to find this Gem. We had a 5 star meal, perfectly served, and delicious. Squash soup was probably the best I have ever had, deserts to kill for. They even brew there own beer and distilled vodka and rum. Skies were dark, and we saw hummingbirds by the hundreds.Breakfast didn't disappoint I had toads in a hole and my wife a blue corn meal waffle with fruit compote. The bunkhouse where we had a king suite for only $65.00 was clean and very acceptable. Owner is on hand, Teresa cooked and served the breakfast. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ricewalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

My husband and I started coming here last year as a weekend getaway to escape the city and slow down. It's close enough to area attractions to have plenty to do when you're down here, but we come to relax and enjoy the clean, comfortable rooms and their amazing cuisine. Their Tavern now features their own brews and spirits that do not disappoint. Eat, drink, and take in the mountain views and fresh air. Awesome.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stumbled on this place after we finished our tour of the Gila Cliff Dwellings. The restaurant was awesome, and the people were very friendly. This is a laid back place where you can relax, take a walk in the wilderness, and enjoy the backwoods. Although not a true 5 star bedroom, the perfect location, the restaurant, and the relaxing atmosphere warrants the 5 star rating. We will be back next time! No pool and no gym.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Little Toad Creek Inn & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Toad Creek Inn & Tavern

Address: 1122 Hwy 35, Mimbres, NM 88049
Region: United States > New Mexico > Mimbres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mimbres
Price Range: £33 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Little Toad Creek Inn & Tavern New Mexico/Mimbres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing