We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old school”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunset Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunset Motel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Moriarty
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Old school”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

It’s a Motel, the old kind, one story park right in front. Clean, quiet, great parking, friendly, cheap. Not fancy. It’s a rejuvenated original Route 66 motel, not a theme park recreation. A little frayed around some edges, but on the charm side.

A better stay than I had in most of the bigger chains, for much less money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bongo_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    35
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
43
47
20
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
JACKSONVILLE
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We found this hotel on tripadvisor.com and decided to take a chance on it. We were traveling with pets and most places wanted a small fortune that was non-refundable. Sunset Motel was pet friendly. The lady at the front office was very pleasant, helpful and accommodating. Although the building is older, the rooms are large and clean. The beds were comfortable and the area was quiet. We asked for a food recommendation and were referred to Dad's Diner. Both Sunset Motel and Dad's Diner were worth the stop. I would stay there again and recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty40879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, AZ
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here while traveling through New Mexico. The person at the front desk (co-owner?) was very pleasant. The room was clean, although the bottom of the shower tub was stained. The beds were a bit stiff. The motel is located off by itself. There is no breakfast room. Instead, a minimal breakfast is offered at the front desk, along with trays to carry to your room. We didn't see a nearby restaurant where we could purchase a real breakfast. We will not return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flagtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

I drove from Texas to California and back on a three week trip. Based upon these recommendations I spent my first night here after 9 hours driving. It was exactly as described. The room was clean, the bathroom spotless and had been refurbished to look like it did in the 1950's. This is a great place to experience the old Route 66 days. There is a large mini fridge, large LCD tv, and the staff is great. I liked it so much that my wife and I stayed here again on the return trip home. Would definitely recommend it if you like quiet and classic.

Room Tip: There are both 1 and 2 bedroom options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
134 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed one night while attending a nearby sporting event. The building was freshly painted and the interior in good shape. The room was good-sized and accomodated all our gear. The parking lot would accomodate larger vehicles. Plumbing fixures leaked out the valve stems and the mattresses were pretty old. The location was very quite with no traffic noise.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rudybaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gresham, OR
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

This is a true remnant of the Route 66 days. You drive right up to your door. The rooms have been upgraded but still retain the old 60's style decor. There was no vent fan in the bathroom but you could actually open your bathroom window! There was a sink both inside and outside the bathroom. The staff was very friendly and the internet connection was the best I've had in the 3-week trip we've been on. Some of the furniture is a little worn and there wasn't much to the breakfast but spotless. Even though I don't generally stay at motels with exterior access, I would definitely stay here again. And it was the least expensive room we've had on the entire trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pati13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

the wife and i stayed one night at this motel. Motel is the older style which has the parking in front of your own door. the weather was really cold at night but the room was warm. the bathroom on the outside wall was a little chilly.

but overall i would recommend this motel, which they are updated including a flat screen TV.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OldFolksRoadShow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moriarty hotels
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Moriarty Heritage Inn
7.2 mi away
Super 8 Moriarty
Super 8 Moriarty
#3 of 6 in Moriarty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 6 in Moriarty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Moriarty
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Motel

Property: Sunset Motel
Address: 501 East Old Route 66, Moriarty, NM 87035
Region: United States > New Mexico > Moriarty
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Moriarty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An American Classic Motel located 0n historic Route 66 on the east end of Moriarty. Owned and operated by the same family that constructed the motel in the 50's and 60's. You'll enjoy the nostalgia of the original solid oak furnishings and decor as well as the more modern conveniences, such as coffee makers, microwaves, refrigerators and FREE wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Sunset Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing