We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, clean, safe, comfortable.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunset Motel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Moriarty
Certificate of Excellence
Angola, Indiana
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent value, clean, safe, comfortable.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stopped here around 1am, driving from Phoenix to the East coast based on good reviews from Trip Advisor. All we needed was a place to sleep. We called about 8pm and gave our card info over the phone. Got the room number and then used a lock box on our room door to get the door key as the lobby was closed that late. Be aware you need to make arrangements for a late check in, but it was easy.
The room was comfortable, clean, and we felt safe. We were two women traveling alone.
We found the beds comfortable.
It's an older property, an old style highway side motel, so don't expect a new building or anything fancy. It's not upscale in the slightest, not even a little bit. However, we found it exactly what we needed, a safe and easy place to stay.
They had a nice small breakfast in the lobby in the morning, of a muffin, coffee and banana. There are local places to eat if you wish a full breakfast.
It's an old courtyard style parking lot in the center of the outer rim of rooms, so you park directly in front of your room. All ground floor and easy access if one has mobility issues.
I don't remember a whole lot about it as we were so extremely tired, but I do remember we slept like rocks, the view was wonderful and we found it clean and comfortable.
The front office staff were courteous, helpful and friendly. It seemed to have high occupancy so one can only assume others have found this place good, as well.
I recommend this place.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    35
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
42
46
19
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
372 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We found this motel from the book EZ 66 Guide for Travellers by Jerry McClananhan and so glad we did. The owner is warm and genuine and so knowledgeable about the local area. The rooms were well kept and clean. The beds were a bit uncomfortable but ok for one night. But what a great price for what we got. Please keep these places in business!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oakworthgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plattsburgh, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed during a cross country move. Lots of room in the parking lot made getting in and out very easy and we were put in the room on the end so we could park our vehicles near our room. The woman at the desk was wonderfully friendly and helpful. Our room was mostly clean. We found the beds slightly uncomfortable but after driving all day, it's possible it was just us. We did notice there was no screen on the front window and it was not possible to open the window anyway. The blinds did not slide or turn and there were holes in the screen on the bathroom window. It looked like someone caulked over mold in the bathtub but the rest of the room seemed clean. We found it a bit pricey for what amenities were there, but since we like to support mom and pop hotels when we can, that's a minor issue. I'd probably stay again if we found ourselves out west again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We arrived just as sun was setting and brilliantly lit up the hotel sign Sunset Motel, so we could not miss it. Kind lady tried to book us in but I got so excited by the Route 66 pin badges that she had to open the cupboard door to get them out. Then we were given keys to our room and in we went to large queen double beds, air conditioning, or heat, so we could get as warm as we wanted and TV, coffee, hot powerful shower, hair dryer. Everything just as one would want for stop of cross country. And extra blankets as I am always cold. The perfect Route 66 experience.

Room Tip: Any room would do. All face quad where cars are parked, so easily in and out again any time of day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scoopminime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

This is a well-priced nice motel on Route 66. We always try to stay in the local places when we are traveling near Route 66. The room was nice-sized and very clean; the bed was comfortable There was full bathroom and a sink and counter outside the bathroom. There was a good sized flat screen TV. The friendly owners had coffee, cereal, muffins and fresh fruit available in the lobby for breakfast. Because there is no seating area, you bring the breakfast back to your room where where is a table and chairs. This is really not an inconvenience, as you can continue to get ready or watch TV while you eat. It s a great little local motel and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dlgdlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Good, clean, no frills hotel that's easy to get to off the freeway. Like others have said, this is an old motel but it is spacious and clean and the sheets and pillows are quite comfortable.
The front office closes around 10:30 so if you are planning to pull in late like we were make sure you let them know. They will meet you with a key when you arrive.

Room Tip: Room 19 has a sticky front door. It was very difficult for us to get it to latch and lock. If you ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikkiZyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

This Motel is located on the old Route 66. The owner's parents started the motel, and they are continuing the tradition. The hotel is dated, but very clean and affordable. If you believe in supporting these type of family ventures, this is a great facility. I have stayed here many times.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moriarty hotels
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Moriarty Heritage Inn
1.5 mi away
Super 8 Moriarty
Super 8 Moriarty
#3 of 6 in Moriarty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 6 in Moriarty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Moriarty
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Motel

Property: Sunset Motel
Address: 501 East Old Route 66, Moriarty, NM 87035
Region: United States > New Mexico > Moriarty
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Moriarty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An American Classic Motel located 0n historic Route 66 on the east end of Moriarty. Owned and operated by the same family that constructed the motel in the 50's and 60's. You'll enjoy the nostalgia of the original solid oak furnishings and decor as well as the more modern conveniences, such as coffee makers, microwaves, refrigerators and FREE wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sunset Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing